We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic - worth every penny”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Sweethills

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Sweethills annex
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
The Sweethills annex
Secluded garden area. A perfect place to relax in the sun.
Kitchen
Small dining facilities in the kitchen
Kitchen
Shower room/WC
Shower room/WC
Shower room/WC
The annex
Secluded garden area
Cottage garden infront of the annex
View to the front
View to the front
View from the rear
View to the front
Wintertime
Wintertime
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Alton, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SAW95
Workington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Idyllic - worth every penny”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I stayed here with my husband for an Alton towers trip and was pleasantly surprised from the start. The views all around the property were stunning and the property itself is very nicely done with beautiful gardens. The owners are also lovely! We could find no faults with this place. Loved it!!!

Date of stay: June 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Dav...
Shotton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Stunning scenery, Beautiful both inside and out”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed for just a single night but left wishing we could have moved in permanently. We booked the room as we were visiting Alton Towers the next morning but were so overwhelmed by the quality both inside and out it was a dissapointment to leave the next morning. Little touches, like fresh milk in the fridge, tea and sugar, luxourious towels, sun-loungers in the garden surrounded by beautiful flowers. Patio doors at the foot of the bed that open out to table and chairs set up on cobblestone which gave us a wonderful setting for an early morning brekfast, a candle lit veranda at the rear next to what looked like a natural spring. We couldnt have been happier and will certainly have to visit again for a longer spell. Thank you.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorraineA...
1 review
“Amazing !!!!!”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We arrived for a 2 night stay, Dorothy had provided fresh milk, fruit and chocolates for our arrival which was lovely. We were utterly delighted with the setting and the locals (the sheep that roamed, we were the ones fenced in), anything we needed to know all we had to do was ask, how to get to the local pub was high on our list lol. Over all an amazing restful time was had apart from our day at Alton towers which was only a 15 min drive away. Everything. Was spotlessly clean and fresh, we had access to the garden which was massive!!! The views were breathtaking, sad to have to come back to reality :-( if you want a quiet break away from the hustle and bustle then this is defo the place to go :-)

Date of stay: June 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattnBex
Stamford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breathtakingly Beautiful!”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Wow! This beautiful little cottage is a hidden gem in the fields of Staffordshire. We live in the sticks, yet the scenery and openness was still breath taking!
My partner and I booked this little cottage for a weekend getaway to visit Alton Towers, just 3 miles away.
Upon arrival we were greeted by Dorothy, the owner who was most welcoming. After a guided tour around the little cottage and beautifully maintained garden, Dorothy had also provided BBQ facilities and tea/coffee refreshments.
The bedroom was a good size, filled with light and views of countryside. The kitchen was modern and contained everything you needed. The bathroom had a lovely shower cubical, along with complimentary toiletries and was extremely clean.
Everything about it was so perfect, our only regret is that we only stayed one night!

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing - It was perfect!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jemz1990
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Me and my partner stayed here to go to Alton towers for a weekend. It's only 10 minute drive and its such a nice relaxing location, bedroom was so lovely

Date of stay: May 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickbi198...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Gorgeous little cottage”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Stayed on Friday 25th October. The cottage is in a great location for Alton towers & the little village of Alton. The cottage is situated on a farm attached to the owners home but its very private and peaceful. The cottage has its own parking space, garden & little sun house. The cottage is decorated gorgeous very modern, with a kitchen, small bathroom with a lovely shower & a good size bedroom. The cottage has everything you need to make your stay enjoyable.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location & the deco
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 13, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the annex
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing