We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable”
Review of The Warren B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Warren B&B
Ranked #1 of 10 Alton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Wow what a lovely B & B situated in a beautiful spot very close to Alton Towers. The rooms were very modern, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The owners were lovely so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We had a lovely breakfast everything was cook to perfection and there was lots of choice.

I would defiantly stay there again and would highly recommend this B & B

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drisc229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 337 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

What a fantastic find this was. The owners, Annette and Keith are amazing and can't do enough for you. The breakfasts are superb, with a big variety to suit all tastes. This year will be the 3rd year on the trot for us and I am 100% certain it won't be the last. The rooms are all a good size, very clean, comfortable and have everything you could possible need. You have everything possible within walking distance, a handful of pubs ,some serving food, take away places and a small Spar shop. If you decide to walk to any of the pubs in the evening a torch is highly recommended, but if you're like us and forget to take one, Annette usually has a spare for you to borrow. All in all this is a wonderful place run by wonderful people and can 100% thoroughly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZoeDaveH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I stayed here with friends last autumn. It was lovely, the rooms were beautiful and improbably clean. The owners are lovely charming people and they know how to make a top breakfast.

The location is fantastic and the hotel has lovely views.

If you wish stay anywhere near Alton and want a great little place then The Warren is the place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tq987JS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Four of us stayed here over two nights recently as we were going to Alton Towers for the closing weekend. We arrived later than planned on Friday night, and from the moment we arrived the owners made us feel at home.

The place is spotless, and the rooms were lovely. We especially appreciated all the thoughtful little touches in each room - DVD player (with a selection of DVDs available), a local guide to the area, tea and coffee facilities (with fresh milk jug in the fridge) - even an umbrella, which is obviously very handy with the British weather!

The breakfast was fantastic, and the two of us that are veggies really enjoyed the vegetarian cooked breakfast.

I would definitely recommend The Warren, and will most certainly be going back if I am in the area again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shell_London1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed here for one night on Halloween. Because we'd be at Alton Towers for Scarefest until 9pm, we'd dropped by The Warren before we went into the park to collect the key and find out about breakfast/our room etc, which the owners were more than happy to facilitate.

After a long day in the theme park it was wonderful to drive for literally about four or five mins to The Warren and relax in a lovely room - as others have mentioned very clean and comfortable and fresh milk in the fridge, tv/dvd player.

The breakfast the following morning was wonderful and set us up for anither day in the park! We'd definitely recommend staying here if you are in the area or visiting Alton Towers. Annette and Keith are very friendly and helpful. They even didn't tell us off when we accidentally left with the room key (because we're idiots!!) All in all a great place to stay, would recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynsnpaul_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Stayed here for two nights with my girlfriend during an October half term road trip. If you are visiting Alton Towers, I urge you to stay here. The room was so absolutely spotless, as in, it felt like we were the first people to ever stay there. Breakfast was a real treat, really high quality food being served. Room had a DVD player and a fridge - ideal for us. Within walking distance of several nice country pubs serving good food. The owners Annette and Keith are very friendly and so helpful. We really felt it was so reasonably priced for what we got, we would have happily paid more, and will certainly be back! Again, stay here if you are going to Alton Towers or are just in the area, you just can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfj300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We checked in late as we'd spent the day in Birmingham on the way up. The owners phoned mid-afternoon to check when we were planning to arrive so that they could be ready to greet us. This attention to detail continued when we arrived. Fresh milk was put in our room fridge for a cup of tea. The owners asked where we were having dinner and lent us a torch to negotiate the lanes. They provided us with the pub's number so we could book a table.
The en-suite was spotless and we struggled to tell if it was well cleaned or brand new! The breakfast was lovely and the owners went out of their way to offer us their insider knowledge of the best rides and routes round Alton Towers.
W warm and friendly B&B with great views and no faults. I recommend staying here highly!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.8 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
11.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
12.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
1.2 mi away
Splash Landings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Warren B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Warren B&B

Address: Battlesteads, Alton ST10 4BG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range: $110 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Warren B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Warren is a beautiful property located on the edge of the village of Alton, situated in a delightfully tranquil setting with stunning views over the Churnet Valley. We are close to Alton Towers, Splash Landings, The Peak District, The Potteries and many other places of interest. Perfect if you want to explore this under-appreciated part of England with its many attractions. From our extensive local knowledge we can direct you to special places that interest you. The Warren is open all year to accommodate couples, families and those whose business requires a short or longer term stay. All rooms are en suite and prices include full English or continental breakfast. We can cater for any special dietary requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Warren B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing