We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Stay!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Clean rooms, great breakfast and great company with the owner at the bar each night. Stayed for 2 nights in one of the chalets during Alton Towers visit and it was perfect - quick drive to the park as advertised! Very happy with the place - great price too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    46
    10
    9
    10
See reviews for
77
27
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here with a friend for two nights on a trip to Alton Towers. It was perfect location 5 minutes away. The landlady was absolutley billiant, very welcoming and helpful. Couldn't of made us feel more at home. The cooked breakfast included in price was nice and there was a selection of cereals also. The room was impeccably clean and comfortable. Would definitely go there again, great value for money.

Room Tip: Opt for a chalet out the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex uk
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Our first time at Peakstones Inn and will not be the last. This is an ideal place to stay, only 5 minutes drive to Alton Towers. We were the first in the park so therefore got to ride Oblivion, Thirteen and Rita all before 10 O'clock! We stayed in one of the chalets which was spotless, lovely comfy beds with clean crisp sheets and clean towels each day and there was even shower gel and handwash in the bathroom. Margaret the owner is really lovely and makes you feel so welcome. The breakfast could not be faulted. My son and his friend enjoyed the evenings playing pool and darts after a very nice dinner in the restaurant and we enjoyed sitting in front of the open fire. Will definately be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaza33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We booked the hotel due to the location next to Alton Towers, very handy. Two adults and two children, aged 9 and 11 stopped here for two nights and to be fair we can't complain about anything. The accommodation served its purpose, which was to sleep and shower. The staff in the Inn were friendly and no request seem to be a bother. The food was typical pub food, nothing to brag about but certainly filled you up after a long day of walking around the park. The Inn itself had a relaxing and cosy atmosphere, which meant we could all just fill up on food and enjoy each others company. Key question, would I go back?, the answer, simply yes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snodland, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

When visiting Alton Towers this is the place for me, 9 of us were accomadated at the last minute by the owner, it is clean, warm, friendly and the breakfast is out of this world. There is some building work going on if your at Towers all day who can it bother, Its location is perfect and easy to get to from Alton towers and the food served in the Piggery is again outstanding. I would recommend this Gem of a place to all my friends and family as it far exeeded my expectations

Room Tip: All outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed for one night was very nice. Dinner was good as was breakfast will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Peakstones Inn is ideal if you are visiting Alton Towers and just want somewhere as a base to sleep. The caravan did need some updating and the shower was very poor and the bathroom not that clean and the outside area was very untidy and needed landscaping, however the owners were very nice and the breakfast was very good and we felt it was satisfactory as we just needed somewhere to sleep for a few nights.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 10jans25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
1.9 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
7.4 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Best Western Stoke East
Best Western Stoke East
#6 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
376 reviews
11.3 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant

Property: Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
Address: Cheadle Road, Alton ST10 4DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peakstones Inn, Piggery And Friends Restaurant Hotel Alton
Peakstones Hotel Piggery And Friends

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing