We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Rate B&B - great value for money”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chained Oak Farm B&B
Ranked #2 of 10 Alton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Have just returned from a stay at the Chained Oak & can't sing its praises highly enough. A group of 6 of us stayed for my birthday celebrations at Alton Towers and we were made very welcome. The rooms were spotless and extremely comfortable, with lovely showers and a great attention to detail, for example the umbrellas outside of each room in case of inclement weather. Breakfast was lovely, with amazing views as you enjoy some home-cooked food. Will definitely recommend to others & hope to come back with family in the not-too-distant future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bristolgirl_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 323 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

The b&b is situated a five minute walk from Alton towers which saves you £6 on parking. The rooms were beautiful and the shower is amazing. My partner and I wanted to buy the place it was so beautiful, if we had known it was this good we would have stayed longer. We loved the jack Russell's and even got to walk to altons chained oak tree. Can't recommend enough

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here last year too as we visit towers every year.

Great location, short walk to towers, save on the car parking charged!

Breakfast was good, Liz is very friendly and welcoming.

Rooms were clean, we had the family suite this time, shower had fantastic pressure!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LivesInCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for the night as we were going to Alton towers the next day. Arrived late in the evening but was greeted by Liz who kindly showed us around. Rooms weren't what I was expecting as it was in a cabin but it added to the whole experience of the trip. The breakfast was very nice also. Liz was a great hostess.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Booked three nights for daughter & boyfriend to stay B&B whislt enjoying Alton Towers. Liz was a lovely landlady. We had a long journey up and she offered a cup of tea on arrival. Lovely B&B, lovely views and positioned just right for Alton T. Daughter & Boyfriend enjoyed their stay and the breakfast was wonderful, plenty to choose from. The room as was the dinning area very clean and welcoming. Could not fault it. Throughly recommed it to everyone. You can't go wrong.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. You can't go wrong staying here. A1*.and there's history to the pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We managed to stumble across Chained Oak Farm whilst looking to stay somewhere close to Alton Towers complex, we were not disappointed. As other reviews have mentioned Liz was very welcoming, showing us round at half six in the morning even though we shouldn't have turned up till midday, breakfasts were superb, setting you up for the day.
Surroundings were amazing and just a short walk over a field to Alton Towers entrance. Cannot recommend Chained Oak Farm enough. Thanks for a wonderful time Liz.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RileyClann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just back from our second stay and still cant find fault. Liz was just as welcoming as were the animals - we were met by Ron the Rooster this time rather than the dogs. We originally booked a room for 3 but following a change of plan there were only 2 of us going. We notified LIz of this but i'm assuming due to being fully booked we still found ourselves in a family room. Great big room, double bed and set of bunk beds. Spotlessly clean yet again and with two radiators even the cold staffordshire nights weren't a problem. Fantastic cooked breakfast sets you up for the day and with Alton Towers within walking distance this really is the ideal place to stay. We will be returning for the third year in a row next September.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairebear1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
1 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
0.9 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Splash Landings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Warren B&B
The Warren B&B
#1 of 10 in Alton
337 reviews
1.2 mi away
Enchanted Village Lodges, Alton Towers Resort
0.5 mi away
Trough Ivy House
Trough Ivy House
#1 of 1 in Farley
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chained Oak Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chained Oak Farm B&B

Address: Chained Oak Farm Farley Lane, Alton ST10 4BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Chained Oak Farm Hotel Alton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing