We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cold Showers” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Star Caravan & Camping Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Star Caravan & Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Cold Showers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Only spent one night here in a tent, 3 of us. Although my son enjoyed the playground, which I must say was superb, I was dissapointed that the showers were just luke warm. It was 9am so I would have expected there still to be hot water at this time, also the shower area was not very clean, have been to far better sites. Average overall.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lollo2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    43
    9
    6
    19
See reviews for
92
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights as a base for Alton Towers.
Staff were friendly and showed us pitches available, I thought this was a nice touch.
Pitches nice and spacious, as we had a tent there was a paio / hardstanding next to us which was useful for sitting in the sun.
The washing facilities and showers were good, plenty of room in the showers with lots of hot water, a mop is upplied so you can give the shower a quick mop ready for the next person.
A few people have commented on the sloping pitches, we didnt have a problem with this, we just arranged our beds etc so that we didnt 'roll', there is a pub literally just down the road, its very convenient but not brilliant, for example the kids sausage and mash meal had onions in the mash, service was quite slow as well.
Alton Towers is literally around the corner - I think it was a quicker drive from the Camp site than it was actually driving through Alton Towers grounds.
Overall a nice clean & tidy site ideally located near Alton Towers :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairy_Dust_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We just stayed the Weekend at his fantastic site. Exceptionally clean
Site with helpful and very friendly wardens.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff at this site.

I will definately return, and would highly recommend this site

Lawrence Knight

Northampton

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Hi All,

We have just arrived home after a two night stay at the Alton Star site. I originally booked this via a third party web site for two nights camping, pitch only. On arrival we were met by Steve and Dawn in reception, who were extremely friendly and welcoming. I was shown to my pitch which was very level and by the tall hedge row boundary to provide extra protection from the wind..Steve gave us a choice of pitching where ever we liked but recommended this spot as the wind was picking up. We are a big family, four young children and my partner is pregnant. The idea of camping sounded lots of fun but as I was setting up the tent, the skies opened and it rained long and very hard for hours and hours. I decided to enquire about the static mobile homes and lucky us, they had one free for the two nights. Steve was happy to except the money I had already paid through a third party site and take it off the fee for the mobile home, which last minute I found to be very flexible and helpful. They really couldnt have done more for us to be fair, the grounds are amazingly clean, great little play area for the kids, all facilities are immaculate. My partner is a clean freak and massivley fussy, the place kept her very happy and that is recommendation enough!! We were visiting Alton Towers, and its litterally a 3 minute drive, just around the corner and you would never know its there from the campsite. I cant rate this place highly enough...this is the first review i have ever written so I dont make these statements lightly.

If there was anything we could say to positively improve this camp site, its to add a shop or cafe
and then it really would be perfect....Would 100% return with out any reservation,

Room Tip: We stayed in executive static mobile home number 1. Extreamly clean and spacious for the kids. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Visited the campsite with my 12 year old neice as we do a yearly trip together to Alton Towers and thought we'd try the camping and make a weekend of it.
Unfortunatly we visited the campsite on a VERY wet and windy weekend.
When we arrived we were greeted very warmly by the reception, and we were given a choice of pitches, as the weather was so bad the guy showing us the choices ensured that we were in a sheltered spot to make it more comfortable for us, they were all very friendly and showed us where all the facilities were on the site.
The facilities themselves were great, all the indoor areas were lovely and warm, and they were very clean and well maintained.
The campsite itself is walking distance from Alton Towers, however the main road can be quite busy, with no pavement, so we opted to drive anyway.
There isn't a shop onsite so make sure you get all your previsions before you arrive.
overall a lovely stay despite the weather, would definately visit again.

Room Tip: They sell 'buy one get one free' tickets to Alton Towers in the reception, so buy your ticke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here last weekend Saturday the 4th August.The campsite is ideal if your going to Alton towers,the bus stop is just around the corner and it only takes 10 minutes.The campsite is clean with good facilities,however it's very quiet!!, not a bad thing after a busy day but if your looking for lively this is not for you as there is a strict no noise policy after eleven and the gates are closed.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rebeccamurrayx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Ideal location for Alton towers,clean shower area, fish and chips available on saturday we were there from a mobile chip van. Very hilly, this is our second visit, first was March when it was quieter less busy. This time its very busy and very noisy, people beside us playing music till early hours, people behind us has a very loud windbreaker, was windy so heard it all night, car alarms going off, kids screaming, parents screaming at kids. We arrived after 5 hour journey around 10:40 pm staff knew we were coming, our tent was put up by my husband in afternoon, staff member told us to be quiet, we were going in tent and blew air beds up!!! What about telling the others constant noise not arrival, we were quiet by 11 when gates lock.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mindtheweans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.0 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Lower Micklin Farm
Lower Micklin Farm
#2 of 4 in Alton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quarry Walk Lodges
Quarry Walk Lodges
#1 of 1 in Freehay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Enchanted Village Lodges, Alton Towers Resort
0.0 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
0.0 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#9 of 12 in Alton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Caravan & Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Caravan & Camping Park

Property: The Star Caravan & Camping Park
Address: Star Road | Nr Alton Towers, Stoke-on-Trent, Alton ST10 3DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Alton
Also Known As:
The Star Caravan And Camping Park
The Star Caravan & Camping Park Hotel Alton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing