We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice accommodation in lovely countryside”
Review of Lower Micklin Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lower Micklin Farm
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice accommodation in lovely countryside”
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Very friendly, accommodating owners. Nice self-catering cottages with large kitchen area with oven, fridge, microwave, toaster etc. Plenty of room downstairs and large shower bathroom. Picnic tables on lawn outside cottages. Set on a hill so lovely views across open countryside. Very quiet. Footpaths run through property into Alton and Denstone and beyond. Plenty of pubs with good food and beer in both villages. Lots of choice of local walks around Dimmingsdale, Oakamoor and Churnet valley. Very close to Alton Towers if you want it too.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkWorldtraveller46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    11
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
59
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Tracey was really helpful, nothing was too much bother. The location to Alton Towers was within 5 minutes drive. The cleaniness of the rooms was excellent. The beds were so comfortable we did not want to get up. Will definitly going back. Thanks to Tracey for such a wonderful relaxing stay. Thanks from Michelle, Alan & Kids x

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle030772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2010

stayed in one of the cottages for 5 days richard and tracey very welcoming and happy to help with anything we needed cottages very clean and great for familys with kids or anyone wanting to visit alton towers could hear the screams of people in the park they so close lovely peacful area will definatly be going back probaly every year best family holiday we've had

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caitrionafogarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Basic but clean accomodation very close to Alton Towers. Warm & helpful welcome from the owners. We stayed, Grandma, Mum and two 8 yr olds for 3 nights and had a wonderful time visting both Alton Towers and Chatsworth. The children were impressed they got a ride in the neighbour's tractor even before we got to Alton Towers, which was very busy on the major rides with the post GSCE crowd. Not being within the height restrictions for those, we had a fabulous queue-free time and the children loved the cottage and playing games with our lovely Scottish neighbours. We ate at The Blacksmiths Arms and had a fish & chips takeout from the The Bulls Head. Perfect mini-break. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBrownsSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

When looking for somewhere to accomodate 3 branches of our family Lower Micklin seemed to meet all our needs - and upon arrival we were not disappointed!! 11 of us travelled up from Plymouth - we had 5 children aged from 3 to 9 with us. The cottages at Lower Micklin were prefect for our group - we all had our own space (we stayed in cottages 2,3 and 4) but they were spacious enough for us all to gather together for food and drink!! At under 10 mins from Alton towers the location is perfect and the pubs etc located nearby are also only minutes away!! The cottages themselves were clean and welcoming and Tracey made us feel right at home!! The fact that it was just us there meant we weren't too worried about the children running round and making noise or when we ran to each others cottages still in our pjs!!! :-) We really did enjoy our stay at Lower Micklin and are already discussing our next visit (we only got home 3 hours ago :-) !!!!)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helsbells13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2010

We booked cottages 2,3 and 4 as we were 3 branches of 1 family and it was fantastic for us, we were all next to each other and yet had our own privacy too. When we arrived the heating had been put on for us and there was a warm friendly welcome. The cottages were spotlessly clean and had everything that we needed and more during our 4 day stay, the hospitality of the owner was excellent. We were so pleased with every aspect of it, the space, the cleanliness, the ammenities and above all else we all felt like it was brilliant value for money. I would highly recommend this for anyone thinking of going to Alton Towers, a must for anyone that doesn't want to stay at the resort. We loved it so much that we are thinking about going back again. It made our trip worthwhile.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carinlaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2009

Arrived in the afternoon and found check in easy. Cottage lovely with all ground floor accomodation including double bedroom and second room with twin bunk beds. I suggest you leave promptly to get to Alton Towers as otherwise bottleneck going through village.Worth paying to get to premium car park as then right by entrance so can get in park muck quicker than normal car parks from where you have to walk catch mono rail. Returned to lovely warm cottage. Hostess brilliant very friendly-really recommend

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
1.8 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
12.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Splash Landings Hotel
8.7 mi away
Best Western Stoke East
Best Western Stoke East
#6 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
374 reviews
13.1 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Micklin Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Micklin Farm

Property: Lower Micklin Farm
Address: Lower Micklin Alton Road | Denstone, Alton ST14 5DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lower Micklin Self Catering Accommodation is set in 10 acres of grassland allowing plenty of room for children to play in safety. Half of a mile outside Alton village and five minutes drive from Alton Towers, Lower Micklin Holiday Cottages are also situated at the edge of the Peak District and a few miles from Uttoxeter racecourse. All our lodges are self contained, spacious and well appointed. Each cottage has its own fully equipped kitchen area, large shower room, and lounge/dining area with colour TV and dvd player. Centrally heated and double glazed, they are warm and comfortable whatever the weather. All towels and linen are provided. Unlike most self catering facilities, we happily accept guests for short periods allowing you to visit Alton Towers, rest overnight and move on to the next part of your holiday, or alternatively, stay a few days more and visit some of the other local places of interest. Guests are welcome to make use of the spacious outside facilities including climbing frame, swings, ball game field with goalposts and walking paths. Barbeque facilities, including fuel, are available on request. This outdoor space makes our cottages a great alternative to hotels near Alton Towers or the Alton Towers Enchanted Village Lodges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lower Micklin Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing