We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 Stars!”
Review of The Warren B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Warren B&B
Ranked #1 of 10 Alton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“6 Stars!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Warren was an absolute delight . The room was large and modern with a spacious bathroom and a separate entrance hall. Our hosts Alison and John could not have been more helpful during our stay. The breakfast were excellent and the view from the breakfast room across the adjacent valley was worth the trip. With some excellent pubs just down the road you would be hard pressed to find a better B&B to stay in. I have paid a lot more for a lot less in B&Bs in the past and would happily give The Warren 6 stars if it were possible.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossco90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison M, Owner at The Warren B&B, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
119
104
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Can only give this B&B the highest recommendation! We turned up on a Sunday night unannounced and it was no trouble at all for a room to be made up for us. Plied with tea and biscuits whilst the room prepared in the lovely breakfast room with great views over the gardens and countryside. The room itself was ideal, great size, comfy bed and wonderful modern ensuite, and with its own separate entrance you didn't feel you were disturbing anyone when going in and out. The breakfast the next morning was delicious and the service all round was absolutely brilliant. Ideal for anyone wanting alton towers as its only a 5 min drive! Would definately stay again if we were down that way

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meggleton87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison M, Owner at The Warren B&B, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
It was no trouble at all to sort a room out for you and I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have stayed in a lot of B&Bs in the UK, but this is definitely something special. The views from the breakfast room are lovely, as are the grounds. The rooms are great, especially with there own front door. Breakfast was really lovely,& cooked well with lots of choice. The little treats in the room are nice, the little chocolates etc. Also it was really nice to see both of the owners in and around the B&B, where in the past we've only seen either the husband or wife do the welcome/breakfast, but here they were both visable. The location to alton towers in great literally 5mins. There's nothing really In the villiage of Alton,& I would suggest you drive there if going for dinner, as it's quite a dangerous walk at night, as there's no foot path. I would recommend going to the royal oak for dinner, it's 15mins away.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank constant-traveller28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison M, Owner at The Warren B&B, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
217 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

we stayed 3 nites in sept when we arrived alison the owner had done us a afternoon tea as she knew we had had a long drive and it was also my birthday treat which was lovely of her the twin room we had was so clean and a pleasure to stay in little treats in the fridge lots of tea coffee hot choc and fresh milk in the fridge replaced everyday very comfortable beds nice shower nice idea having a selection of dvds that u can watch in ur room as we did breakfasts were lovelt and nice choice of hot of cold food beautiful boews from the breakfast room alisons children have set up their own little uck shop with choc crisp drinks and even lovely homemade cakes just perfect if u want a snack lovely gardens even a bbq if u want to use it they told us about a few restaurants/pubs which were spot on hubby and kids were friendly and helpful def go back again couldnt fault it

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trotterbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison M, Owner at The Warren B&B, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
It was such a pleasure to have you staying with us and I'm glad you chose here to celebrate ( even though it was belated) an important birthday!! We look forward to you visiting again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed Saturday night before heading to Alton Towers Sunday. We arrived at 3pm an hour earlier than we specified which wasnt a problem as our room was ready and was spotless with a modern bathroom. The room had it's own door for added privacy and ample space for parking. We were made to feel welcome and the service was faultless and very friendly. The breakfast was second to none and the views form the breakfast table were brilliant. The only downside was the location which was a five minute walk from Alton centre which was okay apart from the lack of footpaths.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard2749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison M, Owner at The Warren B&B, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Having pavements would be great but I'm not sure I can convince the council to make the road any more narrow!! I look forward to welcoming you to The Warren again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed two nights, 6th and 7th September and our two sons and partners stayed the second night. Alison and her family were the perfect hosts and were even prepared to accept more family members due to their booked B & B having problems. Nothing was too hard in fact it was a "yes we can" attitude that amazed us. The food was excellent, the bedrooms were as previously described on the many review. The views across the valley are truly impressive. We thank you for making our stay enjoyable and if in the area and in need of B&B we will have no hesitation in booking The Warren.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison M, Owner at The Warren B&B, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family to The Warren. As always we try to help in any way we can to make your stay a good one. It's really important to us that our guests enjoy their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend as part of a trip to Alton Towers. I honestly can not fault The Warren in anyway, clean rooms, lovely cooked breakfast, genuinely nice hosting and all within 5 minutes of the nearest pubs, shops and Alton Towers itself.
Whilst we were at Alton the (new) owner, Alison, noticed it was my boyfriends birthday (due to wrapping paper and champagne) and left a card and present!
We stayed in for food the second night and managed to find a take way that delivered to The Warren, despite it being late Alison soon sorted us with everything we needed.
Brilliant place to stay and i highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NDobson3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison M, Owner at The Warren B&B, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. birthdays are special so I'm glad to have contributed to a lovely stay. I look forward to welcoming you to The Warren again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.8 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
13.1 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Best Western Stoke East
Best Western Stoke East
#6 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
373 reviews
1.2 mi away
Splash Landings Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Malthouse B&B
The Malthouse B&B
#3 of 10 in Alton
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Warren B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Warren B&B

Property: The Warren B&B
Address: Battlesteads | Staffordshire, Alton ST10 4BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Warren B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Warren is a beautiful property located on the edge of the village of Alton, situated in a delightfully tranquil setting with stunning views over the Churnet Valley. We are close to Alton Towers, Splash Landings, The Peak District, The Potteries and many other places of interest. Perfect if you want to explore this under-appreciated part of England with its many attractions. From our extensive local knowledge we can direct you to special places that interest you. The Warren is open all year to accommodate couples, families and those whose business requires a short or longer term stay. All rooms are en suite and prices include full English or continental breakfast. We can cater for any special dietary requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Warren B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing