We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming building in lovely surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Charming building in lovely surroundings”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The building is a beautiful georgean house set in lovely, peaceful surroundings. I was there for business and check in was ok although I was placed in a ground floor room which I had to walk outside to get to! As a female i would have felt much more secure in a second floor room and inside the main building. It seemed odd to me that the males in our party were given rooms inside the building and on the second floor! The room was quite large and clean although a little tired. However, I had to keep the curtains drawn all the time as I was on the ground floor and there were no blinds. When I returned at night I had to punch in a code to open the outside door to the block of rooms which was at the back of the hotel. This was really difficult and being on my own in the dark I felt quite insecure. The next morning there was no heating in the room and no hot water! I rang reception to inform them and was told that the boiler had broken and they would bring me a plug in heater! The room was freezing - it was one of the coldest nights of the year at -5 degrees! Breakfast was ok but the menu is very limited.

Room Tip: My room was on the ground floor and I had to keep the curtains closed all the time as there were no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeloresLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for you comments. I am really sorry that you were booked into one of our ground floor rooms over looking the river Dove but when we received the group booking we were only given surnames and unfortunately not whether the guests staying were male or female. We hope this will not deter you from returning to us in the future and if you call in advance I will ensure that you are given a room on the first floor over looking our spectacular gardens.
We hope to see you again soon.

J Manton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    105
    51
    30
    14
See reviews for
115
154
3
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had our wedding here in September 2012. From the moment we walked in to view the venue on the first occasion, the staff at Dovecliffe Hall made us feel so welcome and it felt like they couldn't do enough for us. Stacey in particular was amazing and went that extra mile to make our day so perfect. She was always on hand if I had any queries and was a fantastic support in the build up to the big day. The venue itself is outstanding, the grounds are beautiful and gave us perfect pictures! The meal was incredible and everyone commented how nice it was. Stacey, Jason and all the staff at Dovecliffe treated us all like royalty on the day and nothing was too much trouble for them. The bedrooms are very nice and comfortable, the bridal suite in particular is very impressive. It was a shame we only stayed one night! The breakfast next morning was lovely and it was nice that it was just us and our guests having breakfast at the same time recollecting over the day before. I cannot compliment Dovecliffe enough and hope to go back on our anniversary! This really is a perfect venue.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad that you and all your family had such a great day and we were so happy to play a huge part in that. We look forward to welcoming you back on your anniversary.

J. Manton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I used to dine here under previous owners and it was a class act.As I needed to stay in the area with my wife recently I decided to stay here and eat in the hotel restaurant.Now I hadn't been here for several years but driving up to the hotel all looked well and it is a truly striking building.Checking in was fine and as we had a dog we where given a ground floor room.The room was a little tired but all ok.We had booked dinner for 7.30 and arrived for a pre dinner drink a little before then.We were seated in a small side room with 10/15 other people and waited forever to get a drink.The fire was unlit(outside temperature below freezing) and atmosphere poor.Drink arrived but despite several requests no menus.Eventually moved to another bar by the conservatory and after further wait found some menus.The problem was soon obvious.2 staff covering bar and restaurant service for 40/50 people.Eventually sat down for dinner at 9pm and have to say food and service then ok.
We were somewhat disappointed that such a super place has detiorated so much over the years.The place is tired and has had no upgrading since the new owners came a few years ago.How you can run a place like this with such few staff is a mystery.If you get a cheap deal it is worth staying but perhaps eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AndrewS186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment on trip advisor. We do find customer feed back useful in our quest to improve standards and service. I apologies if the service was not to our usual high standard however 2 members of staff for the 23 guests that we served that night is normally enough but I will take your comments on board. Just like many small companies in this present economic climate we are only able to maintain and invest in things that are not always noticed by the general public but rest assure the owners have no intention of allowing the building to deteriorate. We hope you will not leave it for another 5 years before we see you again.

J Manton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Attended a family wedding reception and stayed overnight with wedding party so we we had the place to ourselves. This is a lovely country house hotel and furnished in this syle, but its not too big , grand or corporate. Even in January the grounds were very pleasant and there are lovely communal sitting rooms to explore and enjoy.
Our room had french doors which led out to a small lawn with table and chairs and a view down to the river. Nice en suite facilies and ggod sized room with Tv and hospitality tray etc.
The only negatives - a slight drains smell in the bathroom, room too warm overnight, bigger cups needed on hospitality tray . I'm not sure how things would be under 'normal circumstances' but would definately like to visit again sometime.

Room Tip: Our room was located in a side extention which which was a bit of a trek through the main hotel up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahmlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dovecliffhallhotel, General Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We had excellent feedback from everybody saying what a fantastic wedding day it was and what a magnificent day everybody had had. We do pride ourselves for the quality and service that we provide and it is great for the whole team when we are praised for something we are passionate about. My apologies for the drain smell we were only made aware of this from your comment and we have now rectified this. We do hope to see you again soon.

J Manton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We came for a post Christmas night away for some peace and quiet and tranquility and had a lovely time. This really is fabulous hotel, we have stayed here a few times before and were married here in 2010 - a truly memorable day. The staff, as always were extremely attentive and very professional. We had booked an offer which included staying in their main suite which is beautiful with stunning views across the gardens. The champagne and home made chocolates were delicious and both dinner and breakfast the next morning were superb. I would highly recommend this hotel for a quiet weekend away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dovecliffhallhotel, General Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our Lord Burton suite, and having taken advantage of our romantic getaway. We are always happy to welcome back familiar faces and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

J Manton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Great Britain
Level Contributor
576 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Arriving at 1215hrs for a pre-booked seasonal lunch, our party of 10 was seated in a luxurious lounge, and our drinks order was taken and served. Surprisingly our meal orders were not taken for some time, and it was after 1300hrs when we were taken into the large dining room, where two other parties were already enjoying their meals. Our meals were excellent, with tasty, well presented dishes, and the service, although efficient, was thought by some to be a little impersonal.

The dining room lacked any seasonal decorations, a point noted by an earlier reviewer. Everyone enjoyed the meal, despite the slow start, and the Dovecliff Hall Hotel should certainly be on anyone's list looking for a first class meal in an excellent venue, in this area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamRead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for you kind words about your visit to our hotel. I am sorry that you felt that you waited a little longer than usual to be seated on the 19th December but with two other larger parties having lunch that day and the fact that all our dishes are cooked fresh to order, we felt it best that your party was only seated once our hedd chef was ready for you. We are pleased that all your guests enjoyed their food and we hope to see you all again soon.

J Manton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed for just the one night on the run up to Christmas.
Checked in around 6pm with very efficient and friendly staff. The rooms to be honest could do with some upgrading...our door lock was hanging off, but it did work.
We booked dinner in the restaurant that evening and have to say it was superb.
The surroundings are just stunning and we would definitely like to see it again in the summer.
Breakfast was lovely and again lovely friendly staff who just appear when you need them and then disappear.
all in all a very nice place to stay to get away from the madding crowd :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mumatronatwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dovecliffhallhotel, General Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely comments about our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed dinner and breakfast the following morning and we would love to welcome you back soon. We have looked at the lock on the door after your comment and we have now fixed this.
We hope to see you again soon.

J Manton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton upon Trent
6.3 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
4.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
479 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
306 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Cen...
#4 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dovecliff Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dovecliff Hall Hotel

Property: Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Address: Dovecliff Road | Stretton, Burton upon Trent DE13 0DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dovecliff Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dovecliff Hall Country House Hotel is a "hidden gem" nestled in the delightful Staffordshire countryside. Dating back to 1790, this elegant Georgian House has been fully restored to provide a subtle blend of history with modern comfortable hospitality. Set within seven acres of beautiful gardens and adjacent to the River Dove, Dovecliff Hall is the perfect retreat if you are looking to experience peace and tranquility. Our guest rooms have been tastefully decorated and boast views of either the gardens or the River Dove. With emphasis on comfort, elegance and functionality, all rooms have en-suite bathrooms with bath and shower and are equipped with flat screen TVs, telephones, free WIFI access, trouser press and tea & coffee making facilities. Classic English cuisine with a modern French twist can be enjoyed in our beautiful Orangery Restaurant. Only the finest seasonal ingredients are used and wherever possible, our Head Chef uses his local suppliers. Just 10 miles from Lichfield and 13 miles from Derby, we are ideally situated if you are looking to visit Chatsworth House, Lichfield Cathedral, The Peak District, Calke Abbey, Shugborough Hall, Alton Towers or Donnington Park. We look forward to offering you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Dovecliff Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing