We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jan”
Review of Toby Carvery

Toby Carvery
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Burton. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings - including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Burton's favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile

I was very impressed we went early to the carvery as I find things are always hotter. The staff very friendly. The drinks I thought expensive especially the cider. We had a voucher £10 for two people so good value for your money. I will go again.

Thank janwoollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Janwoollett, your wonderful feedback and rating mean a lot to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 446 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2017

Had a fantastic meal at Burton Toby,carvery was very good,all the options were available all well presented and hot.Staff all very good,dealt with on arrival within a minute or two and asked if we had any preference on where we wanted to sit, ordered drinks and the member of staff talked us through starters carvery deserts etc,very efficient and friendly,the meal as stated was fantastic,hot,tasty and generous portions.We could not have a desert as we were truly full.We shall return again soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hedgehog29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Hedgehog29, thank you so much for your high rating!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile

Went for lunch with my Mom, Aunt and Cousin. Food was lovely and the staff friendly and welcoming. We were seated right away, drinks order taken and the carvery explained. Our waitress, Hollie, was attentive but not intrusive. We all had a fab time

Thank Fae1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Hi Fae1972, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile

I visited Toby Carvery for the first time last week and was very happy with my visit. The food was lovely and the staff were friendly. I will definitely visit again.

Thank Annalieza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2017

Hi Annalieza H, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at Toby Carvery Burton. We're happy we could meet your expectations! I shall pass you lovely comments onto our team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Toby Carvery Burton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017

Had to wait to be seated. Staff were just talking, not interested - don't appear to know how to 'go up a gear'. Couldn't give a toss attitude! Beef - was a scrag end, but told there was still slices on it. Food Luke warm, no crackling. Empty cranberry and apple sauce - had to ask to be filled up, which again took ages. Charge more on a Sunday, just not worth it. This is not the first time we've had a disappointing meal, but thought we'd give it another chance.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tracey672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Tracey672, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. I am really sorry to hear that our team let you down. I shall be speaking with the team to find out exactly what happened during the time of your visit.

Kind Regards
Toby Carvery Burton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery also viewed

Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Toby Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing