We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Visit”
Review of The Burnt Gate - CLOSED

The Burnt Gate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $52
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A privately owned pub and restaurant in the country village of Anslow, within striking distance of brewery town Burton-on-Trent, The Burnt Gate is a local favourite finding favour with visitors too. Dating back around 300 years, The Burnt Gate is traditional and cosy, all original beams and open fires, snug bars and oak flooring ��� the perfect place to relax over a pint of ale on a Sunday afternoon or to dine with close family. With three chefs in the kitchen ��� one of whom was named Burton and South Derbyshire���s Best Young Chef 2010 ��� creativity abounds. Indeed traditional ���pub-grub��� dishes are accompanied by inventive creations in fish, dietary requirement friendly veggie and coeliac choices and puddings which have caught diners��� imaginations.
Burton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Disappointing Visit”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have eaten here several times in the past and has always been quite good, however the last visit overall was disappointing.

We had a family meal here just before Christmas on a Saturday night.
Table was booked for 7.00pm, but we were not called to our table until almost 8.00pm. We were told that the table had to be cleared and re-set for us, not a great start to the night.
We went generally for 3 courses each with us going for a variety of dishes.

Whilst tasty, the 'posh' fish fingers were overpriced for what in essence is still fish with breadcrumbs.

One of the diners had the veal steak, which when it arrived proved to be very tough and difficult to eat.

2 of us tried the Anslow Pie and 2 of us had the special Anslow 'game' pie.
Pie pastry was quite short and was a little too dry. The game pie content was variable across the 2 pie's, mine was very hot inside but my wife's was warm at best. It was as if we had portions from different pies. There seemed to be a lot of rabbit in the pie with any other game being quite hard to differentiate from. The pie could have done with more gravy too as the pastry was quite dry.

When the main dinner plates were cleared, we did complain about the veal steak and in fairness to the serving team they were very apologetic and after a few minutes came back to the table to tell us that we would not be charged for the veal and the diner who had the veal would also get a free desert.

Generally we have had good meals here but this was below par, it felt that they were trying to serve too many people in a short amount of time and it was as if the kitchen were struggling to cope.

Perhaps it's best to visit when not so busy.

I expect we will visit here again, but we will try to avoid the busier times.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisM239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieStevens, Owner at The Burnt Gate, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased to read that you have visited us in the past and found us to be to your liking and I am sorry to read of your disappointment on this visit. We do track all of our visits, including times of arrival, time order was taken as well as customer comments. On this particular occasion your table was booked for 7.00 on Saturday 8th December and your party of 6 arrived at 6.55p.m. After getting drinks from the bar you were given menus at 7.07p.m. and your order was taken at 7.30. As we serve food all day from noon on a Saturday your allocated table was used in the afternoon and did have to be relaid, which is not unusual and this meant only that you could not be seated immediately on arrival but had your drinks and menus in the bar and were then taken to the table when your starters were ready to be served. This did not affect the service time. With regard to the meal, the 'posh fingers' are made on the premises from fresh cod fillet and coated in Japanese panko crumb. Both these ingredients carry a not inconsiderable cost and I'm sorry you found them poor value. The veal you referred to was in fact Venison and as with all meat, but especially game, it can be very variable. It is impossible to tell how the meat will cook and it is unfortunate that on this particular occasion it was tough. As you acknowledge we did recompense the customer by not charging for the meal and also giving a complimentary cheeseboard. With regard to the filling of the game pie, we buy the game mix from our butcher and cook it ourselves and there always seems to be a good variety of meat. The temperature of the pies should be consistent and there is no reason or excuse for this being variable. The pastry is homemade too and is a shortcrust pastry, we also provide extra gravy for those that require it. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    58
    28
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great good, friendly owners and easy to find.”
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Found this pub on Trip Advisor as we were looking for a pub with food near to Burton. It's easy to find and the menu was great for adults and kids. Prices were reasonable and the food lovely. All home cooked, tasted fresh and as good as any gastro-pub. Would visit again and highly recommend the 5 minute drive out of Burton centre.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SBB-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favourite place”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We keep going back to the Burnt Gate simply because it's such a pleasant place to be. We feel that going out for a meal is so much more than just the food which of course is always good and with a good choice. The staff are so friendly and open that it's like spending time with your favourite friends. Whether you go for a lunch time snack, evening celebration or a Sunday lunch you cannot fail to enjoy yourself.
They run a VIP club and as a regular visitor you pick up points which are converted into money off vouchers, a welcome surprise through the letterbox.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have been here a number of times and have never been disappointed by the food. I have been here with friends and family and all have been happy. They have a smaller appetites menu as well as full dinner menu. Their sizzling steak is always good and if you don't want onion rings they'll happily change it to mushrooms or something else of your choosing (I have a fussy family when it comes to side dishes!). They have a big range of dishes and will cater for everyone, including vegans and coeliacs. The service is excellent. We went for my fathers birthday recently and as we booked the table and had a loyalty card they decorated the table, gave us a bottle of wine and when they bought out his ice cream it even had a birthday candle in it! It's these touches that make it a good choice! My only criticism is that they only seem to have two ales on a time but that is a small point as everything else is spot on.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stripytiger79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“customer service and delightful food”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We often use the burnt gate, the food is cooked to order, (you will find no fast food here). The quality of the food is excellent and the service you recieve from the mine host and the team is wonderful. Nothing, and i mean nothing is to much trouble for anyone and they will always accommodate you whatever. May i say many thanks for 7th November when my husband and aunt visited, unfortunatley there was a private fuction on and the restraunt was not open to the public, however, Maria found a quiet corner and served us a meal. Thank you

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieStevens, Owner at The Burnt Gate, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
WOW! what can I say...an amazing review and thank you so very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Burnt Gate also viewed

Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing