We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, very good, despite out of town location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Reviewed April 12, 2013

A quiet room and free breakfast were both bonuses to a very reasonable stay. I had problems with the speed of the 'fast' internet connection, but the price of this was immediately refunded when I mentioned it. Try the 'Flaming Grill' pub just across the car park if you want very cheap (but perfectly reasonable) food and drink. Staff were helpful and welcoming. The only real drawback is the distance from the town centre - a £6 taxi drive. If you happen to be an IC hotels 'Priority Club' premium member, be aware that the only benefit available here is a free newspaper!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 324 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

As with most other reviews of this hotel, the staff were excellent. Nothing seemed too much trouble for them, despite them being pretty busy, so the extra pillows were delivered hassle free, unlike some other establisments!!
The best thing about the hotel was it's location, as we were visiting family in Leicestershire, having come from Scotland. A very direct route from the M6 toll junction T5 up the A38 to the hotel. Excellent!!
We had a meal in the hotel restaurant and were initially the only customers. My only "issue" was the heating in the restaurant - I was assured that the heating was on but it was really cold, especially after the sun went down.
In fairness, once a few more people started dining, the staff closed the curtains and there did seem to be heat being generated from somewhere.
Overall, it was a good stay and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welshknight59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The great thing about the Holiday Inn Express brand is the consistency across the hotels and Burton-upon-Trent is no exception. The reception staff are informative and very efficient whilst also being run of their feet not only checking people in but also serving from the bar and taking meals out to guests in the lounge.

My room was clean and exactly to specification. I would say that as I was staying on my own the bed was fine however if there are two of you, be careful as the bed seemed to be a double rather than king size. No bath but a good shower with plenty of towels etc.

Flat screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities.

There is a steak restaurant across the car park...it's good value for money however i'd suggest you eat somewhere else and then check in to the hotel as the eating option at both the Express and the steak place are not great

All in all, the hotel met my expectations

Hope this helps

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed in a family room with a toddler. All laid out so didn't have to make her bed up ourselves. Reception were helpful at advising us of alternative attractions when the weather turned rainy. Surrounded by a number of eating places. took us a while to find it as we don't know the area and lots of junctions to different shops etc. Plenty of free parking, tea/coffee facilities at reception that you can access all day (which is great) breakfast is a decent selection, wish there was more of a fruit salad available or fruit generally. Overall good value for what we paid and as mentioned the reception staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kangercol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Pro's
Friendly reception staff
Good location for business users
Clean enough
Good value
Breakfast was good quality and good choice

Cons
Bar area needs bit of an atmosphere, not one person in there on a Saturday night (slight worry)
Beds were very uncomfortable and the pillows were terrible. All were of poor quality, could hear cars quite easy through windows
Plates at breakfast were very small, not even big enough for two slices of toast!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rach_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear rach_888,

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, we’re sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because we did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

It was looking very promising as we were delighted when we rang to see if we could check in early. They said yes that's fine however we didn't expect that we would be checking into a room that had not been cleaned from the previous user. Bed was not made, towels were on the floor and lastly there were hairs in the bathroom sink. A member of staff promptly insisted that she would offer to put us into a new, clean room however we said it was okay and that if she made sure the room was clean when we came home then that would be great; as we arrived back it was spotless as it should of been which was good. All facilities were adequate for the money we spent however the lack of information and communication as we arrived meant we missed breakfast which ends at 10 am (we believe this is too early). As we checked out it then came to our attention that they had charged us for our room again despite already paying online which caused a lot of hassle having to refund etc as we were in a rush to leave. Overall the hotel has great potential but it lacks in communication between staff and users of the hotel. It is with great regret that we would not consider using this hotel again but it was convenient for the nature of our visit (DERT weekend).

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephwelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Stephwelan,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we thank you for sharing your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Lovely reception staff who assigned a room very efficiently. Having been in our room 5 minutes it became apparent the heating didnt work so we spoke to reception who came straight away to look at it and then equally efficiently re roomed us.

Rooms were similar to most other Holiday Inn Express but with slightly different bathrooms. Simple, basic, but clean and a bit more comfortable than some of the other budget chains. There are tea and coffee facilities in room.

Water pressure in the shower was feeble and there was nowhere to put your own toiletries in the shower only their own dispenser stuck on the wall.

The breakfast was included, simple but perfectly adequate although the juice dispenser needs the ratios adjusting to dilute a bit more as it was dispensing extremely concentrated apple and orange juice - certainly woke you up !!

Location is convenient for the motorway and there is a supermarket and various restaurants very close by if you don't fancy eating in of an evening.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K_M_Leon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burton upon Trent hotels
3.8 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
0.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
510 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Cen...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
463 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
427 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound
Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent

Address: 2nd Avenue Parkway | 100 Centrum, Burton upon Trent DE14 2WF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Burton upon Trent
Price Range: $70 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a convenient location at the friendly Holiday Inn Express Burton upon Trent hotel, close to the A38 and A50. Our modern hotel is handily located in the Centrum 100 Business Park, just 30 minutes' drive from both Birmingham and East Midlands airports. Guests of Holiday Inn Express Burton upon Trent can wake up to an Express Start breakfast each morning and leave vehicles parked in our car park. Car parking is charged at £3.00 per night. All 82 of our comfortable Guest rooms have free wireless Internet and flat-screen TVs. You can host events for up to 65 guests in Holiday Inn Express Burton upon Trent's 3 air-conditioned meeting rooms. We're easy for your delegates to reach with convenient links to Birmingham, Derby, Nottingham and Stoke-on-Trent via the A50, A42, M6 and M1. Major conferences and exhibitions at Birmingham NEC are just 30 minutes drive from our hotel. Spacious Family rooms make us a good choice if you're visiting the nearby National Memorial Arboretum or thrilling Alton Towers theme park, a 45-minute drive away. Back at Holiday Inn Express Burton upon Trent, you can relax over drinks with friends and choose pub-style evening meals from the dinner menu in our sociable Great Room. Kids aged 12 and under eat free when accompanied by a paying adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Burton-Upon-Trent Hotel Burton Upon Trent
Holiday Inn Burton Upon Trent
Burton Upon Trent Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing