We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our wedding Day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Certificate of Excellence
Tutbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“our wedding Day”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

we had our wedding at the The hotel yesterday 2 Nov, we must say we had an amazing time, the hotel is so beautiful set in an excellent location. It is so warm and welcoming. The staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating. The food according to our guests was out of this world. The bridal suite was also very beautiful. I would recommend this venue to all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely comments with regard to your wedding day.
We were all very pleased to be a part of your big day and we are thrilled that all your guests had a good time.

Thanks agian.

J Manton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    105
    51
    30
    14
See reviews for
115
154
3
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Notts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has now become our little secret escape, in fact I don't wish to list everything that's wonderful about it in case everyone starts coming!
Excellent, accommodating, friendly staff. Lovely food. Gorgeous location. Lord Burton suite a must and extremely competitively priced, beautiful countryside views and huge bed to lounge on, not mentioning the sumptuous bathroom!
Stayed 3 times since an initial Groupon offer and have never been disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 010203smile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments about our hotel. We always strive to exceed guest expectations and we are always happy to hear when we have achieved this.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

J Manton
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed overnight with a group of friends and thought the hotel and grounds lovely.
Rooms looked recently refurbished and our 'garden' rooms and upstairs rooms overlooking the river (9&11) were spacious and comfortable. We had a problem with the showers as they changed from the set temperature to burning hot or freezing cold without warning. We reported the problem so hope it will be sorted out. The dining room was pleasant with a nice view of the garden and surrounding countryside and was table was nicely set and waited on by the very helpful Slovakian lady (mentioned in a previous review) who coped extremely well with our large and demanding table at Dinner and the following morning at Breakfast. The Dinner menu was a very reasonable £21.95 but had numerous quite hefty supplements. I felt it would have presented better at a slightly higher price and less supplements. The food was good and portions were quite large. The breakfast, cooked to order, was of a very good standard and generous. Generally the hotel had nice public rooms and appeared to be quiet, very little evidence of staff other than the receptionist and server.
Would recommend this hotel for DB&B break for couples and groups.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glendeyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We have now identified the issue with the hot water and we thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope you will visit us again soon.

J. Manton
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Dovecliff Hall from 9th September 2012. We found the hotel very comfortable, and particularly enjoyed the dining-room overlooking the garden. It was convenient for visiting the area, i.e Lichfield Cathedral and the Peak District.

The staff were very helpful and pleasant. We are particularly grateful to the young lady from Slovakia who welcomed us on our first evening: a quiet Sunday evening when the restaurant was closed. To save us looking for a restaurant in an unknown area in the dark, she organised a small meal in the dining-room and made us feel at home.

The bedroom was a little cramped but the en suite bathroom was modern and very capacious. The food was generally good, and not over priced.

Overall, the hotel represents very good value for money, and we would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and for your kind words towards the staff.
We hope to welcome you again very soon.

J.Manton
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Attended a family wedding here in July 2012 and stayed overnight as part of the booking. The hotel is lovely - full of olde world charm yet bright and airy. The wedding was perfect - the hotel's attention to detail and staff were delightful. My room was in the old part of the hotel and was lovely. Breakfast next morning was delicious and a walk around the gorgeous grounds rounded off a perfect stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The bathrooms in the older rooms are HUGE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jobabe2002nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that the wedding was enjoyed by all. We hope to welcome you back soon.

J.Manton
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Recently we had our wedding here, everything about the Dovecliff is special. The staff are excellent especially Stacey she's a little gem!! very organised and we couldn't have asked for more. The grounds are perfect for photos, we were very lucky with the weather, however the hotel is very beautiful inside and the pictures still would have looked great ! The food they prepared for us was wonderful too.The bridal suite was perfect, looking out towards the gardens, which were well maintained. The bathroom is very spacious and the bath was great !!! Our friends and family stayed over and their rooms where very nice. Breakfast in the morning was perfect, plenty of choice and yet again a very good standard and very friendly service.

All in all a perfect Venue for a wedding and i would definitely recommend this hotel ! Thank you to Stacey and all the other staff for making our day special.

Thanks Donna

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Donna, thank you so much for your kind words about the hotel and all our staff. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your big day and judging by the lovely comments from your guests so did they. We all hope you will come and see us again soon.

J Manton
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We recently had our wedding here and the staff and venue were brilliant. They were organised and helpful and we couldn't have asked for more. The suite rooms are great and I'm told the other rooms were also good. We played quick cricket in the gounds during the afternoon and had the whole hotel to ourselves for a fee.
Breakfast in the morning was good and we had no problem with replenishment as on previous comments.
Minor drawback was the price for drinks but in reality these are the same prices as any other hotel your likely to stay in (Holiday Inn, etc.)
Thouroughly enjoyed the day and a big thank you to Stacey and the Staff of Dovecliff Hall.

Room Tip: Pick a suite for free standing baths, walk in showers and big canopy beds
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton upon Trent
6.3 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
4.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
479 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
306 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Cen...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dovecliff Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dovecliff Hall Hotel

Property: Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Address: Dovecliff Road | Stretton, Burton upon Trent DE13 0DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dovecliff Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dovecliff Hall Country House Hotel is a "hidden gem" nestled in the delightful Staffordshire countryside. Dating back to 1790, this elegant Georgian House has been fully restored to provide a subtle blend of history with modern comfortable hospitality. Set within seven acres of beautiful gardens and adjacent to the River Dove, Dovecliff Hall is the perfect retreat if you are looking to experience peace and tranquility. Our guest rooms have been tastefully decorated and boast views of either the gardens or the River Dove. With emphasis on comfort, elegance and functionality, all rooms have en-suite bathrooms with bath and shower and are equipped with flat screen TVs, telephones, free WIFI access, trouser press and tea & coffee making facilities. Classic English cuisine with a modern French twist can be enjoyed in our beautiful Orangery Restaurant. Only the finest seasonal ingredients are used and wherever possible, our Head Chef uses his local suppliers. Just 10 miles from Lichfield and 13 miles from Derby, we are ideally situated if you are looking to visit Chatsworth House, Lichfield Cathedral, The Peak District, Calke Abbey, Shugborough Hall, Alton Towers or Donnington Park. We look forward to offering you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Dovecliff Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing