We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Bad!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013

There were 5 of us in our party and I managed to obtain a fantastic late deal through tripadvisor. The setting is lovely, with a sweeping drive as you approach the Georgian house. Inside it is rather "faded grandeur" which is a shame, as it could with a little effort be really lovely. Our three rooms were fine, with good facilities (although the showers were a bit pitiful). However, everywhere could benefit from a deep clean. Bedding, linen and towels were all good quality and spotless, so no complaints there.
The overall feeling is that the Hotel is chronically under-staffed. The first staff Member we saw appeared to be receptionist, manager, bar waitress and later waited on our table at dinner. The food was good - if pricey - £9 for three small pieces of cheese, crackers, grapes and celery was quite expensive, I felt, and my Husband had to ask for butter and then received a saucer with two tiny triangles on it!
Breakfast was fine, although the waitress did not explain that there was a self-service buffet table for cereal and fruit juice (described as freshly squeezed, but I don't think a fresh orange had been anywhere near it!). The full English was very good, nice bacon and sausages together with black pudding which pleased my Husband.
Overall the experience was a strange one - there are lots of little things which need addressing and it appears lots of cost-cutting is going on but we did quite enjoy our stay. However, I would not have been at all happy if I had been paying the full price!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FouroaksHoram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
There are newer reviews for Dovecliff Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 424 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

My wife and I have,,for the last 25 years, enjoyed the dining services of this Hotel, it was our first choice for personal and family occasions. However, our visit for luncheon on the 24th of August 2013, with four guests ,was an embarrassing disaster.The pre lunch drinks were served in a scruffy bar which aiso accommodated a pile of cardboard packing cases. The main course menu comprised three choices, Moroccan Chicken, Salmon and a Vegetarian dish served with basic vegetables and sauces; anything else was extra. Compared to our previous experience the standard of cuisine and service was poor- one individual acted as receptonist,
waitress and accounts clerk.
From a warm welcoming atmosphere this hotel has been converted into a place of cold indifference. The prices were always high but represented good value for money, the exact opposite is now the case.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dovecliffhallhotel, Front Office Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for posting your review and we are sorry to hear that you were not happy with your recent lunch. Our set lunch menu comprises a two course for £12 or three courses for £14.95 which we believe is excellent value for money and has been a huge success since its launch in June and is the menu which I believe your party chose from. However, running alongside this is our 'a la carte' lunch menu which offers huge variety both in selection and price and may be combined with the set menu if desired.
There was another member of staff on duty but at the time you arrived and paid she was dealing with guests making booking enquiries and would have been on hand if she was required.
There was a cardboard box in the bar which was awaiting collection and should have been moved away from the bar area and i am sorry if this was unsightly during your pre-lunch drinks. Please feel at liberty to call me and speak to me directly if you wish as these matters are always dealt with more effectively on a 'one to one' basis rather than on a public forum. We do hope you will return.
Helen Lofts
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had our wedding reception at Dovecliff Hall hotel on 6th July. From the first day we found the venue, 12 months ago, to the day itself they couldn't have been more professional and helpful. They made us feel like nothing was too much trouble and supported us every step of the way. A far cry from the "corporate" venues you often get, Dovecliff oozes charm and character and you definitely feel that you are getting the personal touch. I cannot praise Laura and Peter enough for ensuring that all went smoothly on the day. For anyone wanting a beautiful, characterful wedding venue with excellent food, attentive service, beautiful rooms and impeccable organisation then Dovecliff is the place for you.
Thank you for making our big day so perfect in every way!!!

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank lcole10644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Fantastic hotel, very clean, helpful staff and good food. We had a spacious ground floor room which had it's own little terrace overlooking the river. Only minor point was that the drinks at the bar were a little on the pricey side,

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjs6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was my first visit to Dovecliff for a meal with colleagues and it was really outstanding. The setting is stunning and the hotel very old and beautiful.

Everyone thoroughly enjoyed all 3 courses and the service was excellent. We were able to have drinks on the terrace as it was a lovely evening.

Warm potato and chorizo starter was good, followed by a tender lemon chicken breast and finished off with a highly recommended bread and butter pudding with Cointreau.

A few members of the party had the milk fed rabbit and said it was outstanding.

A truly memorable occasion definitely requiring a return visit!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cintsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Held our wedding here on the 28th June 2013 an absolutely wonderful place,we had a perfect day the staff are really fantastic and couldn't do enough for us the food and rooms were lovely I would have no hesitation in recommending Dovecliff hall hotel .many thanks for a day to remember Mr and Mrs Hallam and family

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakkn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

What a great hotel .After my daughter was let down by a venue booked 18months ago this hotel management, pulled all the stops to help at the very last moment to make this wedding one to be remembered by all.Especially as they had another wedding the following day.The service was second to none excellent. The accommodation was very good a really grand setting with lovely gardens to have the photographs taken. As we where traveling some distance they even made our room available early so as to freshen up and change.The staff very professional and friendly and would highly recommend it for anyone looking for a wedding venue or just accommodation

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4746PeteW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton upon Trent
6.3 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
4.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
502 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
318 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
460 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Cen...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dovecliff Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dovecliff Hall Hotel

Address: Dovecliff Road | Stretton, Burton upon Trent DE13 0DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Price Range: $100 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dovecliff Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dovecliff Hall Country House Hotel is a "hidden gem" nestled in the delightful Staffordshire countryside. Dating back to 1790, this elegant Georgian House has been fully restored to provide a subtle blend of history with modern comfortable hospitality. Set within seven acres of beautiful gardens and adjacent to the River Dove, Dovecliff Hall is the perfect retreat if you are looking to experience peace and tranquility. Our guest rooms have been tastefully decorated and boast views of either the gardens or the River Dove. With emphasis on comfort, elegance and functionality, all rooms have en-suite bathrooms with bath and shower and are equipped with flat screen TVs, telephones, free WIFI access, trouser press and tea & coffee making facilities. Classic English cuisine with a modern French twist can be enjoyed in our beautiful Orangery Restaurant. Only the finest seasonal ingredients are used and wherever possible, our Head Chef uses his local suppliers. Just 10 miles from Lichfield and 13 miles from Derby, we are ideally situated if you are looking to visit Chatsworth House, Lichfield Cathedral, The Peak District, Calke Abbey, Shugborough Hall, Alton Towers or Donnington Park. We look forward to offering you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dovecliff Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing