We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, great location, thoroughly enjoyable.”
Review of Lower Micklin Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lower Micklin Farm
1 review
“Great place, great location, thoroughly enjoyable.”
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Myself,my partner and the two girls arrived on Sunday evening and were greeted with tremendous courtesy. We were shown the accommodation which was exactly what we were looking for, very clean, very comfortable with everything we could need for the three nights we were staying. the girls loved the cottage and the quiet location as did we. Any questions or requests we had were no problem and loved our time there and will definitely stay there again and have no hesitation in recommending to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryNadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
57
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We went to the farm to celebrate a friend's 60th birthday and took over 2 of the cottages. We were warmly welcomed by the owners and straight away settled in. The beds were really comfortable and everything was clean. I am particulary fussy about towels and am pleased to report they were bright white and soft. The courtyard was an excellent place to hang out and enjoy the sunshine. We were lucky with the weather and were able to use the picnic benches to eat breakfast at. The countryside views were fabulous and the cottages proved a great location for our weekend activities including Alton Towers and Uttoexter races...and as a bonus there are friendly pubs that serve food in walking distance!

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CherylMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LowerMicklinFarm, Owner at Lower Micklin Farm, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
We are glad you had such a good time. We are really pleased you enjoyed the garden as we think the outside space is what sets us apart from the many other bed and breakfasts and hotels locally. My son certainly enjoyed playing football with you all on the football pitch - I would never have thought you were 60!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We (4 of us) stayed in Cottage 1 this week. It's perfect if you're going to Alton Towers as it takes about 5 mins in the car or a taxi is £8. The owner lives in a house near by and is very nice and helpful and the cottage has lovely rural views. The place was really clean and quiet and we'd definately recommend it to others. We are planning on staying there again next time.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quoplsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2011

If you're looking for a simple, cosy self-catering place very close to Alton Towers - look no further. The staff were really friendly, the cottage was really tidy, and there were nice touches like tea and coffee, and even milk in the fridge! The kitchen and bathroom were very clean and the bedrooms are a decent size. Ample parking. Very reasonable rates. Only 5-10 minutes drive to Alton Towers. And the views across the countryside at sunset were beautiful. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: For three adult couples ask for Cottage 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmithKayBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LowerMicklinFarm, Owner at Lower Micklin Farm, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We also appreciate the great views and the outdoor space for relaxing and playing after a busy day!
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Very friendly, accommodating owners. Nice self-catering cottages with large kitchen area with oven, fridge, microwave, toaster etc. Plenty of room downstairs and large shower bathroom. Picnic tables on lawn outside cottages. Set on a hill so lovely views across open countryside. Very quiet. Footpaths run through property into Alton and Denstone and beyond. Plenty of pubs with good food and beer in both villages. Lots of choice of local walks around Dimmingsdale, Oakamoor and Churnet valley. Very close to Alton Towers if you want it too.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkWorldtraveller46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Tracey was really helpful, nothing was too much bother. The location to Alton Towers was within 5 minutes drive. The cleaniness of the rooms was excellent. The beds were so comfortable we did not want to get up. Will definitly going back. Thanks to Tracey for such a wonderful relaxing stay. Thanks from Michelle, Alan & Kids x

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle030772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2010

stayed in one of the cottages for 5 days richard and tracey very welcoming and happy to help with anything we needed cottages very clean and great for familys with kids or anyone wanting to visit alton towers could hear the screams of people in the park they so close lovely peacful area will definatly be going back probaly every year best family holiday we've had

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caitrionafogarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
1.8 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Best Western Stoke East
Best Western Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
12.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
1.1 mi away
Enchanted Village Lodges, Alton Towers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Micklin Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Micklin Farm

Property: Lower Micklin Farm
Address: Lower Micklin Alton Road | Denstone, Alton ST14 5DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lower Micklin Self Catering Accommodation is set in 10 acres of grassland allowing plenty of room for children to play in safety. Half of a mile outside Alton village and five minutes drive from Alton Towers, Lower Micklin Holiday Cottages are also situated at the edge of the Peak District and a few miles from Uttoxeter racecourse. All our lodges are self contained, spacious and well appointed. Each cottage has its own fully equipped kitchen area, large shower room, and lounge/dining area with colour TV and dvd player. Centrally heated and double glazed, they are warm and comfortable whatever the weather. All towels and linen are provided. Unlike most self catering facilities, we happily accept guests for short periods allowing you to visit Alton Towers, rest overnight and move on to the next part of your holiday, or alternatively, stay a few days more and visit some of the other local places of interest. Guests are welcome to make use of the spacious outside facilities including climbing frame, swings, ball game field with goalposts and walking paths. Barbeque facilities, including fuel, are available on request. This outdoor space makes our cottages a great alternative to hotels near Alton Towers or the Alton Towers Enchanted Village Lodges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lower Micklin Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing