We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the first visit”
Review of Pinocchio's

Pinocchio's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Marianna Frusciante, and her partner Paul Cookson, became the new proprietors of Pinocchio’s Italian Restaurant in 2005.This was somewhat of a homecoming, as Marianna’s father Antonio, had first opened and ran the restaurant for three years in the 1980’s. It was then known as 'Torino’s, in the former Bargates Shopping centre.Now pinocchios is serving up home cooked Italian food in friendly relaxed surroundings.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the first visit”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife went here last night by way of a change. It's not that often we eat Italian cuisine.
We hadn't booked ahead and although it was busy we were found a table and made to feel welcome. We had meals from the set menu which were great. All the food tasted fresh and well put together.

The noise levels increased when a large party of people took their seats but this only added to the atmosphere of a busy, open plan restaurant.

Service was first rate too and to cap it all there is ample parking across the road.

We'll definitely be going back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShortieUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianna1525, Owner at Pinocchio's, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear ShortieUK,

Thank you for your recent review. It's lovely to see such positive comments for our food, service and atmosphere!

We hope to see you soon

Grazie
Marianna Frusciante
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    46
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

food excellent, service ecellent, excellent range of italian beers & wines, excellent atmosphere

All that can be said is "Fantastic" all round!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianna1525, Owner at Pinocchio's, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Andy s

Thank you for your recent review. It's great to see such positive comments all round!

We hope to see you again soon

Marianna Frusciante
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swadlincote
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We used Pinocchio's with a Groupon voucher. We added lots of extras such as wine, garlic bread, starters and deserts but sadly it was still very average.
The main course was bland and left me disappointed.
The positives are the easy parking close by and the friendly service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wooclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianna1525, Owner at Pinocchio's, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear wooclarke,
Thank you for your recent review. Its great you found the service friendly, we try and have a balance of friendly and professional service so thanks for your positive comments. I'm a little disopointed that you found the main course "bland", we always ask if all meals are ok when served so I'm puzzeled as to why you didn't raise the issue at the time? I'm interested to know what dish you had?

I hope you will contact me direct (01283537526) and we can discuss this further, we would love to show you that our dishes are defiantly not bland and that we can serve traditional, tasty home cooked dishes in a relaxed friendly atmosphere

Marianna Frusciante
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You don't find this very often...”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Tried this as we were impressed with the reviews on here. First impressions were that it didn’t look that appealing from the outside, however we were pleasantly surprised when we got inside. The place has a great layout and the atmosphere was good for a Tuesday night. Décor is a little dated, but I quite liked it… It definitely wasn’t clinical (most modern Italian’s in the UK seem to be).

The food was good. We ate from the set menu which was limited, but there would still be something on there to suit everyone. We asked to look at the main menu and it offered a small selection of each of the following: hot starters, cold starters, breads, pasta, meat dishes, pizza’s and a fish of the day. We had starters which were o.k and then both had spaghetti bolognese for main with the ‘full monty’ (garlic, tomato, chilli and mozerella) bread which was superb. I would say you’re not going to be amazed by the menu and the food… It isn’t as exciting as what’s on offer in the Italian chain restaurants, but the chain restaurants don’t offer authentic, fresh, home-made, traditional Italian dishes like Pinocchio’s does. We will definitely visit again, next time with the children.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurenVDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fanstastico!!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Took my friend on Wednesday evening, she had never been there before.

Always lovely, staff warm and friendly, food good size portions, hot and of good quality!!
Very good on price just an amazing lovely place, you should give it a try if you havent been.

Booked to got with another friend she is from Birmingham sure she will say the same.

Keep up the good work and well done to you all.

.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sueroy291156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinocchio's also viewed

Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Pinocchio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing