We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit just for the sub zero!”
Review of The Dial

The Dial
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth a visit just for the sub zero!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We visited for a meal july time and the surroundings and furnishings inside are awesome, theres a real sense of upmarketness when you dine there, the food is presented well and the portion sizes are pretty good, the food is really tastey and theres a good selection on the menu.

The staff there are smartly dressed and are very polite and welcoming, the service is prompt and friendly.

The main reason you should go to this resteraunt is the sub zero pint, it costs roughly £3.50 and is a spectacle to watch, basically they put a glass on this machine which sprays it with ice cold water, and then pours you a pint of lager at freezing temperatures while the glass spins on a disc like platform and you can see an icicle of lager form in the center of your glass, its mesmerizing (or maybe i'm easily amused) but even still the pint is amazing.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neo_Angelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    200
    55
    16
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Somewhere is space & time
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Dial M - for Mmmmmm :o)”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Met up with some mates. Drove about 100 miles to get there - never been to Burton on Trent before.
LOCATION: Easy to find with satnav and there is plenty parking across the road at the massive free Sainsburys carpark.
SERVICE: Fab - nice warm welcoming staff. Service with a smile. :)
FOOD: Very tasty - amazing ! (I had the tuna steak as a main and we shared a joint mix of various starters). The ice-cream was great at the end too !
ATMOSPHERE: It has a nice buzz - "happening" but not loud - we were able to enjoy our meals and wonderful conversation easily !
VALUE FOR MONEY: It worked out about £35 per head with drinks and dessert and starters.
WOULD I GO BACK ? Defo !
WOULD I RECOMMEND IT TO A FRIEND OR FAMILY ? Yes definately !

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank THED0CT0R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“One of the only nice places to eat in the town centre”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

The dial is always a winner for lunch or evening meal. The menu has a good choice and and they do keep the tried and tested favourites on there for us all to continue enjoying. The drinks are slightly more expensive than in other bars but i suppose thats what you pay for decent wine in a nice atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HLL78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxed atmosphere with great food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We've visited here a couple of times in the past and spent a few hours here recently on a cold Saturday afternoon.

The food is lovely and really well presented. The waitress was attentive and professional. A good selection of beers is available. Mainly though, the place has a really relaxed atmosphere, with the seating divided up into smaller areas that feel very cosy and make you want to stay and chill out.

Well worth a visit if you are in Burton.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WouldLikeToBeThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great vibe!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Everything..I go here alot to catchup with my girlfriends..its central...trendy.. the food is always good and very reasonable!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank louise061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dial also viewed

Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Dial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing