We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well priced food”
Review of Corner House

Corner House
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: http://www.pub-explorer.com/staffs/pub/cornerhouse.htm
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Well priced food”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Been here on several occasions and the food has always been good. Depending on how busy they are, which is the same I suppose where ever you go then you may have to wait, but not too long in my experience. Service has always been good and staff always polite. This is one of the best value restaurants in Burton.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trevor-w20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    69
    36
    23
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We visited the corner house on the way home from a day out. I was amazed how cheap some of the food was! Both of the meals we ordered (Chicken tikka and a mixed grill) were a decent sized portions, tasty and very hot! The staff were friendly. Our only (very small moan) was the waiting time between ordering and recieving our meals, although it probably felt longer than it actually was as we were hungry! I would recommend this for anyone who wants a good value meal, and I will be visiting again soon!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hlouisec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excelent food and value for money.”
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

The flaming grill is a excelent place to visit for food and value for money.the food is well above avrage plenty of it and all for a small fee.
Its what it is a grill and burger place and its not trying to be something its not. Highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monsuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Regular Visitors”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Me and my boyfriend go her for a meal quite often. We live around 15 miles away but don't mind the 30 mile round trip as it is always good food, and good service. Would reccomend :o)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kerrilouise86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff and tastey food”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I go to the corner house whenever the football is on and i also go when i take people out for dinner, this is a great pub/resteraunt with a great atmosphere and great food.

The staff are very helpful and are good at remembering who is next in line, obviously this would be an improvement if there was some sort of que system so it was easier for the staff to handle busy periods.

The menu and range of food is typically what you'd expect in a pub but there are some nice resteraunt style dishes that will take your fancy. Food quality is of a standard you'd expect and service times are generally quick and prompt.

One thing i really recomend and this is the thing that leaves me no choice but to keep on returning is the chocolate fudge cake, honestly they have the best fudge cake in Burton and Swadlincote and you'd be stupid not to pass up the opportunity to order one.

The duty manager at the pub is very pleasent and there is also a very nice young bloke who is always happy to serve and help. in general there are a lot of great staff there of which if i could name them all i would.

We also visited for a work christmas meal in december and the pub was full almost to bursting point, the only thing that let the visit down was the screaming child that was with his family, but this wasn't the pubs fault.

Another recomendation is the amazing value for money burger challenge which costs £9.99 (correct at time) and is well worth the money even if you can't finish it (I've had this challenge 2 times and completed it with a fudge cake for desert after ech attempt).

Overall this is one of the better pubs you can visit in the burton area, well worth trying out!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neo_Angelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corner House also viewed

Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Corner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing