We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great places for a relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wychnor Park Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed in a one bed log cabin, and it was lovely, all the cabins face south and are perched on the edge of the hill giving stunning views of the surrounding countryside. On arrival I commented to my husband that the sofa looked a little tired, but you can't always have new sofas, strangely the next day 2 new sofas were delivered.

The grounds are lovely and I'm sure would look stunning in summer when fully planted up, being surrounded by open countryside there's plenty of walks, so no need to take the car anywhere.

We ate in the restaurant on our last night, £12.95 for 3 courses or £10.95 for two. Excellent value for money and a great selection, the meals were delicious and the staff very helpful. We were surprised the place wasn't full.

Room Tip: There are rooms in the house, the coachhouse, in the courtyard and in log cabins. The courtyard acc...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
There are newer reviews for Wychnor Park Country Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 461 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Went for a swim and a sauna on the way back from Twycross Zoo. 3 Courses 12.95. Good menu and all tasted great. Kids meal was good too! Might go for Mother's Day! Seeing as its Mothers Day I might take my golf clubs and have 9 holes!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevecass100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately I had only booked this as a pit stop during a business road trip through booking.com. I will most definitely be going back to explore further. It was delightful. A little tired in places and the soft furnishings could do with a squirt of febreeze, but all is forgiven as the accommodation, setting and views more than made up for it. I wasn't around long enough to try the food, bar or spa/ gym facilities.

I was in room 1 Wolyse with 2 bathrooms, living/dining room, fully eqipped kitchen, 2 TVs and the biggest bedroom I think I've ever stayed in. I felt properly spoilt......and all for £66.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Wychnor Park Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

We are delighted to read your review - thank you for your words of appreciation! We sincerely hope that you will be coming back and we are looking forward to your next visit!

Louisa Herrero
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Booking was easy, finding it was easy, the price was fab, the place was beautiful, the staff couldn't have been nicer, the log cabin was stocked with everything you could possibly need and was cleaned to within an inch of it's life. Travel cot was delivered to the cabin, put up and a bundle of blankets and sheets supplied (unheard of everywhere else!). A kitchen pack, bathroom pack and towels meant all we had to bring was clothes and a bag of shopping. They even had plastic bowels and tiny cutlery for little ones. Beautiful grounds, fab little leisure centre and a wonderful weekend was had by all. Our party was two mums and our three kids aged 7, 6 and 2.
Highly recommend the place!
A home from home - wanted to stay longer!

Room Tip: Any of the log cabins are fab. Parking nearby, great views and quiet. Room 16 had a lovely decked te...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillsytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed here in November 2012. It was an ideal location for our trip to the National Memorial Arboretum. It is a lovely venue. We had stayed here previously about 10 years ago, as we are diamond resort members. Everything is still just as nice as ever. I would recommend it as an ideal base for anyone wanting to visit the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol1959_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Wychnor Park Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

We’re really pleased to read that your recent stay at Wychnor Park lived up to your previous experience here! We hope that you’ll choose to come back here for another stay, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards
Louisa Herrero
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Love this resort and the staff are amazing, especially Julie Simpson and Amy Simpson who where lovely to me and my Partner and went out of their way to make our stay wonderful.

The food was amazing and the surroundings are great.

Love Wychnor.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owengriffiths09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Wychnor Park Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

We’re delighted that you had a great time at Wychnor Park – thank you for your review! We hold our staff to a very high standard of service, and we’re really pleased that our team helped to make your stay here a memorable and enjoyable one.

We hope to see you again!

Kind regards
Louisa Herrero
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We made a booking for January for a 2 night weekend stay

Snow had started to fall quite heavily where we live that morning and so I phoned the hotel shortly before 9am,

We were told by the reception staff that the access to the hotel was already "dodgy".
When I contacted booking.com they spoke to the manager who had said access to the hotel was fine.

We were bemused therefore when at 12 pm we received a call from the hotel who said she was ringing as she was concerned that if we got lost, we would get ourselves into trouble.
We were also told at this point that a guest that had arrived fairly shaken up by the last mile and a half up the country lane to the hotel; and that they had vowed they would not be attempting to go anywhere again that weekend.

When I asked whether it was safe - she informed us it was basically our decision whether we wanted to "risk it", but that the staff had taken the decision that none of them would be attempting to leave the premises..

Given the fact there was 2 more days of snow forecast which would have made our exit compromised, even if we could have got there, and the fact we have a 1 year old we decided not to risk injury to ourselves or damage to our vehicle.
When I asked about any sort of refund or re-arranging the weekend I was told this would not be possible.

I am astonished that given the general opinion seemed to be that the road leading up to the hotel was not particularly safe to travel on, that no compromise offer was made to us.

This, if nothing else is short minded since they would be missing out on the chance of us re-booking and the money we would be spending in the bar and on meals along with that.

I understand they have a business to run, but they were not willing to even meet me half way - under these exceptional circumstances.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank covjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Wychnor Park Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

We would like to take this opportunity and advise that although we fully sympathise with you, cancellations made 24h from arrival date are non-refundable. It is necessary for us to note that our cancellation policy is fully explained upon booking and we are sorry if these terms do not meet your approval.
Often when unfavourable weather conditions appear, some of our team members decide to stay overnight at the resort in order to avoid any delays whilst coming back to work the following morning. It is important to note that the resort has been accessible throughout the weekend and our guests were checking in and out throughout that time. Our guests’ safety and comfort are our priorities and we will always attempt to limit any inconvenience that they could come across to the absolute minimum, however, we hope you can appreciate that regardless of the weather conditions we are not able to advise guests whether it is safe to take the journey to the resort as there are multiple factors which need to be considered whilst undertaking any journey and we are not in a position to advise guests either way, unless the resort is not accessible at all, which has so far not been the case this winter. We trust this has been fully addressed by our Customer Service team, nevertheless we regret if you remain dissatisfied with the outcome of this issue. We wish you all the best for your future travels.

Kind regards
Louisa Herrero
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton under Needwood
4.1 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
9.8 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
1,678 reviews
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound
Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
505 reviews
8.9 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
424 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wychnor Park Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wychnor Park Country Club

Address: Wychnor Hall | Nr Barton Under Needwood, Barton under Needwood, Burton upon Trent DE13 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent > Barton under Needwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Barton under Needwood
Price Range: $85 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wychnor Park Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling in the UK, you will want to stay in a place that represents the brilliance of this majestic and historic area. You will have never seen or experienced anything like Wychnor Park Country Club. By staying here, you are ensuring that you and your family will be having the holiday experience of a lifetime.Wychnor Park Country Club dates back all the way to the period of Queen Anne. You will find yourself among 55 acres of some of the most stunning estate grounds and take in some of the most breathtaking, panoramic views. The Great Hall, housed here, symbolizes an age of gracious living.At Wychnor Park Country Club, you will find plenty to do before even heading off the grounds to explore. We have a golf course that brings in enthusiasts from around the world. You may also want to enjoy the heated indoor swimming pool. Either the golf course or the pool area is a great place to spend time with family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wychnor Park Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wychnor Park Country Club Hotel Barton Under Needwood
Wychnor Park Country Club UK/Barton Under Needwood, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing