We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best food in Burton on trent possibly anywhere!”
Review of 99 Station Street

99 Station Street
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $64
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: “Bang up to date with a stylish modern interior andfriendly welcome“ - Olive Magazine“Superior Address” – The Sunday Telegraph"Worthy ambassador for Staffordshire produce cooked with aplomb" - Good Food Guide 2011
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best food in Burton on trent possibly anywhere!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have visited this restaurant a few times now and on each occasion the food has been absolutely spectacular! This hidden gem in Burton is by far the most superior restaurant in the area. We eat out at least once a month and do enjoy the buzz that some restaurants offer such as the dial and the winery. However they cannot compete with the quality of the food on offer at 99 station street. It may be small but if your after a intimate place to eat offering quality local sourced food then this is the place to go!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iamcarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    56
    34
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
burton on trent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Don't believe the hype.”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

After drooling over the menu for a while now, my boyfriend and I finally decided to eat at the establishment last night for our anniversary. After being told we could not get a table at 9pm and only 8.45 on the phone, my first impression wasn't the best as we were surrounded by unreserved, empty tables - maybe not so flexible on meetig the needs of the customer. We were badgered by 3 different members of staff to order our food and drink within 10 minutes of sitting down - not very professional. The food was just ok, nothing that special or different. The lamb shank was tasty, mashed potatoes were bland and underseasoned and the vegetables seemed as if the were frozen and microwaved. After being pestered so much to order our food, we then had to wait over 15 minutes to catch the eye of the staff to ask for our bill who were stood around chatting by the bar.

Overall: food is pleasant, staff are 'ok' but the restaurant doesn't quite pull off the whole dining experience as suggested it might by the prices.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
29 Thank FredBear106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Locally sourced, fantastic tasting food. A real find in Burton.”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

99 Station Street is a real gem of a restaurant. We've been a few times now. Their Sunday lunch is fantastically priced for the amazing quality and taste of the.locally sourced ingredients and the a la carte restaurant offers good variety and exceptional tasting food. I genuinely cant fault their food and the one time I couldn't find a dessert on the menu I fancied the head chef kindly made me something completely different... a toblerone sort of eton mess...just amazing!! If you haven't been, give it a try as it is a stunning find for Burton Upon Trent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank beccy678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This restaurant comes highly recommended. Locally sourced ingredients, fabulous food and service. Everything super hot and of high quality. Couldn't fault a thing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mand789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely food, but its not all about the food......”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Visited here last night, snowy weather. Had a very lukewarm welcome, had to hang our coats and scarves up ourselves.
Have to say our meals were beautifully presented and hot, not so the staff or the ambient temperature.
We left a reasonable tip (10%) but received no thanks and only a cursory farewell.
We had to retrieve our own coats and let ourselves out.
Food for thought?

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
24 Thank AlrewasRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossB1966, Public Relations Manager at 99 Station Street, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Many thanks for the kind words about the food.

However, I take note of your comments about the lack of attention at the end of your visit and will make sure that this is brought up for action. Sometimes we make assumptions that someone else is looking after a guest, that's when things go wrong.

I apologise for this and although we aim for high standards, we do sometimes get it wrong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 99 Station Street also viewed

Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to 99 Station Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing