We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good quality”
Review of Ramblers Retreat

Ramblers Retreat
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Alton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Ramblers Retreat is an award winning country tearoom nestled in the Dimmingsdale, part of the beautiful Churnet Valley in Staffordshire. Our menu is homemade using only the best ingredients, many of which are sourced from local suppliers in the Staffordshire Moorlands. And as well as a delicious meal you can also enjoy the beauty and tranquillity of Dimmingsdale, this spectacular valley by following one of the established woodland walks. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good quality”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

found this on about staffordshire app as excellent value and very nicely cooked. the surrounding are superb and the service was excellent

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    77
    25
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food in a lovely setting”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Although the prices were not budget prices it was worth it for the location and venue. Gardens are beautiful and very helpful staff who let us look through their photo albums when we said we had not been before.food was good quality.
As for atmosphere I would have given a mark of 6 if possible!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rantone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Visited with my daughter and granddaughter for an unplanned lunch. I had a cheese and onion jacket potato and my daughter had a cheese and tuna jacket potato. My daughter doesn't like mayo so they made her one without which was helpful. We were both given the option of a regular salad or salad garnish to accompany it and it also came with a handful of tortilla crisps. It was very fresh and tasty and of good quality. My daughter had the treacle tart and whipped fresh cream for dessert. The desserts were amazing and all looked homemade and the portions were of a considerable size. We also had a luxury hot chocolate drink which came topped with cream, 2 marshmallows, a flake and a thin biscuit. The waitress was friendly and attentive and provided a highchair for my granddaughter. We sat in the conservatory which was warm and very clean. The gardens are beautiful and there is plenty of seating outside and bowls are provided for dogs to have a drink of water from the springs. Horse riders and ramblers are welcome and there are some very beautiful walks which are detailed on a noticeboard outside. There is also a bird/wildlife watching shed with 2 hatches from which we watched a squirrel. We will definitely visit again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lalkav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Somewhere to tell your friends about.”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had seen this place on Tripadvisor and went out of our way to visit it while touring north Staffordshire. Weekday, lunchtime. Yes, it is as good as they say. Wonderful setting, very imaginative layout, food plain but nicely cooked and presented. Very good service (but don't call me sweetheart, please)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great for lunch after a long walk”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Went for a late lunch after a walk, was quite busy but some seats available out of the sun. We each ordered a sandwich from the hatch, were given a buzzer which would go off when they were ready. Didn't have to wait long, the sandwiches when they arrived were lovely. Asked for lots of drinks for 2 of us (it had been a long walk!), felt the staff were laughing at me a bit for ordering so many but they weren't outright rude so no direct complaints. Too full for dessert but they sounded delicious and I was a bit disappointed the sandwiches had been so big, I really wanted to try several of them!! Would definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank torioso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ramblers Retreat also viewed

 

Been to Ramblers Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing