We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate”
Review of The Dial

The Dial
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Rugeley
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“First rate”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Visited as a group of four on a Friday evening, quite early. 6.45pm. The only slot available! Went with some trepidation as I dislike noisy crowded restaurants. Parking the car in the car park opposite, i was a little annoyed to find that parking fees applied up to 8.00 pm. As we normally dine in Lichfield, where parking fees end at 6.00 pm, this was unexpected, and left us scrabbling to find enough loose change. Although this isn't of course any fault of the restaurant, we approached the front door in not the best frame of mind. We were met and welcomed, led to our table, and made to feel at ease in a matter of moments. The restaurant was very full, but didn't feel crowded, and wasn't excessively noisy. A choce of tapas for the starter was excellent, followed by main courses. I think on reflection, I would have been more than happy just sharing a load of the tapas! The variety available, and the choice of tastes was first rate. The restaurant was very busy, with no sooner a table becoming vacant than another party moving in. We began to wonder, as 9.00 pm approached, whether we would be asked to take our coffee into the bar area, but we weren't, and there was no sense of being hurried to make way for another cover. Some of the dishes, fillet steak, for example, were a little expensive, but well cooked, and perfectly medium rare as requested. Well pleased with the restaurant and will return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    201
    55
    16
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“A lovely evening.”
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Visited The Dial on a Monday evening, so was expecting it to be quite. Even so, the atmosphere was nice and didn't feel deserted.
The food was served in good time and was well worth the price. The staff were nice and talkative, although there were only two of them. The speed of service was reasonable as there were only two, but too long with regard to there being only three tables in.
All in all, a lovely evening and well recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hattreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
““A wonderful meal in a delightful atmosphere”…”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I visited the Dial last Saturday (not for the first time) and had a thoroughly enjoyable evening. The menu selection is varied and there are choices for all palates served by very courteous staff in very pleasant surroundings. The wine choice is just as varied with a good diversity to choose from. We were greeted very professionally as soon as we arrived. We have already booked with friends and I will be celebrating my birthday at the Dial in the coming weeks … well worth a visit if you’re in town … Tim @ BurtonuponTrent

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TiminBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire,UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A popular place you will enjoy”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Nice tasteful venue, convenient town centre location. Quite a plain exterior but what a surprise once inside; a well appointed restaurant. Good choice of dishes to suit all tastes available. Really good service by friendly and attentive staff. The best part, however, was the food itself. Excellent is the only way to describe it. Really pleased we chose to eat there. Will happily go there again if anyone would like to invite me. We were a party of four. There were plenty of other customers including a function. Enough staff on duty to cope easily and maintain the good standard set. Try The Dial and you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank struttybanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Best place in Burton”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

With parents visiting to treat us to lunch, I knew that the Dial would be the perfect venue. We had eaten there once before and been again in an evening and enjoyed some fab cocktails.
The food was absolutely beautiful, with my dad who is a bin foodie saying that the lamb was one of the best he had had in a long time. We all had a starter, the asparagus and potatoe soup was delicious and my veggie main of pea, feta and mint risotto was so good I savoured every mouthful.
Service was excellent and jus the right amount of attentive. For a Tuesday lunchtime it was busy which was a good sign. It is a little more pricey than your usual place in Burton, but it is totally worth it as you get what you pay for.Very enjoyable and the perfect place for an occasion. We will definitely be back :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rainbowbirko87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dial also viewed

Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Dial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing