We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to visit again!”
Review of The Malthouse B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Malthouse B&B
Ranked #3 of 10 Alton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I have been meaning to leave a review for a while now! I have been here twice and both times it was beyond compare! The staff are very helpful and friendly and seem to genuinely enjoy running the B&B. The rooms are extremely comfortable and clean, and the breakfast was- oh gosh- it was perfect, just delicious. I stayed in a disabled-access room the first visit and an upstairs room the second visit and both afforded a feeling of luxury. We stayed while visiting Alton Towers but this gem of a B&B is also well situated for visiting the surrounding beautiful countryside. Simply wonderful, definitely worth staying there!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonny-mows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

We want you to visit again too! So glad you've added your review and that you found everything to your liking. We REALLY do like running our B&B and we're glad it shows. Every effort is made to ensure our guests feel comfortable and enjoy their stay. Knowing we got it right is very rewarding. Hope it's not long before we see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
There are newer reviews for The Malthouse B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 198 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

I love this place, beautiful gardens, lovely breakfasts, lovely people who can't do enough for you. No complaints about anything - all brilliant. Can I add that the amount of little birds in the garden are just fantastic - I am soooo jealous!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherK148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

We were really delighted to see this family again. It was wonderful to welcome back such lovely, caring folk. We love our garden and get lots of pleasure from feeding and watching the birds that visit it. It's great to know that our guests enjoy watching the birds in our garden too! Hope this family come back to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Booked this B&B due to it being only 5 minutes from Alton Towers. Had a lovely room, very refined, heard very little noise, had my own parking space, lovely full English breakfast. Owners are very welcoming and friendly. Can't fault this B&B at all really.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

A great review, thank you. We hope to see this lovely couple again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

A good value BnB. Comfortable enough although not the best beds in the world. Breakfast was really talked up by the landlady and I was left very disappointed. Lots of rules posted around the place which made me feel like I was being treated like a child. Very old fashioned place and probably exactly what is expected of a country BnB by a foreign tourist but severely lacking for a seasoned traveller. I would have expected a lounge to relax in and take in the TV not have to stay out until it was bed time. Take some advice and spend a little money on the place then increase the charges. The place would still be value at another 20 / 30 quid a night plus increase the quality of the breakfast.

Room Tip: All very dated. Take your chances
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank premier1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

It goes without saying that we are sorry this guest did not find us to their liking.
The vast majority of our visitors tell us they have been delighted with their stay.
Our website gives full information regarding the facilities we offer, so we can only hope that prospective guests will check we meet their requirements before making a reservation.
Many guests return year after year and also recommend us to their family and friends, so we believe we suit the vast majority of people and certainly do our very best to cater for everyone's needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I have just spent 5 days at The Malthouse B&B and the family who run the house are the most friendliest and helpful people we have meet. The room we were staying in was cleaned everyday, clean towels and the bed was made everyday too. The family are really down to earth and had lots of information about the area. The cooked breakfasts were always hot, plenty to eat and if you wanted to have something different there are plenty of different options. I would def recommend stay here. The house is not that far from Alton Towers 5 mins by car but if you don't want to drive there is a bus that takes you there for a couple of pounds.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank owen71to03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

A lovely review from a super couple that we hope to see again. They spent sometime checking out local tourist attractions but also a bit of time just chilling and resting. Perfect guests - extremely pleasant, thoughtful and great to chat to. The card and gifts they left us at the end of their stay were really appreciated and of course their kind review is great too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have stayed at The Malthouse on 2 occasions now, both after visits to Alton Towers and I am never disappointed!!
After a long day at the park, we were greeted with a very warm welcome from the owners. The location is perfect, the rooms are clean, tidy and well equipped for your stay, with lots of personal and homely touches too.
Breakfast is top notch and if im honest, one of the best fry ups we have ever had!
The value for money and service provided is great! We will be returning for a 3rd time next year!
ps - the beds are SO comfortable!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

We just love to welcome guests back for another stay and of course we can't wait until these guys come back for their third visit! As we are a B&B It's REALLY important that our beds are comfy and our breakfasts are great so we're pleased to know we didn't disappoint. It's also good to hear that our guests feel they are getting good value for money. Thanks for a great review, hope to see you again soon. x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Knew from the minute I booked this B&B I wouldn't be disappointed! When I rang to enquire about availability, the lady taking bookings couldn't have been more friendly, or helpful! Me and my daughter stayed for 1 night (6th sept) while visiting Alton Towers. After arriving at 6.30(after a VERY wet) day at the park, we were shown to our room. (Looking like 2 drowned rats). It was warm,cosy,and equipped with everything you could need. Even an iron and ironing board! We stayed in room 1, which had lovely views of the country! Breakfast was PERFECT!!! Set us up great for another long day at the park. I would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

It was fantastic to have such a lovely Mum and Daughter stay with us. We're glad they enjoyed the views, breakfast, facilities and of course their visit to Alton Towers. Hopefully we will see them again and will cross our fingers for better weather next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
1.0 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
6.5 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
13.0 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
1.0 mi away
Splash Landings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malthouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malthouse B&B

Address: Malthouse Road, Alton ST10 4AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range: $93 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One mile from Alton Towers. Friendly 17th century home located in the village of Alton providing B&B. Comfortable en-suite accommodation with TV, tea/coffee tray, free WiFi access, alarm clock, hairdryer and wall fan. Hearty English, vegetarian, vegan, gluten free and dairy free breakfasts. Private car park free. Double, twin, family, four poster and wheelchair accessible bedrooms. Celebration? Ask for details of flowers, balloons, chocolates etc. 5 Star Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Malthouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing