We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Fantastic hotel, very clean, helpful staff and good food. We had a spacious ground floor room which had it's own little terrace overlooking the river. Only minor point was that the drinks at the bar were a little on the pricey side,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjs6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    106
    52
    30
    14
See reviews for
116
156
3
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, UK
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was my first visit to Dovecliff for a meal with colleagues and it was really outstanding. The setting is stunning and the hotel very old and beautiful.

Everyone thoroughly enjoyed all 3 courses and the service was excellent. We were able to have drinks on the terrace as it was a lovely evening.

Warm potato and chorizo starter was good, followed by a tender lemon chicken breast and finished off with a highly recommended bread and butter pudding with Cointreau.

A few members of the party had the milk fed rabbit and said it was outstanding.

A truly memorable occasion definitely requiring a return visit!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cintsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Held our wedding here on the 28th June 2013 an absolutely wonderful place,we had a perfect day the staff are really fantastic and couldn't do enough for us the food and rooms were lovely I would have no hesitation in recommending Dovecliff hall hotel .many thanks for a day to remember Mr and Mrs Hallam and family

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakkn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2013

What a great hotel .After my daughter was let down by a venue booked 18months ago this hotel management, pulled all the stops to help at the very last moment to make this wedding one to be remembered by all.Especially as they had another wedding the following day.The service was second to none excellent. The accommodation was very good a really grand setting with lovely gardens to have the photographs taken. As we where traveling some distance they even made our room available early so as to freshen up and change.The staff very professional and friendly and would highly recommend it for anyone looking for a wedding venue or just accommodation

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4746PeteW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2013

A lovely hotel, spacious rooms, lovely views and gardens. The food was very good and the staff friendly and very helpful. As the weather was sunny we were able to have drinks in the garden before dinner. It all made for a fantastic stay and an enjoyable family get together.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen500123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Eight of us went for a two day stay at the end of May. As we were between a wedding and retirement
functions we had choices of rooms.
The hotel location is excellent and we had two very quiet days. This suited as due to a funeral.
The communal lounges are quite dated and in need of some re-decorations. The orangery is a really lovely place to have meals.
Breakfasts were really good.
The staff were very attentive and looked after all our needs.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nispson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here for a Thursday night for a wedding at Tutbury Castle nearby. We arrived well before teh usual check in time, but as promised they were ready for us. There were seven of us, three couples and a single. I wasn't expecting much for £54 but was pleasantly supprised. We were in the modern section at the back and had to walk past the back door of the kitchen (not a great start) but the rooms were very good and had French windows that opened out to a garden and view of the river. A quick look around the old part showed a great reception area with lovely staircase and two large, high ceilinged sitting rooms. The main one had all the pictures taken down and looked like it was about to be redecorated. Breakfsat in the Orangary was excellent and the staff helpful. The gardens were large and lovely to sit outside fro tea at 11 before deaparting. Overall - very good and would go back. I see that one traveller has said that the WiFi was very weak. True.

Room Tip: A rear first floor garden room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon_FionaCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton upon Trent
6.3 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
4.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
491 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
309 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Cen...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dovecliff Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dovecliff Hall Hotel

Property: Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Address: Dovecliff Road | Stretton, Burton upon Trent DE13 0DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dovecliff Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dovecliff Hall Country House Hotel is a "hidden gem" nestled in the delightful Staffordshire countryside. Dating back to 1790, this elegant Georgian House has been fully restored to provide a subtle blend of history with modern comfortable hospitality. Set within seven acres of beautiful gardens and adjacent to the River Dove, Dovecliff Hall is the perfect retreat if you are looking to experience peace and tranquility. Our guest rooms have been tastefully decorated and boast views of either the gardens or the River Dove. With emphasis on comfort, elegance and functionality, all rooms have en-suite bathrooms with bath and shower and are equipped with flat screen TVs, telephones, free WIFI access, trouser press and tea & coffee making facilities. Classic English cuisine with a modern French twist can be enjoyed in our beautiful Orangery Restaurant. Only the finest seasonal ingredients are used and wherever possible, our Head Chef uses his local suppliers. Just 10 miles from Lichfield and 13 miles from Derby, we are ideally situated if you are looking to visit Chatsworth House, Lichfield Cathedral, The Peak District, Calke Abbey, Shugborough Hall, Alton Towers or Donnington Park. We look forward to offering you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Dovecliff Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing