We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired Accommodation and Uninterested Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wychnor Park Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
Mablethorpe, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Tired Accommodation and Uninterested Staff”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I booked two two bedroom units for my family consisting of myself, my wife , two adult children, son in law and 3 year old grandchild. I was called a few days before the start of the stay to confirm the details and I was told that we had been allocated two units next to each other, which was ideal, that there were no stairs in either unit (so we would not need a stair-gate) and that Wi-Fi was available in every unit.
When we checked in we found that although the two units were numerically adjacent there was another unit and a flight of stairs between them. One unit had a full steep flight of stairs and the other had two half flights. We also found that the Wi-Fi did not work in either unit, we could not even find the wired connection mentioned in the unit manual.Worse was to follow, my wife had a shower and flooded the bathroom because the shower enclosure was faulty. We told the reception staff about both of these problems but nothing was done for the duration of our stay meaning that I could not shower for a week and I was not able to receive important E-mails.
We also found that any food stored in the cupboards went mouldy within hours and our grandchild came down with a very wheezy chest which could have been caused by mould spores in the air.
The rooms were not cleaned during our stay despite the manual saying that they would be cleaned three times during the week.
Defiantly a resort to avoid.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Guest Relations Manager at Wychnor Park Country Club, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We are deeply sorry and disappointed to read about your discontent following your recent stay. It is a part of our ethos to ensure that all our guests enjoy their stay and the excellent standard of our resorts and we regret that on this occasion this appears not to have been the case. We were advised that you liaised directly with the resort manager following your departure and that they have expressed their concern and apologies with regards to the issues you encountered and have also offered you a token gesture. We would like to take this opportunity to assure you that the accommodation you were staying at is used regularly and there have never been any food or health related issues reported to us in connection a stay. Nevertheless, we are of course very sorry to read about your dissatisfaction. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations. We sincerely appreciate your custom and wish you the best on all your future travels.

Kind regards
Customer Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    135
    40
    16
    13
See reviews for
174
149
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

After a long drive we received a very warm welcome and very easy check in. We had been allocated a recently refurbished 2 bedroomed apartment in the old coach house. It was immaculate and had everything you could possible need. I could quite easily have lived there. All the staff we came across were friendly and helpful. Gary did a great job entertaining 2 15 year old boys and the onsite amenities of a leisure centre, tennis and crazy golf (all free), were used quite a bit. As was the 9 hole golf course for a nominal charge. The grounds were beautifully kept and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

There isn't anything about our holiday here that I didn't enjoy. We had a two bedroom log cabin, everything we needed, view from our raised decking area was stunning looking over countryside with not a pylon in view. We went with friends who have been there before but stayed in main house, on first morning was asked by reception if we had everything we needed, our friends said almost jokingly it would be nice to have some hooks in hallway to hang our coats, we came back from our day out and lo and behold 'hooks' I was very impressed. Dishwasher in kitchen but only 6 mugs which meant we were continually washing up mugs as dishwasher not full, so more mugs very quickly appeared when this was mentioned, such good customer service. Beds very comfortable and bathrooms spotless with maid service nearly every day, my only gripe was it was a particularly hot week and no Air Con which we weren't expecting but some fans would have been nice. We had a couple of bar meals which were nice and reasonably priced and one restaurant meal which was lovely with very good waitress service. The entertainments man, I think his name is Steve was brilliant and as far as I saw lovely with the children, we attended 2 quiz nights and a race night all of which were great fun. I have no hesitation in recommending Wychnor Park Country club to people of all ages.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Wychnor Park Country Club, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for this lovely review! We’re really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Wychnor Park, and that our team were able to provide you with all the assistance you needed while you were here. We’re delighted that you would recommend the resort to others, and we hope you’ll choose to return here for another visit – we’d love to see you again!

Louisa Herrero
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester UK
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here in March. I really liked the actual hotel and spa but it was a pain to get to (only one way in off a busy dual carriageway) and there's not much to do in the area (but that's just my opinion!). We stayed in one of the lovely apartments and spent a lot of time in the pool and jacuzzi which was great. The apartment was very nicely decorated with a well equipped kitchen. We ate in the hotel twice and the food was very good. We had a great time doing the music quiz with Gary (mainly because we won!) and even stayed around for the horse racing. I think we were the youngest couple there (late 30s) but everyone was very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BagpussBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just had a weekend here. The whole place needs to focus on customer service. Breakfast this morning was interesting, I twice had to send back my toast due to it having mould on. Evening menu was good however a focus on a summer version of the menus would be excellent update. This place has a lot of potential. It just needs to update itself in terms of customer service and what customers expect. The countryside is beautiful in the area and ideal for walks, cycling and running. Quiet roads, lots of farms and woodland. Not sure I would go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Wychnor Park Country Club, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Wychnor Park. Your comments regarding Customer Service are of genuine interest to us as hospitality and customer focus is one of our main priorities. It is with regret that this doesn’t appear to have been delivered to you and your guests on this occasion and we will of course address this with the restaurant team.


Louisa Herrero
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We had an apartment in the main house which was nice. The decor was in-keeping with the traditional house. The only gripes about the room were lack of free Wifi, the antique hair dryer and fire exit door in the bathroom opening out onto the main stair which didn't give a feeling of privacy. We ate a few times and the food was good though you have to wait an age for breakfast! The staff were all friendly and pleasant. Gary the entertainment specialist was great and kept us and our son amused all during our stay. I had a slightly negative experience with a member of the leisure staff who was being a jobsworth but didn't let that taint our stay. Very handy for Uttoexter Races and Alton Towers. Overall the hotel is lovely with very good facilities and entertainment. We hope to come back again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Wychnor Park Country Club, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We are pleased that you had a relaxing stay here with us, although we regret to read about some of the shortcoming you came across in your accommodation. We will of course look into this - thank you - however, we would like to take this opportunity to advise that we are in the process of refurbishment and the issues mentioned by you should be addressed very soon. We hope that you will take advantage of our convenient location again in the future and we look to seeing you coming back with another visit!

Louisa Herrero
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We spent the weekend in Coach House 5, St Leonard's, at Wychnor Park Country Club. The coach houses have just been refurbished and are of a very high standard.

Really, though, no wifi unless you pay for it, or use the PC behind reception. Diamond Resorts wake up, please. This, too, needs 'refurbishing'!!

We ate in the restaurant on Saturday evening. Here, the décor is odd - nothing seems to 'go together' - a little like the food, which was OK, but the sweet potato mash did not work at all well with the swordfish.

Room Tip: If you ask nicely, you can get a free 20 mins email time on the foyer PC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malaita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Wychnor Park Country Club, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We’re pleased you enjoyed your stay at Wychnor Park and that your accommodation in the Coach House was to your satisfaction. We hope guests can appreciate that there is a cost to install and operate wifi and this has not been built into the overall cost of the accommodation which our guests pay for. Like many hotels there is a small charge for the use of wifi for those who wish to use it.
Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience in the restaurant which we have duly noted and will take into consideration.

We hope that you choose to return to Wychnor park again soon.

Louisa Herrero
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton under Needwood
4.1 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
4.8 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
497 reviews
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound
Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
420 reviews
7.0 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
340 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wychnor Park Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wychnor Park Country Club

Property: Wychnor Park Country Club
Address: Wychnor Hall | Nr Barton Under Needwood, Barton under Needwood, Burton upon Trent DE13 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent > Barton under Needwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Barton under Needwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wychnor Park Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling in the UK, you will want to stay in a place that represents the brilliance of this majestic and historic area. You will have never seen or experienced anything like Wychnor Park Country Club. By staying here, you are ensuring that you and your family will be having the holiday experience of a lifetime.Wychnor Park Country Club dates back all the way to the period of Queen Anne. You will find yourself among 55 acres of some of the most stunning estate grounds and take in some of the most breathtaking, panoramic views. The Great Hall, housed here, symbolizes an age of gracious living.At Wychnor Park Country Club, you will find plenty to do before even heading off the grounds to explore. We have a golf course that brings in enthusiasts from around the world. You may also want to enjoy the heated indoor swimming pool. Either the golf course or the pool area is a great place to spend time with family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wychnor Park Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wychnor Park Country Club Hotel Barton Under Needwood
Wychnor Park Country Club UK/Barton Under Needwood, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing