We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Splash Landings Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great stay!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just got back from one night at the hotel and two days in the park and water park and can honestly say we had a great time!
Rooms are spacious and my 6 year old loved the decor!
Water park is awesome and exceeded our expectations with regards as to how much there was to do and how clean everything was. Also very little queing time on the slides

Overall would thoroughly reccomend the hotel again and will definetly be coming back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    847
    511
    248
    148
See reviews for
1,535
260
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Took my 2 children (13 and 11) for an overnight stay in Oct. 2013 and found this to be a lively and very friendly place to stay with the staff always smiling and happy to help. Hotel itself catered in evening for younger children but maybe should try putting on entertainment for those a little older. Never managed to try out the waterpark but it looked good fun although I think it should be free to guests at hotel. Food was excellent (curried goat?) and would def. return again.

Room Tip: Get room next to elevator if you are a fan of Captain Pugwash ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed at splash landings 4 times over the last 10 years and I can honestly say it has been worse every time. The rooms are ok but not very comfortable but the food is particularly disappointing. We ate in Flambos both nights and the menu hardly changed - the carvery was ok but Jamaican goat curry and vegetable rendang two nights in a row was particularly unimpressive - and the breakfast was ok but very little outside the standard sausage eggs and bacon. We tried lunch at Ma Garritas and waited an hour for 2 pizzas and some spag Bol. Come on Alton towers you spend all those millions on new rides then spoil it all with a sub standard hotel experience

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alton hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My partner and I got a £99 deal that included the theme park and one nights stay at splash landings. The interior is very rough around the edges and the rooms, understandably so are very much focused on younger children. Up until about midnight all we could hear were kids running up and down the corridor only to be woken up at 5:30am with exactly the same. Noise travelled very easily and this was a big disruption for us.

We ate out at the secret garden and we were really not expecting to have to pay £16 for a very bland cod dish. The quality of the food was not great and to top it off having to pay £6+ for a standard glass of wine was extortionate. The staff were nice but in the restaurant complained to us about how long their shift was, something you don't really want to hear! Although the hotel is only 10 years old it looks very 90's.

Breakfast was fine but I would not stay there again unless with young children.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoneRanger57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stirling scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had great stay at splash landings! Room clean but could maybe do with a wee lick of paint? Room looking a bit tired! All staff really friendly! Found breakfast to be a bit of a mental experience, was a bit of a free for all..... However it done! I also agree with a previous review from another guest that found a bottle of echo falls rather over priced at £ 18 ish when it's only ever £5 tops from all shops, come on splash landings, get the wine price sorted! Other wise great wee break at splash landings!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicnac_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Surprised by some of the negative reviews - our experience here was very pleasant.
The room was clean and had a nice selection of tea and biscuits, bedding comfortable, room temperature fine.

The corridor outside the room did smell .. interesting, but the room itself was fine. Things could be quite noisy between 10pm and midnight as people would come out of their rooms and run around in the corridor/chat, but to be honest honest it is a theme park hotel and expected. We just watched TV. Noise died down after midnight.

Room theme was cheerful and not as run-down as it looks in some of the photos. The bathroom was swish-looking.

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and great in terms of bookings, guidance and ordering taxis.

The first night we ate at Flambo's - fairly expensive, but the food range was good (I recommend sticking with the asian/carribean end of things if you want to eat something genuinely nice). I think some of the negative reviews may come from people visiting the italian centre section which was a bit more meagre. The surroundings are cheerful though definitely not the place for an intimate meal.
The second night we tried the Secret Garden - a bit more upmarket and adult. The food selection was good and tasted nice.
Breakfast is fine so long as you're willing to turn up early - a fairly wide selection of food.

Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OdradekD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Tried to book via hotel's website and the cost for one night was nearly £200. Booked it through Laterooms for £99. Arrived about 6pm only to be told we couldn't get a table for dinner till 8.45 - not great when I had three hungry teens to feed. Buffet food was not great. Headed for bed only for my son to find a used plaster in his bed. Sheets were quickly changed and I was told to speak to the duty manager the next day. Didn't get to speak to duty manager and was fobbed off with a fast pass for a single ride.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.1 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
1.8 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
5.6 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
13.2 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
3.6 mi away
Whiston Hall Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splash Landings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splash Landings Hotel

Property: Splash Landings Hotel
Address: Alton Towers, Alton ST10 4DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a bright and tropical taste of the Caribbean, the sun shines every day in this crazy Caribbean themed hotel! After a busy day relax in Ma Garrita’s bar, with superb views overlooking the Waterpark and fabulous entertainment into the evening. Splash Landings Hotel offers the perfect Caribbean getaway without stepping onto a plane!All guests will be left with that "Caribbean feeling", and a 'must do' for your stay is a visit to our fantastic tropical Waterpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Splash Landings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splash Landings Alton
Splash Landing Hotel
Hotel Splash Landings
Hotel Landing Splash
Splash Landings Hotel Alton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing