We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wedding Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Wedding Venue”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We recently had our wedding here and the staff and venue were brilliant. They were organised and helpful and we couldn't have asked for more. The suite rooms are great and I'm told the other rooms were also good. We played quick cricket in the gounds during the afternoon and had the whole hotel to ourselves for a fee.
Breakfast in the morning was good and we had no problem with replenishment as on previous comments.
Minor drawback was the price for drinks but in reality these are the same prices as any other hotel your likely to stay in (Holiday Inn, etc.)
Thouroughly enjoyed the day and a big thank you to Stacey and the Staff of Dovecliff Hall.

Room Tip: Pick a suite for free standing baths, walk in showers and big canopy beds
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    103
    51
    30
    14
See reviews for
114
151
3
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Recently attended a family wedding at the Dovecliff Hall hotel. It is a fabulous venue for a wedding with plenty of photo opportunities. Our room was very comfortable,(room 2) the bathroom was huge with a massive walk in shower and there were plenty of towels and toiletries. The tea tray was also well stocked.
The wedding went really well, with everything running smoothly and well organised, and the meal was lovely. It made it a perfect day.
However, there was a fair bit of criticism during the evening about the prices charged at the bar and the fact that people were being charges different prices for the same drinks. My brother brought 2 drinks back from the bar, one being a coke and one being a vodka and coke. He couldn't remember which was which, and it was impossible to tell which was which as they both just tasted like coke!
Breakfast the next morning was a disappointment. Having paid £99, which was a concessionary rate, I expected a better selection and better service. There was no fruit of any description, there was a sign to say if you wanted yoghurt you had to go and ask at reception. The orange juice ran out, so a guest had to go to reception to request more. The breakfast items, which consisted of bacon, sausage, scrambled egg, mushrooms and tomatoes ran out so one of our group had to again go to reception and then wait for the items to be replaced. I went to reception to request toast, they brought a basket with 10 half rounds of toast, there were 11 of us on the table.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed at the venue on the 14th Sept having attended a wedding there , Hotel is in a beautiful area close to the river Dove , Room was clean, comfortable bed ,Nice view overlooking the river , The out side of the building could do with some T L C, The grounds were nice but also could do with a good tidy ,
The wedding went off very well the meal was excellent ,service good , The downside to it was the way over the top prices at the bar , the breakfast the following morning was a total let down to us . as we all went down to have breakfast with bride and groom approx 45 persons , one waiter to serve Coffee. Tea Toast etc ,which he did very well , Help oneself Hot breakfast which looked very nice , after a number of persons had got their food more food had to be brought ,out one would have thought it would have been piping hot but it was quite cold and what made things worse the plates were just stacked on the table cold not on a hot plate to keep them warm , Apart from that we enjoyed the stay and would stay again ,

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 which had a nice view we could hear road noise with window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dovecliffhallhotel, Owner at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
I am sorry you felt the need to post a comment on trip advisor as well as writing to us in person.
We do check our bar prices against other hotels in the area and we are no more expensive than any of our competitors. These prices are always going to be a little more expensive than perhaps a local public house due to the cost of the upkeep of 220 year old Georgian building.
With regard to breakfast the following morning there is normally only one waiter working and this has never been questioned before but I will take onboard your feedback for future reference.
Also I think that the noise you could hear from room ten was the running water from the river dove that was below your room as there are no roads behind the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menai Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

What a lovely hotel! Stayed for one night on a special package deal which included dinner.This is a little gem and we will almost certainly stay here again.Everything was more than satisfactory and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarmacWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Just returned from a one night stop over at the Dovecliff Hall Hotel and wanted to add my first ever review. It was wonderful. Got a fabulous Summer deal on the hotel's website which included a 3 course meal, which made it excellent value for money. The room was spacious and the bed so comfortable, we couldn't get over how luxurious the towels were! The food was beautifully presented and the taste didn't disappoint either! We would definately return and have already recommended this lovely country, peaceful hotel to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lymm, cheshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had a lovely night here. The Lord Burton suite was gorgeous - massive bed and very large room with a beautiful large bay window and a fabulous aspect overlooking the gardens. Large bathroom too - couldnt have asked for better and topped off by the fact that we got such a good bed and breakfast rate! Smallish hotel - felt nice and intimate, yet surrounded by lovely grounds and near to the river - lovely areas to walk around nearby. Staff were fantastic and very attentive. Has a very authentic feel as an old country house hotel, with a lovely sweeping creaky staircase, antique furniture and oak panels in places. 2 lovely separate drawing rooms, bar area and nice conservatory restaurant. We had dinner here which was superb - excellent ingredients and beautifully cooked; I could fault it in the slightest and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Lord Burton suite is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

My dad and I attended a wedding in Tutbury and one of the grooms suggested we stay at the DovecliffHall hotel in Stretton. We were welcomed by a very friendly host/receptionist who gave us more info on the area and even printed out various google maps with directions for us to get around. The breakfast was outstanding and the view of the garden and river is magical.

All and all, the stay was wonderful and we would recommend DovecliffHall, for sure. Just note that our room did not have a/c and the shower pressure was a little weak. Room #103.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KeithAdrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton upon Trent
6.3 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
4.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dovecliff Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dovecliff Hall Hotel

Property: Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Address: Dovecliff Road | Stretton, Burton upon Trent DE13 0DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dovecliff Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dovecliff Hall Country House Hotel is a "hidden gem" nestled in the delightful Staffordshire countryside. Dating back to 1790, this elegant Georgian House has been fully restored to provide a subtle blend of history with modern comfortable hospitality. Set within seven acres of beautiful gardens and adjacent to the River Dove, Dovecliff Hall is the perfect retreat if you are looking to experience peace and tranquility. Our guest rooms have been tastefully decorated and boast views of either the gardens or the River Dove. With emphasis on comfort, elegance and functionality, all rooms have en-suite bathrooms with bath and shower and are equipped with flat screen TVs, telephones, free WIFI access, trouser press and tea & coffee making facilities. Classic English cuisine with a modern French twist can be enjoyed in our beautiful Orangery Restaurant. Only the finest seasonal ingredients are used and wherever possible, our Head Chef uses his local suppliers. Just 10 miles from Lichfield and 13 miles from Derby, we are ideally situated if you are looking to visit Chatsworth House, Lichfield Cathedral, The Peak District, Calke Abbey, Shugborough Hall, Alton Towers or Donnington Park. We look forward to offering you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Dovecliff Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing