We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value for money.”
Review of Alton Towers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alton Towers Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Wirral, England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Poor value for money.”
Reviewed December 28, 2006

We booked a 1 night winter wonderland break for 2 adults and 2 children, boys aged 9 and 12, for £214. The children enjoyed the atmosphere and the pool and the snowy scene created outside the hotel was lovely too. But briefly..

.........It felt as if, because the hotel is so isolated, they were overpricing everything because they knew guests had no other options and whilst the staff were pleasant the service in the restaurant and pool bar was poor. The pool is very busy - go between 5 and 8 pm when it gets much quieter ( we didn't have to queue for any slides at this time). Although in the summer this may be the busy time! The pool bar has a very poor selection of food and the queue can be long (20 mins for a coffee).

The evening meal at the Secret Garden Restaurant was terrible with very little choice, poorly presented food, slow service and extortionate prices.

Breakfast was fine.
The rooms are ok - nothing special really.
The bar was expensive.

So, if you want to stay there for the atmosphere then take some snacks with you and it is probably worth the drive to somewhere else for the evening meal.

Hope that helps.

  • Liked — The pool after 5pm
  • Disliked — The high prices and poor food
  • Tips/Secrets — In Winter go to the pool after 5pm. Take snacks with you and eat out.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pandiposta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    935
    820
    494
    205
    136
See reviews for
1,469
400
7
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2006

We got a great deal from Lastminute.com so I have to say that we didn't pay much at all! The check in was quite slow but the staff were very friendly. The room was clean + spacious with nice toiletries in the bathroom!!! The hotel had a restaurant with decent priced food - good job as it is quite a drive to the nearest restaurant outside the resort! Maybe if we had paid full price my review would be different but for us it was just fine!

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2006

hotel set in lovely grounds. Friendly staff on arrival, themed dressed. Hotel decor was fun and lift had strobe lights and played the alton tower theme which was humourous. Rooms were of good size and also themed. Clean and well equiped with all mod cons. We ate in the sister hotel at splash landings which was a buffet meal, which is the best buffet i have ever had, variety and quality. Service in restaurant was however a little slow and some of staff were foreign and struggled to understand your requests. We had breakfast in the hotel which was brilliant and again loads of variety. The hotel was good and worth a visit but the cost was ridiculous. Very highly priced. We were a couple but would be very costly for a family.

  • Liked — the lift!!!
  • Disliked — the price
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2006

We visited here on a Monday night (11 Dec rm 140). I've been to the Splash Landings hotel before on a weekend and hated it because it was so busy. This time, at the Alton Towers Hotel it was lovely and quiet, and at times it appeared that the staff out numbered the guests.

Our room had seen better days, but was clean. There were no towels or toiletries in our room, and although I reported this to the front desk at about 4pm, it wasn't resolved until about 9pm and after I'd chased them about it.

We had a meal in the Secret Garden restaurant. It was served so fast that there's no way it was cooked fresh to order. This was proved, as the food was dry and stale. A shame as it could have been very nice and certainly wasn't cheap.

To say the hotel was so quiet, it was very noisy during the night. People running up and down the corridors, people knocking on doors at 4am and a party going on in one of the rooms nearby all night through to 6am. I know other guests rang reception to complain, yet it was still allowed to continue. I complained about this the following morning but it fell on deaf ears - not even an apology.

We went to the Cariba Creek which is fantastic and is on a par (although smaller) to a Disney waterpark. Again it was very quiet, with no queues - very good!

It's a shame that a couple of minor points let our stay down - it could have been so much better.

  • Liked — It's very quirky.
  • Disliked — The noise at night.
  • Tips/Secrets — Look on Lastminute.com for a deal - we paid just £10 for the room!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2006

I have just come back from the Alton Towers hotel from the brilliant santa sleepover.This was not the first time i had been to this event we (my mum, me/husband and little 6 yr old) went last year 2005. What struck me has different this year is that they kept everything on the hotel site, last year most of it was over on the park, a nightmare due to weather conditions. The whole thing, even down to the fake snow was magical for children and the room itself was clean and comfy and family friendly. The disco, shows, entertainment was much better than last year, so it seems Alton towers has put much thought to the whole event. I only had 2 areas of concern, the first was the dodgems! where they safe?? extremeley slippy, could maybe be replace by a nice, old fashioned carosel ? also, whilst having breakfast i noticed that our table was over shadowed by an N.V.Q assessor(we asked the waiter)? is that necessary on such a weekend??...it worried me at first he was an health inspector with the clip board....i think timing is everything. but, in particular some staff were lovely and i even tipped behind the bar! not done last year there were no staff working nor many bars open.would and will go again...thanks Alton Towers for a nice and very enjoyable stay.

  • Liked — the themed rooms, child friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — expensive, best to wait for deals.i checked on-line night before and price had gone down from which i paid.annoyed, lack of english by some staff and lack of smiles.
  • Tips/Secrets — the wine is good and cheaper if you buy between people than single drinks £3.00 for larger, get real.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank emma122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, S.Yorks
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2006

Rooms: The room in the hotel was very nice spacious and clean with a nice bath room and a great shower!!

Food & Drink: The main meal and breakfast which were part of the deal while the dinnning room as very busy the staff were very helpful and the food was fab. (The ship in the bar area is a great way of keeping the little ones entertained while you can relax)

Staff: Very friendly and efficient even when the place was very busy.

Overall: A very good hotel me and my partner are planning to go back in April when the park is open. Just make sure you get a good deal when they are on offer as it can be very expensive when the parks open.

  • Liked — The food was great.
  • Disliked — Can be expensive!!
  • Tips/Secrets — Look for their special offers before you book.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cadmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2006

Had an awful stay at this hotel.
The rooms are tatty and dirty to say the least.
The service in the restaurant and standard of food was shocking. I have had better at a motorway service area.
Breakfast was a shambles, food inedible & service none existent.
the bar at splash landings in the evening was awful with a 20-30minute wait for service.
Staff seemed untrained and under pressure.
No supervisors or management were evident during my two night stay.
Aviod at all costs & stay in a local B&B instead.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't visit
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
1.9 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
5.5 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
12.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Best Western Stoke East
Best Western Stoke East
#6 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
377 reviews
13.0 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Stone
496 reviews
14.3 mi away
Days Inn Stafford
Days Inn Stafford
#3 of 5 in Stone
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alton Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alton Towers Hotel

Property: Alton Towers Hotel
Address: Farley Lane, Alton ST10 4DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique hotel is themed around the incredible explorer Sir Algenon, who has made the Alton Towers Hotel his home. There are plenty of fun and quirky features to discover, including his amazing flying ship which has crash landed right in the middle of the Hotel. Wake up in our explorer-themed bedrooms, ready for your next adventure! Our Secret Garden restaurant offers a delicious brasserie style menu, and the evening entertainment is perfect for all ages.Whichever hotel you are staying in at the Alton Towers Resort, you can choose to eat in any of the restaurants and drink at any of the bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alton Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alton Hotel Tower

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing