We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Splash Landings Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Reviewed May 22, 2014

After reading so many reviews in here about not to have high expectations I wasn't expecting anything perfect! First off our room keys didn't work, then once we got in the room we had problems with lights, not the best start. As we went to bed around 11 there were children on the floor above running riot! The evening entertainment, the family quiz show was actually rather entertaining and keep us amused. However, flambos restaurant wasn't as good as the staff make out, yes the food is ok, there isn't a massive variety, but enough, but for £19.95 per adult without the unlimited drinks it was overpriced! Although in saying all of this the location was perfect, staff were friendly, we had a good nights sleep and we are now about to head off for our second day in the park!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear Holly F,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in Splash Landings Hotel and found our staff friendly.

We're happy to hear you enjoyed our entertainment offering in our hotels aimed towards our families! We shall pass your comments on regarding our food offering thank you.

We hope you had a great time on the theme park!

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,408 - 1,414 of 2,519 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2014

We decided to stay in the splash landings hotel Friday night and go into the park two days. The price we paid was excellent however in reflection we probably should have stayed at the alton towers hotel, wasn't too much of a problem as you are able to access both hotels. The splash landings is aimed more at children, entertainment wise, rooms etc. The breakfast was great and if you are planing on using the hour early entrance go through the woodland walk, much quicker than the monorail and you walk in by nemesis and will be first riders as many times as you like.

Secret garden restaurant was lovely, great staff and it does get pretty busy! We had originally booked the emporer grill however we were not told that this restaurant was actually shut! Luckily we managed to get a booking in secret garden.

Entertainment was really good in the alton towers hotel. Great singers doing all the old classics.

We had a great time and would definitely go back to the alton towers hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Kelly,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that you had a good time during your recent stay at the Splash Landings Hotel. It's great that you enjoyed the all you can eat buffet style breakfast and took advantage of the Woodland Walk so that you could be one of the first to ride Nemesis at 9am!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your evening meal and the Secret Garden Restaurant too although there was a slight mix up. We will look into how you were able to make a reservation for the Emperors Grill despite it being closed to avoid it happening again. We will pass on your comments regarding out evening entertainment to the entertainment team, we're sure that they will be delighted to hear how much you enjoyed it!

Thanks again for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I've somehow reached the age of *cough*36*cough* without ever going to a theme park and so this was my first time - two days at Alton Towers with a night in between at the Splash Landings Hotel. I'll review the park elsewhere, but I did want to say that the hotel was fantastic. Everything ran so smoothly. We arrived early - 8.30 am when check in wasn't until the afternoon - but this was no problem. We went through the paperwork, left our bags at reception, and when we came back in the afternoon they had all been moved into our room. Very nice and smooth.

Dinner was good, although there was some confusion about whether it was possible for adults to get a refillable drink. I don't understand why this is difficult as elsewhere in the park refills seem to come as standard. The buffet was good, and the chocolate fountain delicious.

The room itself was very comfortable, and the fan much appreciated as it was a hot and humid night. It's maybe a bit expensive for what you get, but I guess what you're paying for is really immediate access to the park, which we took full advantage of. Overall, well worth it. Would happily come back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annwfyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 22, 2014

Dear Annwfyn,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your over night stay at the Splash Landings Hotel. It's great that the check in process went smoothly and our reception team were able to store your luggage for you while you experienced the Theme Park. We are glad that you found your room to be comfortable and felt that the stay overall represented good value for money.

Currently it is not possible for adults to purchase a refillable drink in the Flambos Restaurant however we will pass your feedback onto our Food and Beverage Managers as it may be something that we look into for the future.

Thanks again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort again soon.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Arrived on 16th May. Booked an online deal 2 days in the park and hotel plus early entry to the park.

First day we got to the park about 1ish as it was a Friday and not bank holiday all the rides we're great and no ques. Second day we was excited about early entry as we didn't get to go the smiler on the first day. Well I don't know why it's early entry if they don't open all the main rides. That's the whole point I thought. Very bizzare. The rest of the day was great. Make sure to que for the smiler it was worth it. Also make sure to check out the extraordinary golf.. One of the best mini golf courses I have done and very cheap too.

The food was standard food for theme park. Try the chicken salad at the pirate themed place was really tasty. In the evening we ate in the secret garden restaurant. The food was really good quality and very large portions for those hungry people.

The room was alright. Big enough for 2. We was in a family room id say it would be pretty cramped with 2 kids and 2 adults. The room was clean. They need to get rid of the bath mat. It was looking very old and not very clean which put me off and I didn't use it. The tv doesn't Have free view not that we came to watch tv put thought I would mention it.

Also breakfast had lots of choice if you like full English this is for you as it's a buffet.

Overall would say had a good time. Just remember to avoid that old looking bathmat. (Needs cleaning or new ones)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMFOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear Green69eyesx,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in Splash Landings Hotel, taking advantage of our two days for the price of one entry offer into the theme park!

We're pleased you enjoyed our Extraordinary Golf attraction and found this great value for money - it is a perfect way to unwind and rest either during the day or after the theme park closes. We're also pleased to hear you enjoyed our latest thrill attraction, The Smiler.

Our Early Ride Time is select Rides & Attractions available between 9am-10am, to allow you to ride these attractions before our other guests arrive to increase the amount attractions you'll experience during the day. Our list of rides available during this time is available on our website prior to your visit, and on our information boards inside the hotels.

We're sorry to hear you found the bath mat in your room in need of replacement. If you do find items not to your satisfaction whilst with us we do recommend giving Reception a call who will resolve this instantly. We will, naturally, take your comments on board to see if these do need replacing.

We thank you for visiting, and look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Just returned from the splash landings hotel and had a lovely night away.
Food was ok although I felt that there wasn't as much choice as before. There used to be a brilliant carte dor ice cream bar too and it's also no longer there.
Couldn't fault the room and they even left a nice note to wish my other half happy birthday :o) Dan was especially nice at dinner time in flambos and made sure we were well catered for. The other staff were fab too. The hotel is great but just feel like some corners are being cut with regards to maintenance. Silly things like painting the railing on the veranda in the alton towers hotel let it down a bit. Maybe a bit over critical as we had an amazing time but feel there's no excuse really as it wouldn't take much to make sure it's tip top for the new season.
Anyway loved it and will be back :o)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dah614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Dear Dah614,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate receiving feedback from all of our guests.

We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay at the Splash Landings Hotel and had a fantastic night away. It's great that our staff made a note of your partners birthday and your comments regarding Dan at Flambos will be passed onto his manager. We will also pass on your feedback regarding the little touches you noticed, comments such as yours are important to us as they allow us to review and improve.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Splash Landings Hotel just after Christmas. Out kids are young (both under 10) so the fact that only the children's rides were open wasn't a problem to us.

The room was basic and tired but they are as advertised.

Being next to the waterpark and rides it suited us down to the ground.

Brilliant place for an overnight stay for kids as long as you are there for fun and appreciate its basic accommodation.

Staff are welcoming and can not do enough for you.

Will stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Dear CJB72,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your Festive Break at the Splash Landings Hotel. It's great that you found all of our members of staff to be helpful and polite and felt that the Hotel was the perfect base for the Water Park & Theme Park.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights on the 13th May. Having stayed at the alton towers hotel we thought we would try splash landings.. Rather wished we hadn't bothered. We we're put in a room in the same floor as a school party and after having a to negotiate the corridor with them playing football in it I complained and was moved to another room on the next floor. The bed in this room was not fit for sleeping in as the mattress had collapsed on one side and you rolled off it. After bringing this to the attention of reception we were told it "would be noted" . On returning to the room later the mattress had been simply pushed further across the bed so it overhung on the other side.... Not acceptable. So with very little sleep we were not impressed. Also after leaving the hotel to go to the royal oak in alton for dinner we noticed a very strong smell of someone smoking grass in one of the rooms in the corridor.. Again we mentioned this to reception.. It was "noted" . Food in hotel and theme park very poor and expensive.. We dined out both nights and saved a fortune and had a lovely meal both nights!! After a long day in the park the last thing we wanted was the racket coming from the bar and the entertainment was poor and you couldn't hear yourself think!! Would not ever stay in this hotel again and am really disappointed with the whole experience... Was glad to get home to my own bed!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Dear Peter,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor.

We are grateful for your comments as feedback from our guests is important to the service we deliver and the overall guest experience.

We were concerned to read that you have not experienced our usual high standard of service during your recent stay and would like to speak to you personally regarding your concerns. We would be grateful if you could please complete the feedback form online at our official website, under the 'contact us' section so that our Guest Relations Managers can contact you.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.1 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
12.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
1.8 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Enchanted Village Lodges, Alton Towers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splash Landings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splash Landings Hotel

Address: Alton Towers, Alton ST10 4DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Price Range: $54 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a bright and tropical taste of the Caribbean, the sun shines every day in this crazy Caribbean themed hotel! After a busy day relax in Ma Garrita’s bar, with superb views overlooking the Waterpark and fabulous entertainment into the evening. Splash Landings Hotel offers the perfect Caribbean getaway without stepping onto a plane!All guests will be left with that "Caribbean feeling", and a 'must do' for your stay is a visit to our fantastic tropical Waterpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Splash Landings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splash Landings Alton
Splash Landing Hotel
Hotel Splash Landings
Hotel Landing Splash
Splash Landings Hotel Alton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing