We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as expected....”
Review of Three Queens Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burton upon Trent
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Three Queens Lodge
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Me my hubby and two daughters have just returned from a 3 night stay.

Now I'm trying to put this in the nicest way possible........
On our arrival the location was not as EXPECTED, when looking on the website it appeared to be in a quiet area, but instead it was basically on a busy roundabout with sirens at night.

The Receptionist greeted us and with a kind sympathetic smile told us our room was on the top floor.
Three flights of steep stairs later we reached our rooms!!! There is no lifts!!!
The room was nice clean and tidy with plenty of room.
Now all I can say though there was no air con in these rooms and it was very warm and sticky all the time, even with the window open !!
The staff did give me 3 fans which unfortunately did not really help
( I think I could of blew colder air myself!!!)
The beds I we found were rather uncomfortable too.
The bathroom was lovely and tidy with shower cubicle.

We booked here for closeness to Alton Towers and basically it was a lot further than we EXPECTED as with all the little country lanes in which we had to drive it was a good hour there and back!!!

We booked one meal deal and ate once there and paid.
The Breakfast was nice though they seem to be out of stock on certain things that where on the menu and where waiting for delivery. Cooked fresh.

Bar snacks and sandwiches where nice but little pricey as of the drinks, £3.60 for pint of lager.
Main Menu was not enough choice as of the kids menu as well found it hard to choose especially with kids.

Staff where really friendly and pleasant, (though on checkout day cleaner nearly walked in room , (even when door had a do not disturb sign on), then followed to come in again to ask what time we we're leaving!!! lol

Overall it is a nice hotel/lodge but if you are looking for a family base to go to Alton Towers on a cheaper budget stick to Premier Inns as they are much better and value for money...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnMack79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 59 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2011

I've stayed at the Queens on many occasions over the last over the last 6 or 7 years, formerly in the hotel proper and on the last two occasions in the lodge. This is a warm, clean,comfortable and friendly hotel and I have always been met with curtesy and helpfulness by all the staff.

Breakfasts are of good quality with a good and varied choice.

The bedrooms are of good standard with comfortable beds and a variety of amenities - there is no difference in the qualities of the bedrooms betwen the hotel and lodge.

All in all a more than pleasant place to stay when in Burton

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

my husband and I stayed one night as he came to watch Torquay United play Burton we stayed in the lodge and could not have asked for more! staff friendly and helpful had a drink in the bar everywhere was clean and it was situated very conveniently for the town would highly recommend to anyone! Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jumi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Selected the Three Queens as it was central for a number National Trust Properties and other attractions we wished to see. Booked in for six nights with breakfast in the adjacent hotel, and pre-booked to eat in the hotel on three nights.

Lodge is easy to find, there is sufficient car parking. Rooms are a very good size, clean and comparable with Travelodge/Premier Inn.

Staff were very friendly, always a smiling face. You are waited on for breakfast, service is quick, and food is freshly cooked – not lukewarm from a hot plate. Evening meal was also very nice; food well-presented and full of taste. Unfortunately it was more or less the same menu every night so I was please I had only booked us to eat for three of our nights – I was with a fussy eater who was selective over what she will and will not eat.

Town Centre is a short walk away, as is a pleasant riverside walk both routes lead to alternative options for evening meals.

Very good value for money will be recommending it family/friends.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGH_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Spent 2 nights here and had a very enjoable stay. The room was large and comfortable. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aileena122016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Rooms were clean, staff were very helpful and friendly and breakfast was lovely. We were a large group and the hotel coped really well with all of our needs. Would definitely stay there again and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaydey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

I have stayed in many hotels through work, this one compares very well , the room was comfortable and has everything we needed, breakfast was excellent and the lady who served us friendly and welcoming, we will definately be staying again.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnie402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burton upon Trent hotels
5.5 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
2.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
523 reviews
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Old Baker's Cottage
The Old Baker's Cottage
#1 of 1 in Newborough
74 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
516 reviews
7 mi away
Wychnor Park Country Club
Wychnor Park Country Club
#1 of 2 in Barton under Needwood
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Queens Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Queens Lodge

Address: Bridge Street, Burton upon Trent DE14 1SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Burton upon Trent
Price Range: $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
3 Queens Lodge
Three Queens Hotel Burton Upon Trent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing