We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun-filled Caribbean Themed Hotel :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Splash Landings Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Alton
Somerset
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fun-filled Caribbean Themed Hotel :)”
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed for two nights at this hotel. On arrival, we were both excited to find a bright, welcoming and fun foyer, featuring an over-sized deck-chair, surf boards, lego play area, water features, fish tank, reception desk as well as superb views of the water park.

Parking was free (if you stay on site) otherwise it would have cost £6 per day. Check in was quick and easy, they had our tickets ready and were happy to look after our bags as well as take them to our room once it was ready at 3pm.

After a busy day in the theme park we were ready to rest, the room continued the theme and even had fish themed bath products! It was clean and included tea and coffee facilities, TV, hairdryer, kids colouring packs, iron and ironing board, fan as well as a double bed and bunk beds (Family Room).

Breakfast was included in the price we paid and was a buffet which featured a wide range of both hot and cold food and drink. We didn't use the hotel restaurants as we felt they were too expensive at £19.99 per adult (slightly cheaper for kids but still over-priced) instead we opted to eat in the Theme Park where you have the choice of 2 meals for £10/£12 and all you can eat and drink Pizza Buffet for £8.45. There are also pubs a ten minute drive from the site.

We took advantage of the early ride time which is offered to hotel guests, it was amazing and gave us the opportunity to ride 3-4 popular rides before the 10am rush! We managed to do more rides in this first hour than the rest of the day! Well worth it!

The water park was a lot of fun and had something for everyone, with slides, jacuzzi, outdoor area, water climbing frame and kids area. Keep an eye on the opening hours though as they change day to day! We felt that £15 per adult was a bit pricey, but you can get tickets cheaper when you book more nights.

Overall it's a good hotel for the easy access to the theme park and water park. However do keep an eye on expenses once you're there as drinks and food is over-priced (but this is to be expected at any theme park) we would definitely stay again but probably only when there is a special offer.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JS2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    823
    488
    237
    146
See reviews for
1,478
257
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

The Splash Landings Hotel is pretty much the best family hotel I have stayed at in the UK. I am not sure of any similar hotels where you can sleep for one night and has so much on offer for kids (Alton Towers, Water Park and Entertainment). I am very surprised to see any poor reviews for this hotel amongst anyone who has young kids. It is totally geered towards and tailors for children. I have 6 year old twins and a 4 -year old and they were all incredibly sad to leave. Yes, it is expensive, but what do you expect with a hotel linked to Alton Towers. If you expecting it to be a bit expensive then you won't be disappointed. The point is that the hotel can charge what they do because people are prepared to pay. When we were there the hotel was full, but even so the service was great and included free afternoon/evening family entertainment including free face painting, balloons etc. All things considered the only reason I gave this 4 and not 5 stars was the expense. Everything else was just great.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RMWCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Just got back from our stay at Splash Landings, Wow it was fantastic. Room spotless, service from all staff was lovely, really helpful, food great, both myself, husband and our 8 year old throughly enjoyed it. Stayed for 2 nights and will be visiting again. Theme park and water park well worth the money, thanks Alton Towers we all had a mega time "))

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bellelo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

I stayed here with my wife for one night before visiting the theme park. We booked late and paid £99 B&B which I think is what it was worth. If we had paid full price the negatives would have annoyed us a lot more.

Firstly the good stuff. The parking is free at the hotel so this saves at least £6 straight away. The staff were very friendly when we checked in and we were able to buy our park tickets from a desk next to reception. The room was OK, it wasn't very big but these are rooms not suites so it was as expected. They do have a hairdryer, iron, ironing board, LCD TV, tea/coffee making facilities and they provide toiletries in the bathroom. The hotel is themed around the beach theme which kids will love. The breakfast was good and included the usual hot English breakfast items plus plenty of pastries, fresh fruit & cereal.

The best thing was that we got into the park an hour earlier than non hotel guests. This meant we rode 3 busy rides; Nemesis, Rita and Thirteen before the park even officially opened. If you like one particular ride you could stay in one place and ride it loads of times!

However, some things let the hotel down. Our room was not fully cleaned. We found a sock and tissues on the bedside book shelf, plastic wrappers in the bath and stickers on the bed sheets. It seemed the cleaning was done in a rush.

The walls seemed paper thin, we expect to hear other guests when staying in a hotel but in this hotel seemed a lot worse than others, we could hear every door opening/closing, every person walking the corridor, every person talking, every person using the toilet in the next room!

The food in the restaurants is very expensive. We looked at the evening buffet which seemed to have a good selection but wasn’t worth the money so we went into Alton for something to eat.

We had a slight problem at breakfast. We got our drinks and some pastries. We then went up for the hot breakfast and had to wait a few minutes for the toast machine. When we went back to our table it had been cleared and we had to move. The server apologised but didn’t offer to replace our drinks so we had to go and queue for them again. It wasn’t a big deal but annoying none the less.

In comparison to this hotel, last year we stayed at the Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Studios, Florida. We felt that we had a much better experience there and rather than early entrance to the park the key cards acted as unlimited fast passes which again we felt was better.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HullChris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

2 adults and our 4 year old son stayed for 2nights at splash landings.Receptions fantastic when you first enter the hotel you really do feel as though your abroad.Water park was a big hit with my Son plenty too do and Tons of excitement for kids and adults alike. Downside too the waterpark is Quenchers cafe the only place too eat within the waterpark.Ten tables between everyone and we orders 2x pre packed sarnies 2x soft drinks a pack of four Jaffa cakes and 2x walkers crisps for the painfull price of £19.82! embarassed I paid for it! dry sarnies day expiring te same day :-( check in too room painless staff happy and friendly really good infact.I am really not a fussy person but the room was caked in dust on light fittings tv etc but we had a moan at reception as there was urine and tide marks on the loo! a huge pet hate for me took 20 mins for cleaner too clean it,no apology.Rooms have seen better days beds really hard? but still beach inspired carpet and fish shower gel pods fun for younger children.
Booked into Flambos for dinner...again carrabian feel too it...,loads too pick from some of it cooked much better than other dishes dessert bar and chocolate fountine was yum though :-)
Pricey at around £55 for 2 adults and one under 5 but for convenience of staying on resort price you're going too pay.
Brekkie really enjoyable cereal/full english/continental or fruit salad...juices tea coffee really nice loads of choice would recommend.
Theme park im sure you all know so wont go into details but all in all I would stay again but prob just a night too use waterpark and take advantage of the early opening at themepark.Staff lovely...but food/shops overpriced.All in all we came back smiling so shall visit again maybe next year and give Alton towers hotel a try.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tulula1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We have used this hotel several times over the past 2 years and we never get sick. It has the excitement factor every time we visit. The hotel has little surprise features around every corner.
We have 4 young children and this is the only hotel we have found with "family" rooms sleeping up to 7 people. Yipee! There are also family facility rooms on each floor with a fridge, microwave, washer, dryer, nappy bin etc..
(Just beware they have rules about parent to child ratio in the waterpark).
Pre book you evening meal though if you want to eat at Flambo's ( a wonderful all you can eat buffet pricey for adults but cheap for kids about £17 and £5 ish) and time it so you can follow dinner with the fabulous kids entertainment programme.
The themed monorail takes you from the hotel straight into the park, and if visiting with kids, get a parent passfree from the gust services office which saves you queueing twice. We have annual passes (which we get via Tesco points) which gives 20%off shops and restaurants in the park. Woodcutters grill is excellent, opposite Hex.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: pool view, not carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackiefarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2011

I stayed in the hotel for one night and overall my experience was good!!

When we arrived we went to check in the were really nice and made us feel welcome and even though our room wasn't ready they offered to take out bags and pit them in the room for us which was good so we spent the day in the theme park.

When we went to our room in the evening our first impression was it was a nice room eve though it was pretty basic with one double bed and a bunk bed there was only two of is staying on the room but I think if there was four people it would have felt a bit cramped.

There was toiletries provided and tea and coffee which was nice. We didnt eat in any of the restarunts because I had read previous reviews about the price.

You do get free all u can eat breakfast in the morning which is nice with a decent variety of food to choose from.

If you are staying one night I think it would be good to check out by 8.30 so you can take advantage of going to the theme park a hour early which is a nice advantage of staying in the hotel. If you do have any luggage with you and you didn't travel by car then there is a place to leave your bags in the theme park at a cost of £5 for the day!

Overall it was a pleasant experience and I will defiantly be staying again

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkpinoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.1 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
13.2 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
1.8 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
12.9 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
8.8 mi away
Best Western Stoke East
Best Western Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splash Landings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splash Landings Hotel

Property: Splash Landings Hotel
Address: Alton Towers, Alton ST10 4DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a bright and tropical taste of the Caribbean, the sun shines every day in this crazy Caribbean themed hotel! After a busy day relax in Ma Garrita’s bar, with superb views overlooking the Waterpark and fabulous entertainment into the evening. Splash Landings Hotel offers the perfect Caribbean getaway without stepping onto a plane!All guests will be left with that "Caribbean feeling", and a 'must do' for your stay is a visit to our fantastic tropical Waterpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Splash Landings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splash Landings Alton
Splash Landing Hotel
Hotel Splash Landings
Hotel Landing Splash
Splash Landings Hotel Alton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing