We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last minute booking turned out to be a pleasant!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Three Queens Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burton upon Trent
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Three Queens Lodge
Walderslade
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Last minute booking turned out to be a pleasant!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Absolutely fantastic value for money..the room was very spacious and well furnished. Very clean and for us as a family, we could not ask for more!!! I used to be in the travel business, and I cannot fault it. It looked a bit shabby on the outside which made the surprise of the standard of accommodation even more incredible. Thank you to all the staff..we will be coming again!!! Be Warned!!!

Room Tip: Prebook meals!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    19
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
11
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tonbridge kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here 2 weeks ago after a day at Alton Towers, friendly reception lady, we stayed in the family room in the lodge with a 12 yr old 7 yr old and newborn baby, the only problem i had with the room is the temp, it was STIFLING we had to choose between heat and traffic noise and we had to have the window open else i swear we would have died of heat exhaustion during the night.( i did complain about this the next morning and they said i could have asked for a fan) the bathroom didn't have a bath which was a shame as i just wanted to soak after a very tiring day, bathroom was immaculately clean and looked new, we ate in the restaurant but the two dishes we ordered had run out, we preferred the food on the bar menu and they let us eat the bar food in the restaurant as appose to the bar, the breakfast was fab, (although my children were disappointed it wasn't buffet style) breakfast staff very friendly, and lovely cooked brekkie. will be staying here again next year when we go to Alton towers again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rarabingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Staff lovely. Asked for out of the way room for special needs child to wind down after Alton Towers and got one. Room enormous with great bathroom. Shower cubicle so large whole family could've fitted in. Meticulously clean and really beautifully presented. Yes, room was stuffy - but secondary double glazed windows (lodge & hotel are an old building) easy to open and fan provided. Was next to busy road - but not too much noise on second floor and not a problem for us. No lift - but we managed fine. Hotel/lodge really handy for lots of eating places/pubs if you don't want to eat in. Our kids opted for Mc D's just down the road.Complimentary continental breakfast very generously interpreted and graciously served. At no point were we made to feel at 'budget' end. Hotel itself is quirky and interesting - not part of faceless chain. We liked this and felt that the flaws were minor compared to the strengths and that you'd be hard pressed to get better value for money anywhere. Would stay again. Would also add that we are directionally challenged and that not only is Burton on Trent easy to find and very pleasant - but that it is almost impossible not to find your way to Alton Towers from here.

Room Tip: No lift at lodge - so if you have mobility issues make sure you make the staff aware when booking. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed here with family in a family room. Room, decor and fittings and standard of hotel pretty good.

However some flaws: non-air conditioned rooms uncomfortably warm. Very noisy road outside and poor standard double-glazing.

Restaurant: breakfast reasonable standard, good service.

Evening meal less so: the only waiting staff was highly inexperienced and knew nothing about the menu, food types (how would you like you 'braised' steak cooked?), served incorrect wine and didnt know how to serve it, brought water but no glasses.

I have absolutely no objection to someone being new and learning such things however any sensible restaurateur would not leave their 'alledged' award winning premises in the hands of a complete novice. Surely a colleague should have been there to assist and guide?

Thankfully we were the only clients and were patient with the guy in question. God help him if he had 2 or more tables.

Overall the standard of the whole experience was about on a par with the cost which was pretty reasonable to be fair.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbill007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

The staff here are very good, the rooms at the lodge are very big and clean and good value.
The lodge is in the centre of Burton opposite a very good rale ale pub.The design of the hotel is a strange mix of church type windows and 70s bingo hall carpet which you will either love or hate.
The breakfast choice is very good and very good quality but the room you eat it in has no windows and feels a little claustrophobic as a result. It would be great if they could serve it in the dining room which has plenty of windows.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the inside (car park side) of the lodge to avoid road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed here on the way to Trentham Gardens and could not have been happier. We had two rooms for us, our 7 year old girl and two teenage boys. Very helpful reception, comfortable room (sofa bed a little dodgy but luckily 7 year old is very small!!) great bathroom. Breakfast was good, friendly staff here as well.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastSussexSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel last night and had a lovely stay. After a long day at Alton Towers we wanted a good rest and the hotel provided just that. Check in was easy and the lady on the reception was super helpful and very friendly. The family room was amazing a massive four poster bed and then a very comfy sofa bed for the children which was tucked away from our bed. The bathroom and shower were great power shower and had been decorated and tiled beautifully. The room was spotless and sparkly clean. We walked to the local Wing Wah chinese buffet in the evening passing a few places on the way that we would eat in as well. After a very good nights sleep we checked out again by the same helpful lady. We would stay here anytime it is great and could not fault anything except maybe the price of breakfast we were put off by the price.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lodge room 205 great for families but no bath great shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burton upon Trent hotels
0.1 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#9 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#2 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East...
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Queens Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Queens Lodge

Property: Three Queens Lodge
Address: Bridge Street, Burton upon Trent DE14 1SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
3 Queens Lodge
Three Queens Hotel Burton Upon Trent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing