We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splash landings....clean but like sleeping in a crèche!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Splash Landings Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Splash landings....clean but like sleeping in a crèche!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

My son age 14 and I booked a night at splash landings during scarefest. We have stayed there 3 times before. Obviously being scarefest we knew the hotel was busy and hence would be noisy. The hotels biggest downfall is the noise, the walls of the rooms are too thin and you can hear the kids getting up at 6am running around the corridors. After a full day at the theme park some people just want to crawl into bed and sleep! My room this year was right outside the corridors entrance and everytime someone opened the door you could hear it bang shut, which happened every 20 seconds or so until around midnight then got started up again at 6am with kids running up and down. I complained to reception but was informed there were no spare rooms to move to. Fair enough. Anyway we had a poor nights sleep due to the noise even though I put the fan on to try and drown it out. I complained again in the morning, as we were going to spend another full day at the park but were too knackered. The receptionist was lovely and very understanding and refunded me 25% of my price. A gesture which I really appreciated given the hotel is not cheap, it would also make me more inclined to stay again as I felt they understood my issues and didn't try and fob me off. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and the room was spotlessly clean and warm. I just wish it could be quieter and more relaxing, and maybe parents could stop their children bombing up and down the corridors being mindful people are trying to sleep!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenmaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    847
    504
    246
    145
See reviews for
1,527
259
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed at Splash Landings Hotel for the night with my young family and had a brilliant time. The family rooms are well equipped and clean, and perfect for our needs. We took advantage of all the facilities while we were there, and really appreciated the extra touches, such as the Hallowe'en decorations and the entertainment put on by the staff in the evenings.

All the staff were friendly and helpful, and it was a great base from where we could enjoy and explore the theme park and water park.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 523 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

ok, so 16 of us stayed at the Splash landings hotel on the 25th and 26th October 2012 for Scarefest, now we arrived checked in fast, rooms not ready so we got the park tickets and fast tracks and off we went, (i will do another review on the park itself)
Back on arrival to the hotel at 530pm we checked in the additional three rooms, all rooms together, all rooms looked clean, yet dust on top of the mirror, in bedroom and bathroom, the pillows on the bed very thin, quilt also summer quilt, besides these issues, it was fine, all the team bent over backwards to assist or help in anyway, i opened a room account, and when i went to check out they said, £73.00 i owed,
i had over 455 quid worth of recipiets which i did advise of this, SILLY RECEPTION had another party room up....... mmmMMMmmm, shocking fundemenatl issue there. the Breakfast was standard, yet a fine selection of everything we could of wanted, coffee was ok...... no decafe...
this Breakfast room was very very loud, loads of kids everywhere then i remembered Oh they was our kids, lol. we normaly do Disney for xmas yet we said we would do alton towers this year for halloween rather, will we go back, DEFO, IN A HEART BEAT. besodes the issue of my partner whacking his head of the bedside table at 4am which woke him, lack of fluffly pillows, and a sheet for a cover, no we didnt bring none of these issues up, we didnt want to waste time with complaining, IT was a superb Family Holiday 2k lighter and now fond memeories......
A MUST IF YOU WANT TO EXPLORE YOUR INNER FEARS AT SCAREFEST,
CHHHOOOOOOOOOO----CHHHOOOOOOOOOO. lololl

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the entertainment for a more peaceful room, get to breakfast before 730 f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjslaterhot77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Me and my 8 year old son stayed during 'scarefest', not intentional but there was a £99 offer on the Alton Towers website, which was too good to pass up!


Sacrefest, staff go OTT making this place as halloween'ish as possible, with cobwebs and pumpkins galore! Loved it.


The customer service guy in reception was very helpful, all staff in fact was eager to hep and make things as simple and quick as possible. We couldn't check in till 3, so we just collected our park tickets to return later in the day.

After a day at the park we checked in and was happy to see our room was clean and seemed a fun place to stay after an equally fun day at the park. A caribbean theme with driftwood picture frames and soft sealife patterned carpet.
Bathroom clean with a bath with shower over, complementary shampoo and body wash, plus Nemo Bath bubbles.
The only gripe i have, is the room hadn't been dusted in a while, and the telephone was grimy.

The television has the usual channels, plus tiny pop for kids.

Our room was private and not overlooked, the windows were sash and could open up.

We were woken up a few times at night by people running along the corridors shouting, not the hotels fault and is to be expected when kids are excited. Parents should make them aware however that people are sleeping behind the doors!

In the morning, we went for breakfast and were shown to the table very the helpful staff who always asked if we had stayed at the resort before, to ensure we weren't confused as to what to do. They always gave advice.

Breakfast was the usual - sausages, bacon, hash browns, beans, tomatoes and black pudding, plus scrambled of fried eggs.

A choice of cereals, or fruit with yoghurt. Toast with butters and jams,
All you can eat with all breakfast items.

fresh apple, orange or water. Or hot drinks were chocolate, coffee, latte, mocha or tea.

Tables were cleaned efficiently.

I would definitely return here. I enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mysonjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed a night at end of September and I have to say as a family we all REALLYenjoyed it. Got tickets though sun offer then half price hotel.
Great 'themed' hotel, rooms standard, we went to the eat all you can buffet which was a little expensive but food was really nice. Book though as it gets really busy and we had to wait. Staff very nice and helpful. We had most of a day in park but being a frequent visitor to the park we decided to spend most of the time in the waterpark which is fantansic! Mostly indoors, great pools, things to do for my four year and we loved the lazy river. Outdoor slides were great even in the rain! Indoor slides a little ruff for my little one when on my knee but adult slides fab.

All in all really enjoyed our visit and will return when offer on again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Just back from yet another stay at splash landings.....once again we all had the most amazing time ever....we go to splash landings quite a lot and have never been dissapointed.....we asked for a room overlooking the outside waterpark and got just what we asked for....nothing is ever too much trouble for the staff at the resort and they go out of their way to make you happy.....our room was a double and 2 bunks and my kids are 18 and 15 and as all they do is sleep in the room this is adequate......scarefest was outstanding this year AGAIN....loved the sanctuary and riding in the dark.....keep up the good work and see you all soon......oh and we travel from edinburgh so it's not even close to us...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lainy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Splash Landings Hotel is the base for the Alton Towers water park and is themed for children, making it the hotel of choice for most families with couples tending to stay in the Alton Towers Hotel instead.

On arriving in the area, the hotels are well signposted and there is plenty of free car parking by the entrances. In fact the theme park has a capacity of 28,000 guests and the car parks are huge so guests who intend to visit the theme park next day would be best to leave their cars and catch the monorail to the park, since that makes it very easy to find their car again at the end of the day! We did not find it easy to locate our car and have now learned that lesson!

The hotel is busy and guests intending to visit the water park on the day of their arrival should note that it closes at 6.00 during October, with the outside attractions (slides, pool and Jacuzzi) closing at 4.00. An added bonus though is that guests may visit the water park twice during their stay but any readmission to the water park would be treated as a second use of the facilities – it’s best to plan ahead and make sure that you have all of the paraphernalia you might need.

A further benefit to hotel guests is that they are granted early access to the theme park from 9.00 with certain rides (not all) being opened for them to use. Breakfast opens at 7.30 - giving ample time to eat and check out – with a good selection of food from cereals, croissants, hot breakfast, juices and tea/coffee.

As an additional bonus, hotel guests are able to leave their car when visiting the theme park and then exit the car park free of charge at the end of the day; theme park visitors not staying in the hotel are charged £6 per day for parking.

We stayed in a family room with a double bed and a bunk bed. The bunk beds are full size rather than being sized for small children, so would suit teenagers. Rooms are compact but have a widescreen tv and a modern bathroom.

The hotel has a positive approach to customer service and contacted us before arrival to offer assistance; we wanted to book at table for an evening meal, and based on their recommendation opted for Flambo’s restaurant across in Alton Towers Hotel (accessible from Splash Landings via a closed walkway) where the menu was extensive, the food very good indeed and the service excellent. A pleasant added touch was a singing duo providing an hour’s entertainment.

Both hotels have a shop so guests may wish to buy souvenirs there rather than doing so in the theme park and then having to carry them around or rent a locker.

Our one regret was that we did not have time to try Extraordinary Golf. Next year definitely!

In summary, Splash Landings is an excellent choice for families wishing to visit the water park or the theme park. Although pricey, it is ultra convenient for both since Alton is not the easiest place to reach and there are few hotels in the immediate area. Couples may wish to look at the Alton Towers Hotel instead.

Room Tip: There are lots of different room types available so do your homework via the Alton Towers website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgieChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.1 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
1.8 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
5.6 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
12.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
3.6 mi away
Whiston Hall Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splash Landings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splash Landings Hotel

Property: Splash Landings Hotel
Address: Alton Towers, Alton ST10 4DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a bright and tropical taste of the Caribbean, the sun shines every day in this crazy Caribbean themed hotel! After a busy day relax in Ma Garrita’s bar, with superb views overlooking the Waterpark and fabulous entertainment into the evening. Splash Landings Hotel offers the perfect Caribbean getaway without stepping onto a plane!All guests will be left with that "Caribbean feeling", and a 'must do' for your stay is a visit to our fantastic tropical Waterpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Splash Landings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splash Landings Alton
Splash Landing Hotel
Hotel Splash Landings
Hotel Landing Splash
Splash Landings Hotel Alton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing