We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room fab receptionists ok food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Reviewed August 16, 2013

2 brilliant receptionists. Great sense of humour popping bubble wrap to Xmas carols in August. Lovely to see human staff and not robots- ladies you know who you are! Lol. Great clean room. Good air con or heater. Good space for working whilst still being able to see the tv. Food was alright ish, it filled a hole but wasn't brill. Breakfast complimentary again was ok. Coffee was very good and the service was lovely

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Helen M

Many thanks for your kind comments with regards to your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express in Burton on Trent.
Your comments will be passed on to the staff members mentioned.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

David Parrett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 324 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

Very impressed

As a platinium member, stay alot with Holiday Inn.

Got the room on a 5,000 points deal

Check in was quick and easy, staff very helpful.

Room was as expected, standard low end style hotel room which was clean and had a decent bed. Wouldn't like to be staying in it all day, but spent most of our time at Alton Towers anyway.

Ideal location, with pub next door, with Morrisons and McDonalds across the road.

Being a platinum member, Internet was free for me. Without asking for it I was given a voucher on checkin, impressed by the download speed.

Added entertainment from some contractors with some hot water cylinders, which were too big to go in the lift.

Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Peter K

Many thanks for your kind comments with regards to your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express in Burton on Trent.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
David Parrett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel is fairly centrally located in Burton, but also far too close to a main highway. The rooms are quite small with beds that are 100% polyester. The aircon works quite well as it got very warm with the sun baking the hotel.
Cleanliness is average. Wifi is horribly expensive and not fast even if you pay for a so called high speed line.
Cost was GBP 25 (approx $40) for 5 days which is highway robbery.
Breakfast is not very good; toast, yoghurts and something called scrambled eggs (from powder eggs from the tast of it) and sausages made from something unidentifiable.
Service is OK with a few highlights, obviously a lot of contract workers that doesn't know the workings of the hotel too well. There is also a sceleton sfatt only on call late.

Room Tip: Get a room as far as possible from the main highway as there is no insulation from the traffic noize...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bulgenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear bulgenes,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our property. It is always our goal to provide convenient and world class service to our guest. We apologize we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. Please be assured that these will be looked into and that your comments will be used to monitor future improvements needed.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Not much to say nice location, simple and does what is says it will do with free cont. Breakfast.

Would like to thank the front desk for setting up the crib and the professional service.

Thanks for a pleasant stay

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alshameri_Taiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Alshameri_Taiz,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are pleased to know we were able to meet your expectations during your stay. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here overnight when invited to a wedding nearby, booked over 21 days in advance so benefited from great online discount.
Upon arrival friendly welcome from staff and our online request of high floor away from road was catered for, very spacious double room, tea and coffee available and great power shower.
Staff were very helpful with request for taxi later on in evening.
Breakfast the following morning was of a good standard plenty of choice.
This hotel was great value, friendly staff exactly what was required.

Room Tip: Book a room high level facing away from main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB4118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

we booked in for 2 night due to a friends wedding near by ,from the moment we set foot through the door till the moment we left we were made to feel most welcome.We had booked a double room which was very clean and roomy.The night porter was very helpful and friendly, we since found out that it was only his 6th shift, good to see such good people skills.The food was lovely too, always hot and always being refreshed . We would definitely book again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_Teresa_Helman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here following a trip to Alton Towers (park hotels fully booked and we needed to be in Burton the next day). Room clean as per usual Holiday Inn standards, a little on the small size for the four of us. A/C was very welcome in the hot weather. Breakfast was good (choice and quality) - included in the room rate - which was an absolute bargain for the four of us. Close to other restaurants & a couple of mins drive to the centre of Burton. If we need to go back to Burton, we'd stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammyb90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burton upon Trent hotels
3.8 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
0.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
510 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Cen...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
463 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
426 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound
Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent

Address: 2nd Avenue Parkway | 100 Centrum, Burton upon Trent DE14 2WF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Burton upon Trent
Price Range: $70 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a convenient location at the friendly Holiday Inn Express Burton upon Trent hotel, close to the A38 and A50. Our modern hotel is handily located in the Centrum 100 Business Park, just 30 minutes' drive from both Birmingham and East Midlands airports. Guests of Holiday Inn Express Burton upon Trent can wake up to an Express Start breakfast each morning and leave vehicles parked in our car park. Car parking is charged at £3.00 per night. All 82 of our comfortable Guest rooms have free wireless Internet and flat-screen TVs. You can host events for up to 65 guests in Holiday Inn Express Burton upon Trent's 3 air-conditioned meeting rooms. We're easy for your delegates to reach with convenient links to Birmingham, Derby, Nottingham and Stoke-on-Trent via the A50, A42, M6 and M1. Major conferences and exhibitions at Birmingham NEC are just 30 minutes drive from our hotel. Spacious Family rooms make us a good choice if you're visiting the nearby National Memorial Arboretum or thrilling Alton Towers theme park, a 45-minute drive away. Back at Holiday Inn Express Burton upon Trent, you can relax over drinks with friends and choose pub-style evening meals from the dinner menu in our sociable Great Room. Kids aged 12 and under eat free when accompanied by a paying adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Burton-Upon-Trent Hotel Burton Upon Trent
Holiday Inn Burton Upon Trent
Burton Upon Trent Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing