We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Eight of us went for a two day stay at the end of May. As we were between a wedding and retirement
functions we had choices of rooms.
The hotel location is excellent and we had two very quiet days. This suited as due to a funeral.
The communal lounges are quite dated and in need of some re-decorations. The orangery is a really lovely place to have meals.
Breakfasts were really good.
The staff were very attentive and looked after all our needs.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nispson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    107
    52
    30
    14
See reviews for
116
156
3
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here for a Thursday night for a wedding at Tutbury Castle nearby. We arrived well before teh usual check in time, but as promised they were ready for us. There were seven of us, three couples and a single. I wasn't expecting much for £54 but was pleasantly supprised. We were in the modern section at the back and had to walk past the back door of the kitchen (not a great start) but the rooms were very good and had French windows that opened out to a garden and view of the river. A quick look around the old part showed a great reception area with lovely staircase and two large, high ceilinged sitting rooms. The main one had all the pictures taken down and looked like it was about to be redecorated. Breakfsat in the Orangary was excellent and the staff helpful. The gardens were large and lovely to sit outside fro tea at 11 before deaparting. Overall - very good and would go back. I see that one traveller has said that the WiFi was very weak. True.

Room Tip: A rear first floor garden room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon_FionaCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our large family took over the hotel for special birthday celebrations for 2 of us. Everything was lovely from arrival to check out. The rooms were spacious and well decorated, the staff couldn't do enough to assist in making the event a great success, any requests were dealt with very speedily, and the evening meal was delicious. A lovely place to stay - thank you so much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davenport-Elliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just spent a weekend at Dovecliff and it was lovely.Large rooms with lovely views. Staff very helpful and accommodating. Special rooms made available for a reception - We booked te whole place out which was great !

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank FinneganDavenport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Highly recommended for afternoon tea. Staff were so welcoming on arrival and made us feel like valued guests. Sandwiches were made from the freshest bread with fillings of cucumber, ham and salmon, followed by scones with jam and cream, lemon cake and chocolate cake which was gorgeous! We finished with delicate pastries - also delicious. The waitress was attentive but not in your face all the time and refilled tea and coffee three times. We sat relaxing in the beautiful conservatory for two hours and felt welcome and unhurried. All staff we came in to contact with we're helpful, polite and professional....a credit to the hotel. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bess I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Where do we begin...

We chose Dovecliff Hall as the venue for our wedding over a year ago, and throughout the build up to our wedding which took place on the 25th May 2013, the staff have been absolutely superb in accommodating all of our requests, perfectly happy to do all that they can to make our day so special.

And special it was. The venue is a perfect setting and equally matched by such fantastic staff. We had a Pre-wedding Dinner on Friday night for 28 guests and the food was second to none, supported by nothing but good comments from all who attended. The bar was set.

On Saturday, the bar was matched, if not raised, by an equally impressive wedding breakfast attended by 87 guests. Food was fantastic, but more importantly, the staff were excellent. Special mention must go to Stacey, our designated wedding coordinator, who was outstanding in her approach to the role, friendly, approachable, exacting, calm, accommodating with an eye for detail matched by her clear experience in organising weddings. Equally, the hog roast in the evening was excellent.

We must also mention Peter who was also excellent in his role, and a reassuring point of contact when Stacey was not available.

As far as accommodation goes, we occupied all of the rooms, and our guests were equally impressed by the high standards both in terms of the accommodation, food and staff. Breakfast was simply delicious and set you up for the day ahead in quiet elegance.

I must add in response to the below post that on returning to the hotel at half eleven in the evening, the staff were more than happy to make us a sandwich which was efficiently delivered to our room. Indeed, we found all staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Yes, we would agree that staff appear to be being spread across a number of roles at quiet periods, but this never seemed to be a problem; and with us and our guests occupying the hotel to full capacity, we never experienced any delays in service or assistance.

A five star venue, which we would not hesitate to recommend to others in the future, in particular anyone considering Dovecliff for a wedding venue.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GeorgeAndRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleorton
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

I used to stay in the Dovecliff frequently when working in our Burton office. I have since begun staying in the excellent new Hilton, for the same price.

This is a beautiful old building, full of quaint style and old grandness. But the place is becoming shabby and dirty in general. But worst of all is the service, which is awful. They seem to be culling staff back to the bone, with one poor chap today trying to check out a long queue and also serve the breakfast room! I felt sorry for him, but after 15 mins waiting to place a breakfast order I had to go and complain. Imagine my surprise when he came through himself whilst the queue waited at check-out. Last night I arrived late and asked for food - zero. Kitchen closed, not even a bar snack or soup they could put in a microwave, and was told basically that the hotel doesn't offer anything after 9pm. Tough.

I will endeavour to stay elsewhere when I can't get into the Hilton. This was awful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Finney70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton upon Trent
6.3 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
4.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
497 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
312 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dovecliff Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dovecliff Hall Hotel

Property: Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Address: Dovecliff Road | Stretton, Burton upon Trent DE13 0DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dovecliff Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dovecliff Hall Country House Hotel is a "hidden gem" nestled in the delightful Staffordshire countryside. Dating back to 1790, this elegant Georgian House has been fully restored to provide a subtle blend of history with modern comfortable hospitality. Set within seven acres of beautiful gardens and adjacent to the River Dove, Dovecliff Hall is the perfect retreat if you are looking to experience peace and tranquility. Our guest rooms have been tastefully decorated and boast views of either the gardens or the River Dove. With emphasis on comfort, elegance and functionality, all rooms have en-suite bathrooms with bath and shower and are equipped with flat screen TVs, telephones, free WIFI access, trouser press and tea & coffee making facilities. Classic English cuisine with a modern French twist can be enjoyed in our beautiful Orangery Restaurant. Only the finest seasonal ingredients are used and wherever possible, our Head Chef uses his local suppliers. Just 10 miles from Lichfield and 13 miles from Derby, we are ideally situated if you are looking to visit Chatsworth House, Lichfield Cathedral, The Peak District, Calke Abbey, Shugborough Hall, Alton Towers or Donnington Park. We look forward to offering you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Dovecliff Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing