We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place to stay”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Alton, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
katyhutt2...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed November 13, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a beautiful and cosy cottage! Really nicely decorated and very well equipped with everything we needed. Was very clean and comfortable and had some very useful info and maps of walks in local area. Lovely touch that we were greeted by a bottle of wine, biscuits and some bread when we arrived. Really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it for a group of friends or families.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardingP...
1 review
“Brilliant and lovely”
Reviewed October 29, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Haven't even finished my stay yet but I have to say how lovely the house is in every aspect and how brilliant your housekeepers have been letting us in when we have locked ourselves out!! how embarrassing!! You've been great and once again I'm sorry

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesca...
1 review
“Picturesque cottage”
Reviewed October 11, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The cottage was a great size for just the four of us, it had everything we needed and was only a short drive to Alton towers. The village was lovely and quiet and it was easy to find. Just to warn others the drive to load and unload is very steep and I scratched the bottom of my bumper when we first arrived, which I wasn't happy about. I would advise leaving it on the road opposite and loading up there, unless you are driving a 4x4. Other than that it was perfect. Defiantly returning to do more exploring.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: How large the rooms actually were
Liked least: The drive
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garethjb7...
Beccles, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb Peak District location”
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was our first holiday home experience, we received such a warming welcome from the moment of booking to arriving at Ash House. The owner was contactable & replied promptly advising us with everything we needed to know about the House,location,area etc.
A lovely welcome pack was a great surprise on arrival.
The location of Ash House is superb for visiting Alton Towers just being a 5min car journey away. So many places to visit nearby over the Peak District.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2016
We are absolutely over the moon that Ash House proved to be such a great venue for your first cottage holiday! We will be sure to pass your lovely comments along to the owner and hope that you return to enjoy the property and the surroundings again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanthornt...
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage in Alton”
Reviewed February 9, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here on the 5th Feb for 2 nights for my boyfriends birthday with some of his family. The cottage is absolutely beautiful and you immediately feel at home. The place was absolutely spotless and the housekeeper had even left us a little treat of red wine and a packet of lovely biscuits. The cottage in in the middle of Alton, there are lovely pubs close by serving great food. The closest pub The Bulls Head has recently closed down. Everyone in the village were very friendly and happy to point us in the right direction as we didn't really know the area. We visited Ashbourne on Saturday and also The Heights of Abraham which were close by and I would recommend. The cottage had plently of plates, glasses and cutlery if needed. There were 6 of us staying at the cottage, there are 6 double beds, and 2 singles. One thing to mention is one of the bedrooms (the loft) you have to walk through the second bedroom to get to it so may accidently wake people up during the night of you need to go the bathroom. This wasn't really a problem for us. I would definitely recommend this cottage to others and thank you so much to the housekeeper and owner for making our weekend :)

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 11, 2016
Thank you ever so much for sharing your holiday experience with us all, we are over the moon that you enjoyed your break. It sounds like you were quite taken with the look of Ash House, which is wonderful, and it is great that you felt so instantly at home! We are so pleased that your boyfriends birthday celebration was a success! We certainly hope that you make a return visit very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jules M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely house, great location for Alton Towers.”
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

"We have had a wonderful stay in Ash House. So cozy, very well equipped and our three boys (aged 7, 5, 2) loved the attic bedroom and huge bath tub! We look forward to returning in the near future. Thank you also for the lovely welcome."

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House is immaculate and well equipped
Liked least: Situated on a busy road
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing