We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed in a family room with a toddler. All laid out so didn't have to make her bed up ourselves. Reception were helpful at advising us of alternative attractions when the weather turned rainy. Surrounded by a number of eating places. took us a while to find it as we don't know the area and lots of junctions to different shops etc. Plenty of free parking, tea/coffee facilities at reception that you can access all day (which is great) breakfast is a decent selection, wish there was more of a fruit salad available or fruit generally. Overall good value for what we paid and as mentioned the reception staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kangercol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    131
    71
    11
    8
See reviews for
65
83
12
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Pro's
Friendly reception staff
Good location for business users
Clean enough
Good value
Breakfast was good quality and good choice

Cons
Bar area needs bit of an atmosphere, not one person in there on a Saturday night (slight worry)
Beds were very uncomfortable and the pillows were terrible. All were of poor quality, could hear cars quite easy through windows
Plates at breakfast were very small, not even big enough for two slices of toast!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rach_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear rach_888,

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, we’re sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because we did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2013

It was looking very promising as we were delighted when we rang to see if we could check in early. They said yes that's fine however we didn't expect that we would be checking into a room that had not been cleaned from the previous user. Bed was not made, towels were on the floor and lastly there were hairs in the bathroom sink. A member of staff promptly insisted that she would offer to put us into a new, clean room however we said it was okay and that if she made sure the room was clean when we came home then that would be great; as we arrived back it was spotless as it should of been which was good. All facilities were adequate for the money we spent however the lack of information and communication as we arrived meant we missed breakfast which ends at 10 am (we believe this is too early). As we checked out it then came to our attention that they had charged us for our room again despite already paying online which caused a lot of hassle having to refund etc as we were in a rush to leave. Overall the hotel has great potential but it lacks in communication between staff and users of the hotel. It is with great regret that we would not consider using this hotel again but it was convenient for the nature of our visit (DERT weekend).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephwelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Stephwelan,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we thank you for sharing your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Lovely reception staff who assigned a room very efficiently. Having been in our room 5 minutes it became apparent the heating didnt work so we spoke to reception who came straight away to look at it and then equally efficiently re roomed us.

Rooms were similar to most other Holiday Inn Express but with slightly different bathrooms. Simple, basic, but clean and a bit more comfortable than some of the other budget chains. There are tea and coffee facilities in room.

Water pressure in the shower was feeble and there was nowhere to put your own toiletries in the shower only their own dispenser stuck on the wall.

The breakfast was included, simple but perfectly adequate although the juice dispenser needs the ratios adjusting to dilute a bit more as it was dispensing extremely concentrated apple and orange juice - certainly woke you up !!

Location is convenient for the motorway and there is a supermarket and various restaurants very close by if you don't fancy eating in of an evening.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_M_Leon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I have stayed here a few times now. Standards of staffing have improved dramatically over the last 2 years. Hotel is nearby a retail park, well Currys, Capet right and Morrisons (so if you need to fill up...). Food in the hotel is okay not going to set the world alight, but okay if it is a foot of snow outside. There is a pub nearby, the last time I visited the food was nice. More importantly e shower has good water pressure so you feel like you've had a shower. Minor complain was the breakfast, sausages were extremely greedy and I suspect cheap. Other than this I would recommend if on business.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room, odd number as front of hotel faces A38 and I can't imagine a bit of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kotfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here for a week in early January, and my view is that for the odd night or two this is fine, but for extended stays the hotel becomes a bit wearing.
The rooms are fine, though the air con can be distracting as it cuts in and out all night, the staff are really helpful and friendly, but the food is awful, please dont bother, if you need a meal , go around the corner to the corner pin, which is a flame gril pub and have a reasonable meal for a reasonable cost.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulH58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear PaulH58,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the breakfast program provided. We are working hard to ensure that our breakfast service meets our guests expectations and value your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your time and staying with us.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Polite and efficient check-in (Beth?).
You get what you pay for and whilst it's clean in some areas the building is worn and tired.
Disappointed to see staff going over the road to Morrisons for provisions then charging hotel prices to guests.
Night porter was helpful with directions for my travel next morning.
I notice general manager writes replies in block here, perhaps he can explain Morrisons!

Room Tip: Stay away from a room next to the noisy pub next door :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Repapotamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burton upon Trent hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#2 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
2.0 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East...
#9 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent

Property: Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Address: Second Avenue | Centrum 100 Business Park, Burton upon Trent DE14 2WF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a convenient location at the friendly Holiday Inn Express Burton upon Trent hotel, close to the A38 and A50. Our modern hotel is handily located in the Centrum 100 Business Park, just 30 minutes' drive from both Birmingham and East Midlands airports. Guests of Holiday Inn Express Burton upon Trent can wake up to an Express Start breakfast each morning and leave vehicles parked in our car park. Car parking is charged at £3.00 per night. All 82 of our comfortable Guest rooms have free wireless Internet and flat-screen TVs. You can host events for up to 65 guests in Holiday Inn Express Burton upon Trent's 3 air-conditioned meeting rooms. We're easy for your delegates to reach with convenient links to Birmingham, Derby, Nottingham and Stoke-on-Trent via the A50, A42, M6 and M1. Major conferences and exhibitions at Birmingham NEC are just 30 minutes drive from our hotel. Spacious Family rooms make us a good choice if you're visiting the nearby National Memorial Arboretum or thrilling Alton Towers theme park, a 45-minute drive away. Back at Holiday Inn Express Burton upon Trent, you can relax over drinks with friends and choose pub-style evening meals from the dinner menu in our sociable Great Room. Kids aged 12 and under eat free when accompanied by a paying adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Burton-Upon-Trent Hotel Burton Upon Trent
Holiday Inn Burton Upon Trent
Burton Upon Trent Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing