We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good find”
Review of Bank House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bank House
Ranked #2 of 11 Alton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good find”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a great short break at Alton Towers and this b and b was perfect - lovely room and breakfast, friendly and helpful couple and great location to get the bus to the theme park. We were very pleased with our choice

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaTrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn P, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to review Bank House.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back for a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    42
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
174
174
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay at the Bank House in August. We booked 2 rooms - the Sports Room and the 2 Tone Room. Both rooms were exceptionally clean and spacious. And the beds were so comfy after a long day at Alton Towers. The owner and staff are so friendly and the breakfast is delightful. Most perfect location if staying at the theme park. Would definitely recommend to anyone making a visit to Alton Towers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn P, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.
We really make an effort to present our rooms to the best standard possible and take pride in our work. So a big thanks from the team.
We hope we impressed you sufficiently to encourage you to book again. Same service guaranteed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My friend and our 2, 13 year old boys stayed at the Bank House in the Flintstones Room for 2 nights (21-23 Aug}. The room was an ideal layout for our party of 4. So much detail had been paid to the theme of the room but the warm welcome we received and fabulous breakfast topped the bill for us! Lynn and co made us feel so comfortable and nothing was too much trouble. They informed us of the best way to make the most of our Alton Towers visit. We highly recommend this perfect B & B. Thank you Lynn and your lovely team!
Mel, Deb, Jamie & Bradley x
.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn P, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, which is much appreciated by the team.
We are pleased that you were happy with your stay with us and that you appreciated The Flintstones room.
I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for a second visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We almost booked at Splash Landings (SL) hotel as we were traveling to Alton Towers with children aged 9 & 7. After reading many reviews of SL most were saying the hotel is very expensive, the rooms are cramped and in need of updating, but the 'vibe' was good. Well, we stayed here at Bank House and had dinner & children's evening entertainment at SL (you don't have to be an overnight guest) - problem solved!!
Staying here was much better value, and the room was FANTASTIC (Flintstones theme), adults and kids loved the decor and it was much more spacious than the rooms at SL. Very comfy beds. The shower room was well equipped, very modern, and super clean. There was a flat screen tv and dvd player, also a fridge which was very handy, as well as tea making facilities with complimentary tea, coffee, hot chocolate, and biscuits!
Our host were super friendly, kind, and accommodating. Breakfast was great, they kindly catered to my gluten-intolerance, the eggs were very tasty, and our youngest commented 'wow, this milk is amazing' :-)
A brief 1 night stay but it made our weekend, we will most certainly be recommending Bank House!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn P, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your lovely generous review of Bank House.
It was a delight to accommodate your family and we are pleased that Bank House lived up to your expectations.
The team really get a boost when we read positive comments because we all try to deliver a first rate service.
Thanks again and we look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a 4* B&B. We stayed in their Mod room for 2 nights to visit Alton Towers (Aug 20-22) and the Waterpark. I chose Bank House because of the excellent reviews I read prior to our trip.

We (2 adults & 1 child) arrived at around 10 a.m. to drop off our luggage (check-in time is 4pm). I also paid her the remaining balance upon arrival by cash, but she has facilities to pay by card if you prefer and she also gave us a copy of the receipt/card transaction of the deposit we paid upon confirmation of booking.

Lynn showed to us our room (subject for housekeeping at that time) and left our luggage (no extra charge). My 9-year old daughter was pleased to see the Union Jack themed room. We were given the room key and the entrance door key. There are parking spaces allocated for guests. Just for other first-timers to Alton and Smithy Bank, the road is quite narrow (which is expected of a rural area). The bus stop where Bus 32A going to Alton Towers is just literally few steps from Bank House.

After a day at Alton Towers, we went back to Bank House and we asked Lynn where to eat. She recommended The Royal Oak which is few minutes walk from Bank House. I highly recommend this pub which is opened from 6:30pm to 9pm. The price is not dear and the food is very, very nice.

The room is CLEAN, TIDY, COMFORTABLE and SMELLS NICE. It's QUIET too, we slept like babies... The bathroom has the coolest Union Jack loo cover. The room has UJ curtains and wallpapers. The room is carpeted. There's more than enough clean towels, shower gels, soaps and shampoos/conditioners provided, as well as toothbrush holders. Water pressure is powerful. The shower head needs a bit of brushing BUT I am not concerned. We slept very well. Beds and pillows were very comfortable. The atmosphere was perfect. There's enough hangers, wardrobe and drawers, TV is also provided, there's a cooler, hair dryer, alarm clock, complimentary coffee, biscuits and kettle inside the room.

The breakfast --oh dear, we ordered full Straffordshire breakfast for 2 mornings and they were grand! We loved them!!!

There's fresh brewed coffee available, fresh orange juice, selections of cereals, yogurt, fruits, etc.

We felt really at home and the owners were extremely friendly and helpful. She also recommended to us the most reliable and friendly taxi driver in the planet - Rob. Please do ask for him if you decide not to bring a car with you because he will charge you a very reasonable price. We were ripped off by 2 Pakistani taxi drivers on our first day (we were charged £20 on our way to Alton & £15 on our way back, the usual taxi fare is £10) so we told this to Lynn and she recommended Rob on our second day and he only charged us £7.50 one way to Splash Landing and £7.50 on our way back (but of course we gave Rob a tip because he deserved to be given more than that for his service, his honesty, punctuality and efficiency).

I would definitely recommend this place. You can't go wrong, please do stay here!!!

Room Tip: Try other themed rooms like Flinstones, Marilyn Monroe and Sports themed rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn P, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Crikey what a detailed and explicit review. Thank you very much. I'm sure readers will learn a lot about us from your account.
We are proud of Bank House and try our best to give guests a memorable and enjoyable stay, it seems like we hit the spot with your family.
Hopefully we'll see you again. Same service promised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, the owners are lovely and the rooms fab for our family of 5. Plenty to choose from the breakfast menu. Would recommend as perfect place to stay after a long day at Alton Towers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oriel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn P, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.
Its so very reassuring to read our valued customers enjoyed their stay with us so thanks for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at bank house after a visit to alton towers....it's a couple minutes drive from the theme park.
We were greeted and showed to our room which was the rock room...brilliant. We had a sneaky look (with the owner) at some other rooms and all rooms are fantastic. Nice quirky edge to it!
Comfortable nights sleep. Breakfast was also fab plenty to choose from.
2 local pubs literally 1 minutes walk from bank house.

All round top service...top b & b.
Would most defiantly stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn P, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of Bank House.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the quirky edge to our themed rooms.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another visit. Same service is promised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
1.1 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
12.4 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
0.3 mi away
The Warren B&B
The Warren B&B
#1 of 11 in Alton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank House

Property: Bank House
Address: Bank House Smithy Bank, Alton ST10 4AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* Bed and Breakfast 1 mile from Alton Towers Resort. Bank House is located in the heart of Alton village and within walking distance of all of the pubs/restaurants. All rooms are themed and en-suite with freesat tv/dvd, tea/coffee making facilities, fridge and hairdryers. Four poster rooms have whirlpool baths. We offer Champagne, Sparkling wine, chocolates, flowers etc for special occasions, prices on application. Free on-site parking and the bus to Alton Towers stops outside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bank House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank House Hotel Alton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing