We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“family friendly accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bank House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bank House
Ranked #2 of 12 Alton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“family friendly accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Superb stay only 1/2 mile from theme park, stunning village location with beautiful scenery and walks. Very friendly owners nothing to much trouble they even put banners and balloons up for my sons 8th birthday and even a birthday card so very personal touch. Gorgeous faultless breakfast and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olablubell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn P, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thanks very much for your glowing review.
Celebrations and birthdays are all part of the service here and we're glad it made your sons stay a bit special.
Do hope we see you for a second visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    42
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
174
174
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Me and my sister stayed over between 5th and 7th July for alton towers live in the two tone room, great service so welcoming and Maurice even gave us a lift to alton towers couldn't be more helpful food was excellent something for everyone loved our room very clean and tidy bed was so comfy so had a great nights sleep would definitely go back to stay there again thank you so much for you warm welcome hope to see you soon take care heather and janetxx

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heatherbelle82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn P, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful and well received comments.
The team feel well rewarded by your praise and we look forward to welcoming such lovely guests back for a second visit,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We (Partner, 7 yr old son and I ) stayed here for 2 nights (10/11th July) and had a fantastic stay. We found the Bank house easily as it is situated on the main road of the lovely village, we were greeted by owners Lynn and Maurice who were extremely friendly and immediately made us feel at home :) We had a great sleep both nights and breakfast was just out of this world. Clean plates all round :D Our room was fantastic too - Mods - it was so interesting, we were travelling onto London so it was great to have the iconic Red Phone boxes and even the Underground Map on the wall!! Very handy for planning our trip :) Room was also very spacious and had everything you needed and more. We usually stay in hotels but our friend recommended Bank House . . . i'm so glad we took his advice, 10/10. Thanks Lynn & Maurice, we will hopefully return next summer :) x

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R999DAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn P, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
We are totally flattered by your review of your stay at Bank House, thank you very much.
It would be lovely to see you for a second visit and we promise a warm welcome and same quality of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family of five, spent three nights in one of the family rooms at the start of July, as a base for Alton Towers, we stayed in the themed Flintstone's room. We found the accommodation to be very clean and comfortable, Lynn and Maurice were very hospitable, friendly and helpful, and were very understanding of our needs, with a young family. The breakfast was freshly cooked and there was plenty of it! We would highly recommend the Band House as a choice of accommodation for anyone visiting Alton Towers.

Room Tip: Family Room sleeps five unlike most places.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn P, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and effort to review us.
We try our best to make our family group visitors feel welcome, possibly because we sought friendly accommodation when our children were young, so its good to see our attitude is appreciated.
Incidentally we rectified the fridge noise but thanks for not mentioning it lol !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a great time at Bank House. Owners very friendly and knowledgeable. Rooms lovely. We stayed in the mods themed room and it was very funky! Great meal in nearby pub (Bulls Head). All in all a great weekend and we will definitely be returning. Very close to the theme park so ideal if you want to spend 2 days there. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn P, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review on trip advisor,
We really appreciate your comments and the positive feed back from our guests makes our effort feel worthwhile.
It would be great to welcome you back same hospitality guaranteed,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We chose to stay at Bank House for a recent trip to Alton Towers - being less than 5 minutes drive to the theme park.

We were warmly welcomed by Lynn in the evening and given a thorough run down of th Oe B&B and local area. We were shown to our room (we stayed in the Two Tone room) and given a list of pubs and restaurants, all within walking distance. We chose to eat at the Bull's Head, which we enjoyed immensely.

Our room was immaculately clean and well dressed. The Madness and Bad Manners memrobilia really set off the theme of the room and the black and white colour scheme wasn't overwhelming in the slightest. The bed was very comfortable and we both had a great nights sleep.

The breakfast the next morning was included in the price of the room. My partner had the bacon sandwich whilst I had toasted croissants with butter. Both meals were well cooked and went down a treat. The breakfast area itself is very clean and cosy.

Both Lynn and her partner Maurice were wonderful and attentive hosts, even helping direct us out of the car park in the morning. Neither of us can fault this B&B and strongly recommend people to stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iscar-James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn P, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to review us and your lovely comments it contained.
The team were really pleased by your write up, especially my husband Maurice.
We'd love to welcome you back for a return visit and recommend the Marilyn or Boudoir for a touch of luxury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at Bank House for 3 nights when we visited Alton Towers. Bank House is situated about a mile from the park itself and surrounded by beautiful english countryside. What an absolutely brilliant little find this B&B was! We were given a very warm and friendly welcome by Lynn and Maurice, who gave us great little hints about the best way to get on the new Smiler ride at the park and also on where to eat at night. We had 2 rooms; The Boudior and the and the Punk Room, both of which we're spotless when we arrived, with great facilities (My mum and sister loved the jacuzzi bath in the boudior!) and brilliant decor. The beds were very comfy and we all slept like logs during our stay!

Breakfast was fanatastic, with a wide selection to suit all guests (would definately recommend the Full Staffordshire Breakfast!). Both Lynn and Maurice couldn't do enough for you, always making sure you had enough food and they even made my sister a bacon sandwich to take away with her after she was too tired to get up for breakfast on our final day.

You couldn't meet a nicer pair than Maurice and Lynn, and I would be baffled if anybody didn't enjoy their stay at this little gem of a B&B. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Bank House to anybody planning a visit to Alton, and we have already booked another visit next time we come up to Alton Towers!

Room Tip: For couples or girly girls, definatley go for The Boudior or Marilyn Monroe Room. For boys I'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn P, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
What a lovely flattering review. We are delighted that your family had such an enjoyable stay with us.
I usually say at this point it would be lovely to see you for a second visit but as you've already booked....it would be silly.
Thanks for letting prospective visitors know what the four poster rooms are like.
See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
1.1 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
12.4 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
0.3 mi away
The Warren B&B
The Warren B&B
#1 of 12 in Alton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank House

Property: Bank House
Address: Bank House Smithy Bank, Alton ST10 4AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* Bed and Breakfast 1 mile from Alton Towers Resort. Bank House is located in the heart of Alton village and within walking distance of all of the pubs/restaurants. All rooms are themed and en-suite with freesat tv/dvd, tea/coffee making facilities, fridge and hairdryers. Four poster rooms have whirlpool baths. We offer Champagne, Sparkling wine, chocolates, flowers etc for special occasions, prices on application. Free on-site parking and the bus to Alton Towers stops outside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Bank House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank House Hotel Alton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing