We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpfull”
Review of Three Queens Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burton upon Trent
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Three Queens Lodge
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The staff here are very good, the rooms at the lodge are very big and clean and good value.
The lodge is in the centre of Burton opposite a very good rale ale pub.The design of the hotel is a strange mix of church type windows and 70s bingo hall carpet which you will either love or hate.
The breakfast choice is very good and very good quality but the room you eat it in has no windows and feels a little claustrophobic as a result. It would be great if they could serve it in the dining room which has plenty of windows.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the inside (car park side) of the lodge to avoid road noise
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Three Queens Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 57 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed here on the way to Trentham Gardens and could not have been happier. We had two rooms for us, our 7 year old girl and two teenage boys. Very helpful reception, comfortable room (sofa bed a little dodgy but luckily 7 year old is very small!!) great bathroom. Breakfast was good, friendly staff here as well.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastSussexSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel last night and had a lovely stay. After a long day at Alton Towers we wanted a good rest and the hotel provided just that. Check in was easy and the lady on the reception was super helpful and very friendly. The family room was amazing a massive four poster bed and then a very comfy sofa bed for the children which was tucked away from our bed. The bathroom and shower were great power shower and had been decorated and tiled beautifully. The room was spotless and sparkly clean. We walked to the local Wing Wah chinese buffet in the evening passing a few places on the way that we would eat in as well. After a very good nights sleep we checked out again by the same helpful lady. We would stay here anytime it is great and could not fault anything except maybe the price of breakfast we were put off by the price.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lodge room 205 great for families but no bath great shower.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

A lovely clean hotel, well maintained to an excellent standard,the room and bathroom were of a good size and the staff were very welcoming and we would definitely stay here again. Well worth the money. Highly recommended. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ell1es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I stayed at the Three Queens Hotel in April 2012. All of the staff were welcoming and friendly from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. The cleanliness of the rooms is excellent and towels and bedding were changed regularly during our 5 day stay.
The restaurant provided high quality food at a reasonable price ( the apple crumble must receive a special mention). The choices at breakfast were many and of a good standard.
The building is old and the floors creak but it is a building that welcomes you. Our room was on the first floor ( there is a lift) at the rear of the hotel away from the road and was very quiet. Most welcome was the mug of tea delivered to our door every morning. If you want somewhere friendly and efficient rather than 'boutique' this could be the place for you. I will be staying there again. It is perfectly situated to visit sights in the area particularly the National Memorial Arboretum which is approx 20 minutes drive away.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boabyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We were given a first floor room for our overnight stay. This was of excellent size with a sofa, good sized four-poster and en-suite. Some traffic noise which may be more noticeable on the ground floor. The staff were excellent start to finish, recommending an good Thai restaurant a couple of minutes away for dinner and were very pleasant and helpful for breakfast (we chose the 'continental' as an option over the basic room price which was of the French 'croissants , bread and jam' variety and fine for our needs). Across the road is the Burton Bridge brewery tap, so if you've had a long journey this traditional pub provides an excellent place for refreshment after checking in. We then went on to eat at the nearby Baan Thai which gets justifiably good reviews on this site. Any criticism? - well perhaps some attention to detail in the cleaning of the communal /corridor areas

Room Tip: On a busy roundabout so ground floor may be noisy -also check parking as I understand this is mainly...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RdeBeenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Lovely hotel , Excellent Food. We stayed there for 2 days as a base to travel to Alton Towers about 30 min drive away , The hotel is immaculate we stopped in a family room sleeps 2 adults and 2 kids under 16 years. Overall i would give it 9 out of 10 The meal deals on offer you can pre book are great Value, a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steveo43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton upon Trent
0.0 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
460 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
76 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Cen...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
2.1 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Queens Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Queens Lodge

Address: Bridge Street, Burton upon Trent DE14 1SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Burton upon Trent
Price Range: $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Three Queens Hotel Burton Upon Trent
3 Queens Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing