We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grumpy Staff Makes Superb Place Just About Average”
Review of The Apple Tree

The Apple Tree
Price range: $1 - $3
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Winner of taste of staffordshire's happiest atmosphere, winner of the uk's best hot chocolate, winner of the uk's highest achieving five cup award bsa. The guardian's top ten best uk coffee shop. Five stars esbc. Open every day for breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea. Cakes and beverages served all day.
Lichfield
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Grumpy Staff Makes Superb Place Just About Average”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

THE APPLE TREE COFFEE SHOP AND DELICATESSEN

Apparently The Apple Tree is "Voted 8th place in the Guardian Top 10 Coffee Shops in the UK"


Visited this place twice recently, once at the very start of the summer holidays (end of July 2012) with my husband (children both at scout camp) we went late one Sunday morning for a brunch. Each visit totally different.


The first visit on arrival it was very busy outside, we would have liked to have sit outside but all tables taken so we ventured inside and were very impressed with the interior - superb. Ordered from the counter by very pleasant, smiley staff. Drinks and food, which could not be faulted, were delivered swiftly to our table, we were so impressed that we make a decision to come back with the children later in the holidays.

The second visit was not so good. I went alone with my two children aged 11 and 13 - we visited early afternoon, around 1pm with the idea of having lunch.

On arrival, we headed straight inside as the weather was no so good - looked at the menu and ordered from the counter. This time I was served by a very grumpy lady who suprisingly had a badge on that indicated she was a manager! (maybe she was very stressed) She took my order, hot sandwiches for the children, a piece of cake for me and drinks etc., the whole transaction was completed without a smile and very few words very different to our first visit which was charming from start to finish.

The food, on arrival, was mixed, no milk or sugar delivered with a pot of tea and when I went to the counter to ask for some, very nicely I might add, I received a very stern look from the "manager", however the young lady standing behind her smiled and arranged for some milk and sugar for me . The children's hot sandwiches (bacon/sausage etc.,) were reported to be okay however the cake was very dry, this was returned and the "manager" prodded it and agreed it was dry and said that it was due to the weather - the cake was replaced with a sort of apology.

Very surprised that two visits to a local eatery can be so different. If I had received the pleasantries on the second visit that we had on the first I would have given this eatery an excellent, despite the lack of milk, sugar and dry cake, which after all was replaced.

SERVICE WITH A SMILE PLEASE - COSTS NOTHING AND WORTH SO VERY MUCH!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Strawberry1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    82
    64
    42
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bolton
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“REALLY SLOW SERVICE AT THE APPLE TREEI”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I would avoid coming here unless you have loads of time on your hands to sit and wait for your order.
We ordered a traditional afternoon tea at 3pm the liquid tea came twenty minutes later there was no signs of anything else coming twenty minutes later the liquid tea had gone stone cold so we asked a waitress where the food was she said it was next to come out of the kitchen we explained the tea was cold so we got a fresh pot of tea,fifteen more minutes passed and we decided to cancel the order as we had an appointment later we did get a full refund but would have preferred the afternoon tea.
The place was quite with plenty of staff so dont know why it took so long?

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharmdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrGHowes, Owner at The Apple Tree, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your time to review The Apple Tree, and thank you for your comment. We are aware that your experience in question was on 31st August, and you visited The Apple Tree with the reviewer above. We would like to take this opportunity to clarify with you that our menu states that for afternoon tea, we advise reservations are made. This is to ensure that all our freshly made food is ready on your arrival. However, we are happy to accommodate, but naturally, this would incur a wait for your food to be prepared and made. Our staff were busy preparing your food, and baking fresh scones especially for you. Naturally you were informed at the time of your order that this would be made for you, and you were also given complimentary additional tea for your wait. We are sorry that we could not meet with your expectations on your last visit, but hope you can understand the logistics and ethics of The Apple Tree.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Lovely Coffee”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Was visiting the marinas shops etc. Sat outside here and had our elevenses which was coffee and toast. Not pricey at all considering its one of the top 10 coffee shops in uk. Had a great menu

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank adyval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrGHowes, Owner at The Apple Tree, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your time to review The Apple Tree, and thank you for your comment. We are always delighted to hear great comments, and we strive to make all our customers happy. We are very pleased that you like our menu and that you noticed we keep our prices realistic. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfectly fine”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Found on the waterfront at Barton Marina, very clean, comfortable with exceptionally welcoming and happy staff (visited mid morning on a bank hol and did not find any problems with the service or speed of food delivery) only slight down side is that they dont do a wider range of breakfast menu, my husband had bacon on ciabatta but would have preffered soft white bread ( perhaps we should have asked if this was available) the cake selection looked divine and i was sorely tempted by them all!! Well worth a visit. (background music was a little too loud!!)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrGHowes, Owner at The Apple Tree, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your time to review The Apple Tree, and thank you for your comments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit, and for commenting on the hospitality of our staff. It is always a delight to be recognised for the teams hard work. We have now introduced our new seasons menu, with a wider selection of breakfast options, and we are always happy to accommodate any requests. We now primarily play soft piano music for a tranquil atmosphere. Thank you for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lichfield
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“favourite place”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Lovely walks around the lakes watching the bird life, although our main reason for visiting so regularly is the fantastic Apple Tree Coffee Shop. Coffee second to none and a clean, comfortable place to relax. Even when really busy, the first class management are always friendly and welcoming. We've been regulars for many years and, (unlike so many places!), standards never slip.

Helpful?
1 Thank gary f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Apple Tree also viewed

Barton under Needwood, Burton upon Trent
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Barton under Needwood, Burton upon Trent
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Apple Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing