We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Short break near Alton Towers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Alton
Certificate of Excellence
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Short break near Alton Towers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Recently my wife won a competition to visit Alton Towers so we decided to stay over this time on looking for accomondation on the internet came across the Peakstones Inn. The place was 2 miles from Alton Towers so idealy situated, the accomondation was a chalet for 4 it was clean, tidy and perfect, a full english breakfast was also included in the price. The chalet was a large room had one double bed and a bunk, with en-suite facilities. Margret the owner was a wonderful host and her team were very friendly nothing was too much trouble. The bar was a perfect place to relax after a hard day at the theme park and I would highly recomend this place to stay when next visiting Alton Towers

Room Tip: the chalets are brill there is alos rooms in the pub also for next year she is having log cabins bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bensue8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    42
    7
    5
    9
See reviews for
66
20
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Clean rooms, great breakfast and great company with the owner at the bar each night. Stayed for 2 nights in one of the chalets during Alton Towers visit and it was perfect - quick drive to the park as advertised! Very happy with the place - great price too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here with a friend for two nights on a trip to Alton Towers. It was perfect location 5 minutes away. The landlady was absolutley billiant, very welcoming and helpful. Couldn't of made us feel more at home. The cooked breakfast included in price was nice and there was a selection of cereals also. The room was impeccably clean and comfortable. Would definitely go there again, great value for money.

Room Tip: Opt for a chalet out the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Our first time at Peakstones Inn and will not be the last. This is an ideal place to stay, only 5 minutes drive to Alton Towers. We were the first in the park so therefore got to ride Oblivion, Thirteen and Rita all before 10 O'clock! We stayed in one of the chalets which was spotless, lovely comfy beds with clean crisp sheets and clean towels each day and there was even shower gel and handwash in the bathroom. Margaret the owner is really lovely and makes you feel so welcome. The breakfast could not be faulted. My son and his friend enjoyed the evenings playing pool and darts after a very nice dinner in the restaurant and we enjoyed sitting in front of the open fire. Will definately be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaza33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We booked the hotel due to the location next to Alton Towers, very handy. Two adults and two children, aged 9 and 11 stopped here for two nights and to be fair we can't complain about anything. The accommodation served its purpose, which was to sleep and shower. The staff in the Inn were friendly and no request seem to be a bother. The food was typical pub food, nothing to brag about but certainly filled you up after a long day of walking around the park. The Inn itself had a relaxing and cosy atmosphere, which meant we could all just fill up on food and enjoy each others company. Key question, would I go back?, the answer, simply yes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snodland, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

When visiting Alton Towers this is the place for me, 9 of us were accomadated at the last minute by the owner, it is clean, warm, friendly and the breakfast is out of this world. There is some building work going on if your at Towers all day who can it bother, Its location is perfect and easy to get to from Alton towers and the food served in the Piggery is again outstanding. I would recommend this Gem of a place to all my friends and family as it far exeeded my expectations

Room Tip: All outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed for one night was very nice. Dinner was good as was breakfast will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toshaks7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
1.0 mi away
Splash Landings Hotel
1.0 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
5.0 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
3.7 mi away
Whiston Hall Hotel and Golf Club
10.0 mi away
Premier Inn Leek Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant

Property: Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant
Address: Cheadle Road, Alton ST10 4DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peakstones Inn, Piggery And Friends Restaurant Hotel Alton
Peakstones Hotel Piggery And Friends

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing