We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but a little pricey”
Review of Alton Towers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alton Towers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Reviewed November 17, 2012

As you would expect from a hotel next to the park, it is very expensive. Unless you get a special deal, the hotel will be far pricier than similar quality hotels further away, but in my opinion it is worth it.

You can enjoy the park so much more knowing you are just a few steps away from your hotel, and there is enough entertainment and different dining options at both hotels that kids and adults will be easily entertained.

I have not stayed at Splash Landings hotel, just the normal hotel each time, but it has always been clean, and the garden area with fountain is beautiful at night to sit and have a drink around.

I have eaten at both the Grilllhouse (fantastic food, top recommendation for adult groups) and the Secret Garden. The latter looks like any standard restaurant and we expected standard pub food, but were pleasantly surprised by a very high quality and tasty meal, so apologies for the assumption!

The only downside I would have is, though friendly, the staff have not been very helpful at any of our stays; to the point that I had to walk back to our hotel from the water park (in soaking wet gear, freezing) to get money because we had been mislead about paying on our room, and they offered absolutely no assistance in the matter, essentially receiving a shrug of the shoulders - hence the 1 star I'm giving to service as I have been bothered enough to file a full complaint about it.

Don't let the poor service deter from a lovely hotel with a great location though, the easiest way to sum up our visit is we will be going back again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schmeilyphace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,656)
There are newer reviews for Alton Towers Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,982 - 1,988 of 2,656 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

The rooms are dated and basic considering the cost . The dining options are pricey too the al a carte was a lovely meal however we only had a glass of wine each and a main course and this cost £45 on the second evening we had the buffet in the splash landings hotel which for two of us again only having a glass if wine each cost us over £50 and the food was below average . Good points are the breakfast and the convenience if being so close to the parks

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrskowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We managed to get a good deal through following them on Facebook, if it wasn't for that I would feel a little ripped off.

Our 8 year old loved it and this place is clearly set up for families and there are some nice little features in and around the hotel.

The room was spacious with a few nice touches. The only problem was we went on a very warm weekend and the only air conditioning was an electric fan so was a little uncomfortable to sleep in.

The restaurant is nice but standard quality food and a little high on price, breakfast was of a decent standard though.

The main plus point is free parking and the ability to go into the rides earlier than everyone else.

Room Tip: If you have young children go to the waterpark hotel as all evening activities are held there so hav...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maccy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Having booked the hotel purely on the basis of getting into the theme park early the next day, I was a bit anxious following reading some of the reviews. We had also booked to go in the Spa.

First of all the staff throughout the hotel were very friendly. I was very surprised to read some reviews to the contrary. The hotel is pretty good really, yes you can see the corridors and maybe some of the rooms get a bit of a battering, but it's really a family hotel, and there seemed to be lots of maintenance people around. The Spa whilst not being maybe to standard of Ragdale for examples, was very nice, well kept/run and some good treatment rooms. We also had a couple of treatments each which I thought were very good and also not overly expensive. The spa isn't huge but then it wasn't particularly busy and it was nice to have a drink and relax after a mad afternoon in the fun park.

The food in the Secret Garden was surprisingly good considering the number of people catered for and again some previously negative reviews. They had a nice selection of wine, reasonably priced, and some nice specials on. It's not a gourmet food outlet and it doesn't claim to be, and we both the food was off a high pub standard. Breakfast was a reasonably good hotel breakfast.

We really enjoyed the hotel. We also managed a "research" trip round Splash Landings pool and slides which is ace (especially without kids!) though if they find out we went on our own we will be in big trouble! It's quite expensive but it really is quality.

One suggestion is really is why can't Alton Towers put a separate gate with a covered walkway in nearer the hotels to get into park for hotel guests only. This would get guests into Forbidden Valley straight away without having to go on the monorail and walk all the way back (almost to the hotel).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelYAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just got back from a weekend break at Spalsh landings Hotel. We were a party of 2 families each consisting of 2 adults and 1 child age 10.

I have to say it exceeded our expectations, we have been to the waterpark on many occasions but never stayed over. We took advantage of the beach party weekend offer. £99 per room Bed,Breakfast and entry to the water park. And what a barging. we will return again even if there is no offer.

Rooms are large with a standard double and fixed large bunkbeds, there is enough room for a travel cot. The rooms were clean well maintained and warm. we had a great view of the outdoor pool. To see the steam rising from the warm water was a wonderful sight.

It was a bit hectic in the changing rooms at the pool but that is the norm I am afraid.

The food in Flambos was somewhat of a suprise, buffet style all you can eat (just like an all inclusive hotel abroad) with all major UK branded food and lots to choose from including English raost, mexican, indian etc.

All the food was of good quality and hot, all the vegatables were still crisp and nothing got soggy. The breakfast was exactly the same would recommend tyhe food here.

Most importantly the staff all over the hotel were excellent, the best service we have experienced in the UK, they are a credit to the UK service industry.

The only negative to say is that our friends had a room part way down the corridor and we were at the end, the had a disturbed nights sleep because of children running up and down the corridor screaming untill midnight. we did not hear a thing and had a great nights sleep.

The entertainment in the evening was geared for the kids but they did love it.

all in all a great stay and we will return.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the end of a corridor
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank booleyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed here for an event and took my daughter and friends to the sleepover room as a birthday treat. Room was at a reduced rate from the event but that didn't stop the staff giving a 1st class stay. Nothing was too much trouble, pamper kits from the spa, cleanly towels even maintenance from a broken glass. Amazing treat for the girls, clean, comfy suite. Not sure if I can top this birthday treat ever. Breakfast was fab too!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank embl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Great hotel for families , friendly staff ,food in restaurant excellent,we had basic room which fulfilled our needs. Had lovely break highly recommend cant wait to go back again! Ideal weekend retreat recommend nice place to go as family.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.1 mi away
Splash Landings Hotel
12.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
1.9 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
14.3 mi away
Days Inn Stafford
Days Inn Stafford
#3 of 5 in Stone
231 reviews
13.0 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Stone
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alton Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alton Towers Hotel

Address: Farley Lane, Alton ST10 4DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Price Range: $182 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique hotel is themed around the incredible explorer Sir Algenon, who has made the Alton Towers Hotel his home. There are plenty of fun and quirky features to discover, including his amazing flying ship which has crash landed right in the middle of the Hotel. Wake up in our explorer-themed bedrooms, ready for your next adventure! Our Secret Garden restaurant offers a delicious brasserie style menu, and the evening entertainment is perfect for all ages.Whichever hotel you are staying in at the Alton Towers Resort, you can choose to eat in any of the restaurants and drink at any of the bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alton Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alton Hotel Tower

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing