We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of The Malthouse B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Malthouse B&B
Ranked #3 of 10 Alton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights while we visited Alton towers. The rooms are lovely and spacious and clean! A lovely full breakfast is available which keeps you going for the whole day. Well worth the money. Will be back again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markhowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thanks for adding your review, it's very much appreciated. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
78
72
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed at the Malthouse bnb twice with my boyfriend and we both absolutely love it. Alton towers is just down the road and the village is lovely and quiet. The rooms in the bnb are really cosy and spacious and always kept spotless. The owners are very friendly and always ask how you are and how your days been. The breakfast is gorgeous you get a choice of a full English (which we both have and is always fresh and there's plenty of it), cereal, toast and if there's any special requests they will get It for you if you give them plenty of notice. There are a number of pubs in the village that do lovely meals in the evening and a little newsagent that always comes in handy. We will definately be visiting for a THIRD time next year and we can't wait!! :)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-and-Carl-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We're always delighted when guests come back to stay with us and seeing these guys again was just great! A really lovely review, thanks. We love to chat to our guests it's nice to get to know them a little better. We're always keen to know how our visitors day or evening out was. Chatting to our guests is really important, we can then share their experiences with others. "It's good to talk"! We're already looking forward to these folk returning to see us again. x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkeel, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed here three nights and we had a class time. The hosts are friendly, helpful, who prepare a great breakfast and are very attentive to your every need. We'll always remember our time here, in this beautiful and clean accommodation, just one mile from Alton Towers, and when we're back at Alton Towers we most certainly will be staying at the Malthouse again.
John

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for adding your review it's very much appreciated. We always do our best to try and ensure that our guests enjoy their stay with us, so it's really nice to know that we got it right! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Me and my Girlfriend stayed at The Malthouse in September 2011 on holiday, we chose this hotel based on the good reviews we read and its location, near Alton Towers and being a perfect stop over on our way up to Scotland.

We found the hotel easily, it is in a quiet setting within the village. The B&B has its own parking which is safe and convenient. The grounds of the B&B are well maintained and looked the part. We were greeted warmly upon arrival, having already spoken and booked over the phone our room was waiting for us. We stayed in room number two which we found to be spacious, clean and had all the essentials with a good size en-suite with walk in shower. The room was guarded by Monty the lion, a lovely touch to the room.

The bed was comfy giving us a good night sleep from all the action in Alton Towers the day before! Breakfast was served in the breakfast room which was appointed well. The food (both had full English) was top notch! All cooked extremely well and filled us up for our onwards drive to Scotland!

I can honestly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in this area, we would defiantly stay again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J2012UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We're glad that this great couple enjoyed their stay with us and that everything was to their liking, we very much hope to see them again. It's always a pleasure for us to feed people who eat a good breakfast! Hope they enjoyed their trip to bonny Scotland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I plus 3 children have just stayed at The Malthouse for 2 nights whilst visiting Alton Towers.

Quite simply, lovely people, lovely B&B, lovely setting, lovely food, lovely room, couldn't fault it.

Comes highly recomemended from us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PENNUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
A LOVELY review from a LOVELY family! Thank you so much for adding your feedback, we're really pleased to know that you enjoyed your break with us. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Having just returned from a 3 night stay at the malthouse, i feel the need to write this review particularly to thank the family who run the guesthouse.
Due to a strange set of circumstances my wife and i were "taken in" by sandra and her family on very short notice, however we would not be disappointed, the accomodation is spotless, we stayed in room 5, and had toto the dog to guard the room whenever we were out, from the "bellybuster" breakfast to the genuine interest the family took in your day, we really could'nt fault the place.
The village of alton with its handfull of pubs is a short walk away, and the alton towers theme park is a 10 minute car ride away, although it is also served by buses which run through the village.
A special thank you must also go to melissa, who gave us " a once in a lifetime" only taxi ride to pick up our car.
All in all a wonderful place, with wonderful people and i for one would have no hesitation in recomending the malthouse to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starchild74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
These guys arrived with to stay with us under a very strange set of circumstances indeed! A truly great couple that took everthing that happened to them in their stride with huge smiles. We were sorry that these folk were "stranded" through no fault of their own, a lift to collect their car was the least we could do. Having such happy go lucky folk land on our doorstep was wonderful, we're so glad that they enjoyed their stay with us and very much hope to see them again. PS Toto sends his love x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

From being greeted in the car park upon arrival, to being served a delicious fresh breakfast - the only thing that was wrong with this stay, was that it wasn't long enough!!
I booked The Malthouse for a night to allow us a bit longer at Alton Towers. Our family room was in 'The Store' (Room 5). A bright spacious room with a wet room. There was double bed and bunks and Toto the cuddly dog to keep an eye on things. Tea, coffee and biscuits were also provided. The bedroom & wet room were spotlessly clean and obviously well cared for. The family who run The Malthouse clearly love what they do and this comes across to guests. Alton is a lovely place and the Malthouse is fab - so glad I researched a bit and chose this over the Towers Hotel. Thank you for a great (if somewhat short) stay! :-)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Sorry your stay with us was short, we hope to see you for a longer break next time around! A smashing review from lovely folk, thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
1.0 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
11.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
13.0 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
8.0 mi away
Best Western Stoke East
Best Western Stoke East
#6 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malthouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malthouse B&B

Property: The Malthouse B&B
Address: Malthouse Road, Alton ST10 4AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One mile from Alton Towers. Friendly 17th century home located in the village of Alton providing B&B. Comfortable en-suite accommodation with TV, tea/coffee tray, free WiFi access, alarm clock, hairdryer and wall fan. Hearty English, vegetarian, vegan, gluten free and dairy free breakfasts. Private car park free. Double, twin, family, four poster and wheelchair accessible bedrooms. Celebration? Ask for details of flowers, balloons, chocolates etc. 5 Star Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Malthouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing