We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Significant fall in standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Certificate of Excellence
Rugeley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Significant fall in standards”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

My wife and I have,,for the last 25 years, enjoyed the dining services of this Hotel, it was our first choice for personal and family occasions. However, our visit for luncheon on the 24th of August 2013, with four guests ,was an embarrassing disaster.The pre lunch drinks were served in a scruffy bar which aiso accommodated a pile of cardboard packing cases. The main course menu comprised three choices, Moroccan Chicken, Salmon and a Vegetarian dish served with basic vegetables and sauces; anything else was extra. Compared to our previous experience the standard of cuisine and service was poor- one individual acted as receptonist,
waitress and accounts clerk.
From a warm welcoming atmosphere this hotel has been converted into a place of cold indifference. The prices were always high but represented good value for money, the exact opposite is now the case.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dovecliffhallhotel, Front Office Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for posting your review and we are sorry to hear that you were not happy with your recent lunch. Our set lunch menu comprises a two course for £12 or three courses for £14.95 which we believe is excellent value for money and has been a huge success since its launch in June and is the menu which I believe your party chose from. However, running alongside this is our 'a la carte' lunch menu which offers huge variety both in selection and price and may be combined with the set menu if desired.
There was another member of staff on duty but at the time you arrived and paid she was dealing with guests making booking enquiries and would have been on hand if she was required.
There was a cardboard box in the bar which was awaiting collection and should have been moved away from the bar area and i am sorry if this was unsightly during your pre-lunch drinks. Please feel at liberty to call me and speak to me directly if you wish as these matters are always dealt with more effectively on a 'one to one' basis rather than on a public forum. We do hope you will return.
Helen Lofts
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    102
    51
    29
    14
See reviews for
114
149
2
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding reception at Dovecliff Hall hotel on 6th July. From the first day we found the venue, 12 months ago, to the day itself they couldn't have been more professional and helpful. They made us feel like nothing was too much trouble and supported us every step of the way. A far cry from the "corporate" venues you often get, Dovecliff oozes charm and character and you definitely feel that you are getting the personal touch. I cannot praise Laura and Peter enough for ensuring that all went smoothly on the day. For anyone wanting a beautiful, characterful wedding venue with excellent food, attentive service, beautiful rooms and impeccable organisation then Dovecliff is the place for you.
Thank you for making our big day so perfect in every way!!!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lcole10644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Fantastic hotel, very clean, helpful staff and good food. We had a spacious ground floor room which had it's own little terrace overlooking the river. Only minor point was that the drinks at the bar were a little on the pricey side,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjs6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was my first visit to Dovecliff for a meal with colleagues and it was really outstanding. The setting is stunning and the hotel very old and beautiful.

Everyone thoroughly enjoyed all 3 courses and the service was excellent. We were able to have drinks on the terrace as it was a lovely evening.

Warm potato and chorizo starter was good, followed by a tender lemon chicken breast and finished off with a highly recommended bread and butter pudding with Cointreau.

A few members of the party had the milk fed rabbit and said it was outstanding.

A truly memorable occasion definitely requiring a return visit!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cintsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Held our wedding here on the 28th June 2013 an absolutely wonderful place,we had a perfect day the staff are really fantastic and couldn't do enough for us the food and rooms were lovely I would have no hesitation in recommending Dovecliff hall hotel .many thanks for a day to remember Mr and Mrs Hallam and family

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakkn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

What a great hotel .After my daughter was let down by a venue booked 18months ago this hotel management, pulled all the stops to help at the very last moment to make this wedding one to be remembered by all.Especially as they had another wedding the following day.The service was second to none excellent. The accommodation was very good a really grand setting with lovely gardens to have the photographs taken. As we where traveling some distance they even made our room available early so as to freshen up and change.The staff very professional and friendly and would highly recommend it for anyone looking for a wedding venue or just accommodation

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4746PeteW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

A lovely hotel, spacious rooms, lovely views and gardens. The food was very good and the staff friendly and very helpful. As the weather was sunny we were able to have drinks in the garden before dinner. It all made for a fantastic stay and an enjoyable family get together.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen500123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton upon Trent
6.3 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
4.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#9 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dovecliff Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dovecliff Hall Hotel

Property: Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Address: Dovecliff Road | Stretton, Burton upon Trent DE13 0DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dovecliff Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dovecliff Hall Country House Hotel is a "hidden gem" nestled in the delightful Staffordshire countryside. Dating back to 1790, this elegant Georgian House has been fully restored to provide a subtle blend of history with modern comfortable hospitality. Set within seven acres of beautiful gardens and adjacent to the River Dove, Dovecliff Hall is the perfect retreat if you are looking to experience peace and tranquility. Our guest rooms have been tastefully decorated and boast views of either the gardens or the River Dove. With emphasis on comfort, elegance and functionality, all rooms have en-suite bathrooms with bath and shower and are equipped with flat screen TVs, telephones, free WIFI access, trouser press and tea & coffee making facilities. Classic English cuisine with a modern French twist can be enjoyed in our beautiful Orangery Restaurant. Only the finest seasonal ingredients are used and wherever possible, our Head Chef uses his local suppliers. Just 10 miles from Lichfield and 13 miles from Derby, we are ideally situated if you are looking to visit Chatsworth House, Lichfield Cathedral, The Peak District, Calke Abbey, Shugborough Hall, Alton Towers or Donnington Park. We look forward to offering you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dovecliff Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing