We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Splash Landings Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Hart Hotel(Uttoxeter)
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,562)
Filter reviews
2,562 results
Traveler rating
671
885
559
278
169
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
671
885
559
278
169
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater parksplash landingstheme parkalton towers hotelbunk bedsbeachcomber roomper adultthe secret gardenchocolate fountainice age roomevening buffetgreat funflambos restaurantfamily roomhotel guestsmy sonan all you can eat buffet
Filter
Updating list...
1,911 - 1,916 of 2,562 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We found an offer on the Alton Towers restaurant that included one nights bed and breakfast in the hotel and one day in the waterpark.

We arrived early and the friendly receptionist allowed us into the room immediately. The children were amazed by the hotel from the moment we arrived. The fountains, fish tanks, colouring tables and toys make this a magical place for a 2 year old.

The room is fairly basic but not a bad size and the beds were very comfortable. The little fish shaped bubble baths were a lovely touch.

The waterpark is absolutely amazing and i was very impressed by how much there was to do for very young children and babies. They even supply float vests for the children. My son can't stop talking about the huge bucket of water that regularly empty it's contents over the whole park. The pool area is warm and mostly inside so we could happily sit out with the baby while he slept without having to get dressed. We were in the pool over 3 hours per day and never got bored.

We ate dinner and breakfast in Flambo's restaurant which was undeniably good value. It was £19.95 per adult including 3 courses of the international buffet and fizzy drinks. We also ordered a bottle of wine which was very reasonably priced. It is very very loud in there and there are a lot of children leaping around while you are trying to eat and once the magician started on the floor above it was quite headachey. You do have the option of eaten in the Restaurant in the other hotel which i would definitely advise for a couple dining alone.

After dinner we walked over the walkway (which for our 2 year old was an adventure in itself). We had a drink in the Dragon Bar and watched the live vocalist who was excellent and just what was needed in the setting, He sung well known songs and provided a relaxed atmosphere but still allowed for conversation.

Overall we were far more impressed than we expected to be and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChloeMcKell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just returned from a one night stay at Splash Landings hotel. On arrival on a busy Friday evening, we queued for approx 15 minutes before we could check in. Our room was clean and comfortable. One double bed and a set of bunk beds.

We ate at Flambo’s Exotic for dinner and we had made a dinner reservation for 6:45pm. I would recommend you do make a reservation as other people we spoke to could not get a seating until much later in the evening.

The food was of excellent choice and good quality. The price was £20 per adult and £11 per child. There was roast dinner, curry, fajita, roast chicken, steak, chips, salad, battered fish, king prawns, soup etc. The soft drinks of coke, Fanta etc were included in the price and were refillable. The chocolate fountains really were our children’s favourite!

The staff in the restaurant were mostly very friendly and helpful. Our server Altar, was lovely and also the guy who carved the roast meats was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, the old guy serving ice cream, was particularly miserable. Even when I asked if he was ok when he didn’t smile back, I still didn’t get an acknowledgment or even eye contact, simply a grunt.

This was the only staff member we encountered at Splash Landings that was less than exceptional. I can see that customer service is high on the list of priorities, as all other staff were so inquisitive, friendly and helpful. From the shop assistants to housekeeping and even walking down corridors, it was so nice to see staff saying hello and asking if you were having a nice time. This is the first time outside of visiting the USA that we have encountered such friendly staff.

My main recommendation to the hotel would be to install some soft close linings for the rooms doors. For the life of me I will never understand why some guests think they are the only one’s staying at the hotel and think that shouting and running down corridors at gone 10pm then slamming doors and letting their kids scream is acceptable is beyond me!

Breakfast the following day was plentiful. Toast, fruit juices, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, and the usual sausage, bacon, black pudding, fried, scramble egg, tomato and hash browns.

Unfortunately, the express check-out service via the room TV did not work (room 1453) but thankfully the queue on Saturday morning was not as bad as check-in so it was swift.

After putting our bags in the car, we then headed back to the water park. It did not disappoint. There was plenty of fun to be had, my only niggle is that on the park map it shows toddler slides but there were actually none inside. The outdoor slide did not open until nearly lunch time due to the snow, but the outdoor hot tub was a delight to sit in with the snow so thick on the ground!

All in all a really good place for families, we will surely keep a look out for good deals to return soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

stayed at this hotel for a xmas party, hotel price was good value at £20per person bed and breakfast, nice and clean, but rooms were freezing, ( no heating in the bedroom )

had the xmas meal at £25 per person which i though was a lot of money for what we got. portions were very small. pre ordered drinks and paid for them beforehand saving ourselfs £20 on the night.

would go again to this hotel but i would not go to an xmas party again

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MG84oooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Booked a family Festive Break at Splash Landings and was really impressed. The room was spotless and spacious. Comfy double bed, great view over the outdoor pool and nice touches such as Nemo shower gel for the kids and decent tea/coffee stuff. Bathroom was a bit tired but functional. Kids loved the towel elephant on the bed. We weren't disturbed by hotel noise or by our neighbours. Breakfast was a bit frantic but the staff were brilliant and cleared everything away as quickly as they could. What really made our stay were the staff - they were chatty, cheerful, helpful and genuinely looked like they enjoyed their jobs. I commend the entertainment staff for carrying on with karaoke despite some 'difficult' people. We didn't eat in the hotel as it was far too expensive at £20 a head for everyone over 12. Overall a very pleasant stay and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denimwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We told my son we were going swimming for his 6th birthday so he was delighted when we arrived at this small but perfect indoor water park (we didnt stay in the hotel). We thought we were taking a big chance going on the last day of the season but we were very pleasantly surprised indeed, we picked a great time of year and a great day to go because it was relatively quiet in people numbers and volume.

In my oppinion it is only for families with younger children - thats what the majority if the stuff is aimed at, so I think teens would get bored very quickly with only 4 'big' rides to go on. My 6yr old had a go on the biggest ride with his dad, was totally terrified and wouldnt go on anything else so we spent the day in the outdoor hot tub, the swim-round 'rapids' pool and playing on the climbing frame firing water guns and tipping buckets of water on other kids. We didnt expect anything great from the food on offer but we had a hot meatball sub which was really nice, a jam sandwich, ice cream and slush kept my son very happy, we were more than happy with the prices too.

A welcome addition was the helpfulness of the staff, all very pleasant and nothing too much trouble. It should be noted though that this is staffed almost entirely by teens/very young adults, a particularly surly looking one made it obvious he had no interest in being there or in children who were in high spirits or hestiant about going on the rides - we saw him lose his temper at a child and his mum when the little boy changed his mind about going on the 'big' one (after going on it I have to say I was pretty scared and thought that the boy had made a sensible choice), kids working with kids isnt always a good thing so I would have liked to have seen a couple of more mature supervisory type staff.

The only down side was that some of the wooden fixtures and fittings were totally rotten and might have caused a couple of splinters - I am extremely russy about these small details but it didnt affect our fun at all - we loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jordie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews