We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wychnor Park Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my mum dad and brother on a short break.

Very beautiful grounds leading to the main building

The rooms are huge and are very well kept. Only thing that I didn't like were the squeaky floorboards.

Would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 806ChrisE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 483 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed in number 29, our friends in 28, both of us had fantastic accommodation. Beautifully furnished and very clean. The Staff are all so very friendly and very helpful. The grounds are well maintained and beautiful. Everything about Wychnor is relaxing. Top marks to every member of staff.
Karen, Graham and Beth

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 30karen30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Wychnor Park Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words! We are happy we have contributed to you having a lovely stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Louisa Herrero
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed for a week at this resort. Staff great, food great, entertainment great, surroundings great. The only downside was the property was a little tired and could have done with some TLC. But to be honest a great place to go for a relaxing time.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Prior to my stay on the night of 18 Feb 2013, I had to arrange one gift package to one of the Courtyard residences, and one to one of the wonderful log cabins situated on site. This entailed two different locations, two different dates, and a complete veil of secrecy! The marvellous staff on reception dealt calmly and professionally throughout the whole procedure, and the surprises remained just that, a surprise!
The quality of the gift packages were of an exceptionally high standard, and excellent value for money, and fresh fruit was exactly that, fresh! A flower arrangement for a birthday present was beautifully presented, and aroused much interest, and compliment, infact, it was well worth travelling to Wychnor just for quality alone ...
But the compliments for staff and their services, and attitude to their post do not stop. For every member of staff that my father and I encountered was a praiseworthy subject, (from the groundsman up). And, although the Hall and Grounds were awe inspiring, for me personally, it was the quality, and warm open hospitality of the friendly staff that made this stay so special. I hope to return very soon!

Room Tip: Just simply state requirements! Staff will oblige wherever possible! They can not read minds, so the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Wychnor Park Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

We are exceptionally pleased to read that you had such a good experience here at Wychnor Park Country Club and enjoyed the standard of service and accommodation we offer.
It is important to us to know we have contributed to making your stay even more special and memorable. We hope to have another opportunity to be of service to you soon!

Louisa Herrero
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Visited the restaurant for the first time for Mothers Day as a group of 6. From arrival to departure the service was excellent. Despite it being very busy the food that we ordered, and there were a combination dishes I assure you, all arrived promptly, we'll presented and were exceedingly tasty. I believe the restaurant was taken over by new management in the last twelve months and I can only say it was very good, so ignore the negative reviews on here and go try it yourselves, I am sure you will enjoy.
Oh and as a bonus the setting of Wychnor Park is lovely too!

Room Tip: Only users the restaurant so unable to rate / comment on the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 30tcman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed at Wychnor Park with family and friends for four nights. Our party totalled 5 so we chose the Courtyard accommodation, which we found to be very spacious and had everything we needed. The only complaint was the size of the en suite bathroom which was very small and had to be careful not to burn ourselves on the radiator! Enjoyed the entertainment in the bar with Gary, who had a very good voice. We joined in the quiz one evening which was great fun! We ate in the bar on a couple of occasions, but unfortunately had a long wait for our meal one of those evenings as there was a large party in the restaurant and it was obvious the kitchen couldn't cope with the numbers. However the staff were very apologetic and we were given some free drinks and a complimentary dessert. Enjoyed a meal in the restaurant, which we thought was reasonably priced and had a choice for one of the vegetarians in our party. Used this resort as a base to go to Lichfield, Burton on Trent, Barton Marina, and the National Memorial Arburetum.

Room Tip: Courtyard 3 bedded unit (Jackdaw) - quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Wychnor Park Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your review.
We are pleased to read that you have found everything you needed during your stay in your apartment and made the most of our location. We regret to read there appear to have been some issues with your meal at the restaurant; however we are happy that it appears not to have marred your stay. We hope to see you again in the future!

Louisa Herrero
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed in a one bed log cabin, and it was lovely, all the cabins face south and are perched on the edge of the hill giving stunning views of the surrounding countryside. On arrival I commented to my husband that the sofa looked a little tired, but you can't always have new sofas, strangely the next day 2 new sofas were delivered.

The grounds are lovely and I'm sure would look stunning in summer when fully planted up, being surrounded by open countryside there's plenty of walks, so no need to take the car anywhere.

We ate in the restaurant on our last night, £12.95 for 3 courses or £10.95 for two. Excellent value for money and a great selection, the meals were delicious and the staff very helpful. We were surprised the place wasn't full.

Room Tip: There are rooms in the house, the coachhouse, in the courtyard and in log cabins. The courtyard acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton under Needwood
4.1 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
9 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
5.3 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
1,085 reviews
4.8 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
522 reviews
5.4 mi away
Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wychnor Park Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wychnor Park Country Club

Address: Wychnor Hall Wychnor Park | Nr Barton Under Needwood, Barton under Needwood, Burton upon Trent DE13 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent > Barton under Needwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Barton under Needwood
Price Range: $115 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wychnor Park Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling in the UK, you will want to stay in a place that represents the brilliance of this majestic and historic area. You will have never seen or experienced anything like Wychnor Park Country Club. By staying here, you are ensuring that you and your family will be having the holiday experience of a lifetime.Wychnor Park Country Club dates back all the way to the period of Queen Anne. You will find yourself among 55 acres of some of the most stunning estate grounds and take in some of the most breathtaking, panoramic views. The Great Hall, housed here, symbolizes an age of gracious living.At Wychnor Park Country Club, you will find plenty to do before even heading off the grounds to explore. We have a golf course that brings in enthusiasts from around the world. You may also want to enjoy the heated indoor swimming pool. Either the golf course or the pool area is a great place to spend time with family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wychnor Park Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wychnor Park Country Club Hotel Barton Under Needwood
Wychnor Park Country Club UK/Barton Under Needwood, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing