We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”

The Unicorn Inn Restaurant
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
“Lunch”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Had lunch here this week which was excellent. We had fish pie and lasagne. Both served piping hot with appropriate side dishes. Service was good and nothing appeared to be too much trouble for them. Every request was dealt with promptly and politely. John the "new" landlord and chef does a super job and deserves all the support the villagers can give him. It was a pity that there were only two other people eating there for lunch. The pub is ideally situated out of Burton and has in addition to ensuite accommodation a reasonably sized car park.It also has excellent beers and very welcoming bar staff

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    6
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burton-on-Trent
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“New management brings new style”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Ate at the Unicorn last night for the first time in a while. The earlier review dated 13th December was correct, in every way but, since John arrived and he took over the cooking, WOW!

I had a starter of black pudding which was very pleasant and my wife and another diner had prawn cocktail and duck liver pâté. Both thoroughly enjoyed their starters. However, there are very few chefs that can deliver a fillet steak, blue but warm right through and no "leakage" into the superb sauce! John can! I can honestly say that it was one of the best steaks I have had for some time! It was served with some magnificently crispy chips and perfectly cooked vegetables.

My fellow diners had fish and chips and two had duck, both prepared exactly as requested by fussy friends and, again, their meals were apparently delicious.

Curiously, last Friday I was treated to a meal out at another local pub/restaurant which everyone raves about in Repton. There I had a "megaburger" which had two VERY small beef burgers, a bit if lettuce, tomato, bacon and an egg between a bap. This was accompanied by undercooked chips in a flower pot! Even more curiously, both meals cost about the same. In terms of value for money, there is no comparison and I know which I would return to, every time!

In my view, John deserves every bit of support from locals!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's all gone wrong since Paul left”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Sadly when the Brewery decided that they would let Paul leave they also decided to put a management company in until they could find a permanent tenant. management companies don't work and they are not working here.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Tradational village pub”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Friendly and relaxing place. Tradition pub menu of hot fresh foods. Nice place for drinks with friends or family, or couples night out.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank josephspendlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice friendly proper pub!”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Visited this friendly pub for a meal whilst travelling through the area. You are welcomed as you enter and I was offered a table straight away and the waitress went to get my beer, one of four real ales which were in top condition. The food cooked by chef Mark and served by his waitress daughter was excellent. The staff were very attentive and with accomodation avaiable a no brainer for any CAMRA member visiting the National Brewery Museum in nearby Burton upon Trent.

Well worth a visit!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 030309NAME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Unicorn Inn Restaurant also viewed

Newton Solney, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Barton under Needwood, Burton upon Trent
 

Been to The Unicorn Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing