We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value-Great Surroundings” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dial

The Dial
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Staffs
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Value-Great Surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Really good relaxing meal - Food top notch. Always busy& friendly- Burger could have been a bit bigger though

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Blackbelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    192
    51
    16
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, England
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fab night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

had an amazing meal at the dial last night with work friends. outstanding food as always and super cocktails to follow. great atmosphere and staff were great too. very friendly and helpful. best place in burton by far. thanks for a fab night guys :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kajc34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
144 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Definitely a gem in burton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

What a lovely place, we were just passing through Burton Uppon Trent and really didn't want to have to resort to Wetherspoons for lunch.
What a find, lively attentive staff and excellent service. The fiord was good and the general ambience lovely
Well worth a visit

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jandmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Can't fault this, great food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

I have been to this restaurant quite a few times with girlfriends, but on Saturday went with my husband and friends who were visiting for the first time. I was hoping it wouldn't let me down after I had hyped it up. We had a fantastic night, even though we were the last table at the back of the restaurant probably due to my late booking, to be honest I was surprised to get a table at all. The atmosphere was very lively, the food was delicious and service was attentive. If you haven't tried The Dial you are missing out.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank djw1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Excellent food....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Visited the Dial with work mates, 10 of us went and we had excellent service all evening, the food was really good, The menu has a good choice and there are some great starters, we must have had all of them and then swapped so we could try them all, scallops, fishcakes and belly pork are stunning, main course went for the fillet steak and is probably the best steak I've ever had, side dishes also a good size and everything cooked perfectly, prices are good for the quality of food you get, definately not pub grub and maybe the best you'll find in the area as burton is definately lacking in really good steak restaurants. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_JulieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dial also viewed

Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Dial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing