We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Home in an Ideal Location.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Old Castle Inn

dining area with feature furniture
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
dining area with feature furniture
3 storey house wood burner in dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
61 reviews
dining area with feature furniture
3 storey house
wood burner in dining area
large open fire
kitchen
View from dining area into conservatory
library / music room
master double bedroom
master bedroom
large conservatory over looking garden
garden
garden
view of Alton Castle from the back of the house
stunning walks at Dovedale, nearby
Alton Church
Alton Castle
Alton Castle retreat
Alton bridge
Alton rail station
Alton village jail house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Alton, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Felix L
1 review
“Beautiful Home in an Ideal Location.”
Reviewed July 19, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We arrived at the property to find it was huge. A lot bigger than the property looks in the pictures. We arrived to find the property was in an emaculate condition and had a very homely feel for a holiday home. The owner is very friendly and responds quickly to any query you may have. The location of the property is ideal with Alton being in the middle of the country and so is great for getaways, family meetups or to go to Alton Towers (which is just around the corner). We came as part of a large group and ever member of the group were satisfied, I highly recommend this property for anyone considering booking as it's such great value for money- you really do get your moneys worth. I enjoyed it so much that I am planning to return here in future!

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jawad A
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 15, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

great place, amazing village like area, perfect for a holiday get away and only a few minuets from Alton towers theme park, would definitely go again

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r0ssalgar
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed July 15, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Very nice house in a great location especially for anyone going to Alton Towers, would definitely go again

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gracemarg...
liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed July 14, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This was our second visit so that in itself speaks volumes. Love the quirkiness of the house and the spacious bedrooms.Spent most of our time in the conservatory. Great walks on the doorstep and Trentham Gardens well wort a visit. Joe (6) cried because he didn't want to leave his special holiday home.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12345502
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quirky and Great for Alton Towers”
Reviewed June 13, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stopped here start of June17 with 4 adults and 6 kids. The house was easy to find and we managed parking outside. Inside the house is quirky and very interesting. All the beds were very comfy and the house was well set up for a large group. We visited Alton Towers one day ( 10 mins away ) and the next walked Dimmingsdale from the Ramblers retreat. The Bridge nearby is great to eat at and the White Hart was good for a pint.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn P
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place, perfect location, perfect host”
Reviewed April 12, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Great house, great contact from Gabrielle. Nothing negative all good, recommended already to friends.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaLeeso...
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely but unkept”
Reviewed March 29, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This house is in a wonderful location but really needs a good declutter, clean and general overhaul.
There was 6 adults and 4 children staying over three days and I can't say anything negative about the location really beautiful and locals all friendly.
The accommodation is comfortable eg beds and bedding but I'm afraid that's all that's clean here. Everything was dusty unkept and unclean and not set up as a holiday let. It's a shame because it could be amazing. The garden could be a real asset but everything was rusty and dated.
Despite all the negatives we enjoyed all being together and that's what it's all about.

Date of stay: March 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2017
Oh dear, very sorry to hear this Emma. We think carefully about what bits and pieces to have in the house with a view to adding to the charm of the place, and sorry if your group found it too much. It should of course always be at an adequately clean standard for guests, and we had our normal cleaner in (for 4 hours between groups) who usually does a good job. We will endeavour to find out what happened this time.
We are pleased to hear that you had a good weekend despite your disappointment about the house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing