We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much choice for those with food allergies”
Review of The Burnt Gate - CLOSED

The Burnt Gate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $53
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A privately owned pub and restaurant in the country village of Anslow, within striking distance of brewery town Burton-on-Trent, The Burnt Gate is a local favourite finding favour with visitors too. Dating back around 300 years, The Burnt Gate is traditional and cosy, all original beams and open fires, snug bars and oak flooring ��� the perfect place to relax over a pint of ale on a Sunday afternoon or to dine with close family. With three chefs in the kitchen ��� one of whom was named Burton and South Derbyshire���s Best Young Chef 2010 ��� creativity abounds. Indeed traditional ���pub-grub��� dishes are accompanied by inventive creations in fish, dietary requirement friendly veggie and coeliac choices and puddings which have caught diners��� imaginations.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Lovely setting, great food, excellent service by people who care and so much choice if you have any special needs. Most wheat intolerant diners have a choice of about 2 things - rice and meringue! but this restaurant really makes an effort to include them in the dining experience.

1  Thank Jude H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieStevens, Owner at The Burnt Gate, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. It is wonderful for all of us to have the acknowledgement that we care about our customers and that everyone should have a great dining experience, regardless of their food intolerences or preferences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 281 of 348 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a good pub serving good honest home cooked food with a decent selection. Portion size is good and qaulity excellent. The ale is as always good and the wine decent with good service. They also ran a book and coffe morning sale to raise funds for the Salvation Army so get a tick in the box for me for doing something to help the local comunity.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pward09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieStevens, Owner at The Burnt Gate, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

thank you for yet another great review, it is so nice that we continue to 'tick' all the boxes for you and look forward to being of service again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This place was fine for a pub lunch, but it does not live up to its menu. The starters were a little disappointing for what they are. For example the bread is best described as ordinary and the portions, nicely presented, are slightly mean and perhaps a trifle bland. Main courses were OK, had flavour and were adequate in quantity. The vegetables were good - not overlooked. Service can be described as friendly and attentive, no problem there. Atmosphere is slightly lacking with a flat interior. There is nothing particularly wrong with the Burning Gate, but it is currently overrated on Trip Advisor. Improve the starters, throw in some fresh bread for diners, knock a couple of pounds off the price and then it would be great value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Harry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieStevens, Owner at The Burnt Gate, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. With regard to the bread we serve, this was undergoing a review as I had the same opinion! and we now have a variety of different breads that we serve. Everyone has a different appetite and it is unusual for us to receive a comment that our starter portions are mean, however you did appear to enjoy both the quantity and flavour of your main course and rated the service well. Thank you again for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We went to the Burnt Gate on a quite Thursday night and I have to say that the occasion was very disappointing. We had heard some very mixed reviews regarding the pub but decided to give it a go anyway. We sat down to a 3 course meal surprised at the size of the pub though it felt quite lonely given how quite it was. For a starter I had the soup which was carrot, ginger and honey, this is an all time favourite soup of mine but i was highly disappointed with the bland taste. However the main issue that we had came with the main course. The 3 of us ordered steaks, these were the most expensive thing on the menu, however i requested that mine would come with sweet potato chips rather than normal chips. On the menu to have a side of sweet potato chips was 25p more expensive then having normal chips however i was informed that in order to get sweet potato chips with my steak it would be an extra £1. We politely questioned the reason for the price difference, it appeared that there was little logic, however the waitress replied that she didn't make us have steak with sweet potato chips. We found this a little rude frankly considering our inquisitive enquiry. After our enquiry the service went distinctly down hill, obviously the management did not appreciate our observation and we noticed that we were not treated very well in the remained of our visit. The £1 was removed from the bill but it all seemed a bit petty!!! we will not be returning it was a very disappointing experience!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieStevens, Owner at The Burnt Gate, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to read of your experience and totally understand your frustrations with regard to the price of the sweet potato fries. Although this item is indeed more expensive that normal fries it is not our normal policy to charge extra for it on our a la carte menu and it should not happen in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Went for Sunday lunch and the place did not live up to it's reviews. Food was traditional and bland. Ordinary English food but with an expensive price. £17.50 for two courses it was not VFM. Place was not too full either.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Riffraff77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieStevens, Owner at The Burnt Gate, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

I'm sorry to read you didn't enjoy your meal. Our Sunday lunch menu is fairly traditional as that is what we find our customers seem to like as many people don't cook a roast at home. We only buy local British meat and although it is not the cheapest, on the whole our customers feel it worth paying for. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Burnt Gate also viewed

Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing